We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, little guest house...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumah Ebo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumah Ebo
Ranked #147 of 305 Bandung B&B and Inns
Saratoga, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming, little guest house...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

Rumah Ebo is a charming little guest house house in a quiet and quaint neighborhood. The staff are friendly and Kiki was kind enough to speak in English for me. She even went out of her way to book a travel car for my journey home.
The main house is beautiful with a peaceful garden in back. Each morning breakfast is served in the garden which is surrounded by a lovely little, man-made waterway. You can catch some of the fish jumping on a regular basis. I enjoyed drinking coffee and eating my breakfasts of bubur (rice porridge with delicious toppings) and nasi kuning (yellow rice which is made from turmeric).
I also liked walking around the neighborhood. There are some great, "hip," and modern restaurants/cafes within walking distance. They all offer Free Wifi as well. Due to the quiet atmosphere, you would never know that one of the busiest roads in Bandung is close by. You can walk to Jalan Juanda to do some outlet shopping. The area is quite happening until late at night. If you want to check out other popular areas, it is easy to call a taxi or catch public transportation around here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirlKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

Home away from home, good location (behind jalan dago shopping area!), friendly staff...one miss kiki was really helpful...the family room was huge and cleanliness wise was superb! rooms were cleaned up everyday and towels, shampoo and bath foams are provided.

From my experience tho, it's better to call them direct rather than email, they rarely check it so it's pretty difficult. They helped arrange a van for our 5d4n trip..wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZihanHassim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

I took the cheapest room at RP 13000 which is around USD 13/night no aircon nor fan. The weather in Bandung is cool enough so aircon is not really necessary for me.

Kiki is really friendly and being very helpful. She wrote me all the instructions on how to get around town or to volcano by public transport.

It was a great experience staying there. The common area is big and tv is always on. Too bad everyone was out shopping. :P

If you are a solo traveler like me, pick this place as the great location to Dago Area.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happiness78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

If you don'y mind old places/building this is a great stay to stay, its small so very personalised. very clean, delicious breakfast in the garden, its a just a home away from home. Can also rent a car with driver thru them

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlizaGhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

Rumah Ebo is a great place to stay for independent travellers, though it would help if someone in the party speaks Malay.

Kiki, the operations manager, speaks English, but not very fluently. She had some difficulty understanding and replying when we wanted to ask about tailoring options and other more complex things, and my friend reverted to Malay to help the process. However, she will be able to help if you simply need directions or advice on things to do.

The courtyard is a great place to have breakfast in the cool mornings, while the rooms come with beautiful wooden furniture. They've done a good job refurbishing and maintaining the old house. The toilets are modern and worked well. It really feels like living at a friend's house.

The staff was pretty easy going too... we could help ourselves to hot water and they handed out extra towels and toilet paper without trouble.

The staff clean the rooms daily, which is a bonus for a small guesthouse like this. They also double as the cooks, so breakfast is really simple (nasi goreng with a fried egg, omelette and bread, and chicken porridge)

The hotel quoted us a package deal for room, incl breakfast, and car rental for about IDR900,000 per person for a 4day/3 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank templehopeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

We have been to Bandung & Jakarta for 10 days vacations last December 2008. It was our first visit & what we could said was it is an interesting & fun vacations. We were make known to this Guest House from office mate & friends whose have just returned from Bandung recently & recommended us. Yes we are not regret about it.
It was an old colonial building been renovated to guest house, but the atmosphere is pleasant, with neat room & beautiful garden. There were fish pond surrounding the garden, that our kids likes most to having breakfast & feeding the fish!

We stayed at Rumah EBO from 11 Dec – 14 Dec & decided to stay there again from 17 Dec – 21 Dec after returned from Jakarta. We took the family room which can accommodate our 8 members. The room was big & were attached to a lounge.
The staff are helpful & advice helpful hints on what we would like to shop & recommended some shopping spots around Bandung. Their other 2 workers are very polite and helpfull. We are pleased with their services, so friendly, helpfully, and also funny.

As it was a guest house, so its only served breakfast. For lunch & dinner you may either find yourself at food stall which can be easily found nearby the guest house or at food court or restaurant which mostly next to the factory outlets. But if you not tired, you also can cook on your own or do side order from them, just include in the bill on checkout!

Lastly the most important things is, it is nearest to the main road Jln Dago (or Ir Juanda, 5 mins walking distance). Along Jln Dago there are more than 10 factory outlet’s and we have gone all of them! But our favourites are Grande & Jetset. This guest house also afar from noise streets, so you can have good pleasant rest after a long day shopping!

Helpful?
Thank JaafarH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyberjaya, Selangor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2008

I've stayed in Rumah Ebo on 19 Nov & 24 - 26 Nov. Their workers (2 Male workers) is very polite and helpfull. The environvent is very pleasant and we do not have any bad experience during that period. I do not hesitate to stay in Rumah Ebo in the future if there is an opportunity for me to visit Bandung again.

  • Liked — Pleasent environment
  • Disliked — It does not have large TV program selection, perhaps due to no cable facilities.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zulkifli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palais Dago Hotel
The Palais Dago Hotel
#96 of 225 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#183 of 225 in Bandung
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Namin Dago Hotel
Namin Dago Hotel
#97 of 225 in Bandung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Serela Riau Bandung
Serela Riau Bandung
#48 of 225 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Attic Bed & Breakfast
The Attic Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 305 in Bandung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rumah Aca
Rumah Aca
#61 of 305 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Ebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Ebo

Property: Rumah Ebo
Address: Jln. Imam Bonjol 27, Bandung 40132, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Rumah Ebo Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing