We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, room too spacious for couple”
Review of The Luxton Bandung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Luxton Bandung
Ranked #48 of 231 Hotels in Bandung
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, room too spacious for couple”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Traveled with husband on long weekend where Bandung tends to be overpopulated with visitors, love the fact that the hotel was not too crowded. Room is very spacious, which might delight travelers with kids or family members, but feels less warm for couples. Some stains on the wooden floor but otherwise the room is OK. Housekeeping is very helpful with amenities and willing to lend hair dryer and prayers set. During our visit, welcome drink is served in the Sky Lounge and Bar, which is a nice gesture! We got to enjoy live music. Gym is OK, but swimming pool is rather disappointing. Very hearty breakfast, one of the best thing from Luxton. Cannot beat the location, will consider a second stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    198
    80
    21
    3
See reviews for
110
70
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Without doubt my favourite hotel in Bandung ... and I've stayed at most!
You can get some really great deals via Trip Advisor, so book in advance.
Rooms are spotlessly clean, quiet and huge! We had a standard room and it was wonderful. Each room has a fridge and flat screen.
The day spa is exceptional. The SKY BAR is beautiful, but VERY expensive. Pool area is nice, but not particularly pretty. There is a well stocked bottle shop a few doors up, the have nice wines and cold beer. There is a post office a few doors down and you are five minute walk to BIP MALL (Indah Plaza). The factory outlets are all within EASY walking distance. You can catch local mini-buses (angkots) right out the front door to the Geological Museum and other attractions. If you are into pizza and American crap food ... there is a Pizza Hut & Dominoes nearby. (instead and go grab a pizza at the Hyatt Regency ... They are better pizzas and cheaper). I didn't eat at Luxton, as the veggie options were not great.
This hotel just has a really good feel to it!
Surprisingly, one of the quietest hotels in Bandung, even though it is on the main street.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the elevator. They 'DING"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our Luxton experience was nice. The hotel is very clean compared to other hotels we've been to in Bandung. The bed was comfortable and the room size was very good for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids. It was good value for money except for breakfast which was extremely pricey (around 10 euros per person) for choices available food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nusa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Banten, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed 4 D 3 N here for business trip. I decided to stay here considering the facilities here. Some visitor might be complain about park service in this hotel, but never mind, I always using public transport here so as a guest it wasn't a big problem for me. Haha..

Booked this hotel by phone, I've got special rate with twin beds. I have an issue with deposit thingy, I have to make deposit for about 500.000 IDR (but 300.000 IDR was acceptable in the end). I think it's not really cool for 4-star hotel to ask deposit from the guest. Please consider about this.

Lovely room, very spacious. Nice bathroom, glass door with scenic view of Bandung, but you have curtain inside the bathroom.
Poor wifi :( utterly disappointed with that, remind me of my purpose stay here for business travel, which internet connection was my first concern to finish my work during my business leisure.
Yummy breakfast, change the menu I think every 2 days, with lot of choices from salad bar, fried rice, waffle, cereal, etc.
Not really spacious gym but it's nice, you've got 2 towels (small and big towel) and there's a locker room with bathroom in the fitness center. There's a small swimming pool with city view, opened start from 6 a.m until 17 p.m. Don't try swimming in the morning, I think it's very freezing, brrr... But the fitness center located in different building, so you have to go out to your building and using another elevator.

Strategic location, that's why I like this hotel. There are several resto if you need some late night dinner such as Gampoeng Aceh, Domino's Pizza, coffee shop not really far if you walk. City never sleeps, I like it. Just about 15 minutes if you want to go to Braga using public transportation.

Would like to stay here again soon.

Room Tip: You can see Pasopati Bridge with beautiful lighting at night if you stay in the building with main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farah_Soraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 days 3 nights on their suite. Our experience was average with a lot of up and down.

1. Parking: they have a very small parking space. On weekend, we had to use their valet service which was free for hotel guests.

2. Check in and out: the process was okay. They gave us early check in as we requested. The front desk staff and securities were all friendly and smiling so we felt welcome. The only downside was they failed to mention that they had east and west wings.

3. Room: our suite was more like a one bedroom apartment. It was quiet here since our room was on the top floor with only 2 other rooms on the same floor. There was stoves but no cooking utensils. There was a private garden but the access door was locked without any keys throughout our stays. We were also disappointed that there was no outdoor jacuzzi like on their honeymoon suite despite of the big outdoor area. Bed was nice and firm. Tv channels were adequate. One tv remote had lose all the letters and the other one was hard to punch. The cleanliness of the room was okay, some dusts were pilling on the corner and some stain on the window gordyn. There were no free bedside electrical plug outlet so we had to plug out the bedside lamps.

4. Bathroom: shower area was big and water pressure was okay. The towels, however, had threads popping out. There was also no hairdryer provided. There was some stain on the nozzles and mirror.

5. Spa: this is the only spa I ever visited that didn't play any songs during 2 of my visit. The staff chattering could also be heard from the room. But their room was clean and the massage was good. There was a big stain on the window just outside the spa section.

6. Breakfast: the spread was good with little change everyday. They had traditional market snack and jamu (traditional drink) which were quite good.

7. Room service: their portion was quite big. The taste was okay. We love their cheese burger and banana fritters. However, they gave us moldy cake as complimentary item which was disgusting. They should have checked before delivering it since the white mold was all around and on top of the cake slice. They later changed it to another cake. Eye inspection is a must and expired food should have been labeled properly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rHeaa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed one night at Luxton during my business trip. The staff was really nice and willing to chat with me in the lobby bar so I didn't feel alone.
The room was clean but the furniture seems a bit "heavy" with dark color.
Internet connection was sufficient for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Average hotel, room was OK and clean.

Very limited parking facility available, although hotel provide a free valet parking it took about 15 minutes for them to deliver the car to you, as traffic jam in front of the hotel was really bad especially on weekends.

Service was very good and staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was indeed below par and very disappointing. I would prefer to go out and taste local food nearby. Price was cheap for Bandung, location was really good.

Room Tip: high floor front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rairliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.2 mi away
THE 1O1 Bandung Dago Hotel
THE 1O1 Bandung Dago Hotel
#36 of 231 in Bandung
442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Flower
Golden Flower
#33 of 231 in Bandung
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Bandung
Novotel Bandung
#21 of 231 in Bandung
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Royal Panghegar
Grand Royal Panghegar
#31 of 231 in Bandung
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
#7 of 231 in Bandung
636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amaroossa Bandung
Amaroossa Bandung
#28 of 231 in Bandung
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luxton Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luxton Bandung

Property: The Luxton Bandung
Address: Jln. Ir. H Juanda no. 18, Bandung 40115, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Luxton Bandung 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxton Bandung is an exclusive 4-star hotel with International Standard, conveniently located in the heart of Bandung within walking distance to factory outlets, shopping malls & entertainment complex with easy access to Bandung business and historical places. With its city elegance and modern touches, The Luxton Bandung presents 114 guestrooms, each features great city and mountain views. In addition to deluxe and executive guestrooms, three unique luxury suites are available as well – The Honeymoon Suite, The Suite, and The Luxton Suite. Besides its lavish guestrooms, The Luxton Bandung offers an array of business and leisure options, including 6 conference rooms with 2 breakouts at the capacity up to 375 people; restaurant and bar; spa, fitness center, semi outdoor swimming pool and kid’s club facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Luxton Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luxton Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing