We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I got a very bad experience at this hotel !!!”
Review of Hotel Progo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Progo
Ranked #91 of 309 Bandung B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I got a very bad experience at this hotel !!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I got a very bad experience at this hotel on August 29, 2011 last. We were given a sheet which contained former menstrual stains and other bedding looks brown like never washed. I took picture of that. I tried to complain to Customer Service but the response is slow, then I called the hotel manager and he did not give a positive response, will only crack down on the problem internally.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sumo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

As Bandung can be quite cold in the morning, will only recommend to others only if the hot water in the bathroom is fixed, particularly on room 307 & 308. Other rooms seems to be not having same problem. Unfortunately we've taken the wrong room. Other than that, this hotel has a good, helpful and friendly staff as expected, free parking, and good location. Moreover, the price also considerably fair, if not cheap. Locationwise, this is the right place if you're a shopaholic (located near and in walking distance from Jalan Riau's factory outlets).

Pros:
- Hotel location on walking distance from nearby Jalan Riau with line up of factory outlets.
- Reasonable price at peak-season/new year with ~IDR 400k-ish / nite (Type : Royal suite room with double bed). Price is considerably fair, if not cheap.
- Line up of chic restaurants located on the same street with the hotel.
- Great staff, very friendly and helpful.

Cons :
- Avoid room 307/308 if you can, the hot water wasn't worked at all. (Stayed there 31 Dec 2010 - 3 Jan 2011, not sure if now already repaired, I hope so. Checking first is a good idea.).
- Avoid rooms with windows facing street (facing entrance of hotel). You'll hear voices from the parking lot/streets. I found this sound pretty annoying.
- No elevator.
- Breakfast could be better.
- Bed is OK, but easily moved if you move too much. Beds need to be nailed to floor.
- Towel wasn't available at room, they'll deliver to you later on.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ravvlivius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl, malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

i have been staying in Progo whenever i go to bandung. back in 2007 once, 2008 thrice, 2009 twice. was recommended by a bandung friend. i stayed in different room for each visit. overall, i'm happy of their cleanliness and friendly staffs. i can say staying in Progo is a great deal. it is 2 minutes away from Heritage FO, Cascade FO, Terminal Tas. if u wanted to visit Pasar Baru for shopping, u can hop in any blue bird taxi and it's 15 minutes awa ( provided traffic is ok). all in all, i can say that i am statisfied staying in progo. recommended!!

Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank shida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I went to bandung in dec 2009. i had booked progo hotel, after i've read reviews that its very near to factory outlets, and viewing the website on the internet. but wat crap! the photos are far from what they post on their website. guess they have just picked the photos from other websites.

i reached the hotel around 3pm, but the room was not ready. so i went for lunch and came back around 6.30pm, they gave me the room just next door to their lobby door. the room is facing outside, so insecure. the bed linen is so worned out, the toilet is so run down. no cafe bar. i need a hot flask to boil water, actually coz i'm with kids. i request to be upgraded to another room, but they said that is the only room with queen bed. my kids being playful, jumped on the bed, and all the dust flying all over the room. i just left the room that night and checked into Novotel. i feel cheated as they had post illegal photos on their web.

http://www.hotelprogo.com/
the website shows nice bedroom pics, but that was not the actual photo from the hotel. THEY ARE A CHEAT!
. its budget - yes, but they don't have to resort to cheating people by putting some 5star bedroom pics on their web rite?

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wahwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bandung hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

A very basic budget hotel located in the factory outlet area. It is reasonably clean, has very friendly and helpful staff. Amenities are basic but the TV in the room has more than sufficient channels. Breakfasts are very basic Indonesian dishes.
Location is right in the FO shopping district of Jalan Riau area, plenty of chic eating places. This hotel is suitable for those on shopping and sightseeing trips when you only you only come back to sleep and you are out again after breakfast the next day

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkhkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

The hotel was not bad, good budget hotel located at prime location. Very near to Heritage, Cascade, Rumah Tas, Secret etc. Bank BII also is within walking distance. We booked a room consisting of one double bad and 1 single bed and got the one at level 3. Room was ok, quite spacious. The staffs were helpful, they even discuss our itinerary with us and carried our shopping bags to our room. They helped us called taxi and also did a booking for us at Roger Spa.

The major dissappointment was the bedroom, water pressure was really really low, sometimes only trickle of water came out from the shower. They didn't replenish the toilet roll. But they did provide fresh towels. Breakfast also was nothing to shout about, better get breakfast from outside, there were many restaurants around that area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adiwati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Good points: The hotel was located within walking distance to factory outlets like Heritage, Cascade, Formen and Oasis in Jalan Riau. Also, there is a great variety of cable channels provided in the room including HBO, AXN. The room type we had (Royal with double bed) was spacious and reasonably priced at Rph 300K per night. If you need to find something to eat at night, go to Kopi Progo cafe just 5 mins walk. Staffs at the reception were very helpful and friendly. You can even ask them to call a taxi from Bluebird for you which is very efficient.

Bad points: No lift to access the upper floors. The water pressure in the shower was disappointingly low and the heater did not function well. We need to wait several minutes before we can get any warm water. Breakfast was very plain, serving only fried noodles, toast bread, soups. Try to avoid the coffee. Once the food is finished, they will buy them from outside so it's advisable to go early as they serve from 6.30am to 8.30am only. No non-smoking area provided.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandung hotels
2.5 mi away
The Cherry Homes Hotel and Residence
0.2 mi away
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
#11 of 226 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bumi Asih
Hotel Bumi Asih
#149 of 226 in Bandung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
favehotel Hyper Square
favehotel Hyper Square
#43 of 226 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anggrek Shopping Hotel
Anggrek Shopping Hotel
#98 of 226 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Noor Hotel Bandung
Noor Hotel Bandung
#33 of 226 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Progo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Progo

Property: Hotel Progo
Address: Jl. Progo No.6 Gedung Sate, Bandung 40114, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 309 B&Bs / Inns in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Progo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing