We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it the price”
Review of Hunny Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hunny Hostel
Ranked #18 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Bandung
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed one night at the Hunny Hostel and were totally disappointed. I wonder why the hostel got so many positive reviews. Although the staff was very friendly, our room was tiny and only had bunk bed. I have stayed in many hostels but I did not like the Hunny Hostel at all.

Room Tip: Dont take the 'double bed room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Delightful owner, great backpacker hostel.

The Bandung area not exactly renowned for its style or class, however the Hunny hostel in the Paskal Hyper square complex near Bandung station. A great incredibly safe feeling newish complex complete with a selection of karaoke joints, a gaming cafe, outlet store,2 pretty vast looking clubs, the fantastic Hunny hostel and a brilliantly atmospheric Food market, eating place that stands as my favourite place in Java yet. A selection of international and Asian food which judging by the number of locals there every night is a really buzz place to be in the city.

The hostel itself is simple, clean and a good nights sleep.We stayed in the private bunk bed room on the top floor, which while small was plenty big enough for 2 just sleeping. The downstairs communal area had free coffee, water, breakfast along with wifi, a selection of board games, TV and some great DVDs.

The best thing about this hostel though was the incredibly friendly and helpful family who own it and in particular Micheal. Every email was replied to rapidly and in perfect English. He helped us get public transport ( an incredible experience not the fiendish chore Lonely Planet makes it out to be) to Ciater hot springs for a great day trip, Gave us extra towels, and let us know the problems the Haj public holiday would realistically cause. Accommodated us for the extra night we had to wait to catch our onward train to Yogya.

The shared bathrooms and downstairs hot showers were clean and adequate. This is a hostel and nothing more though, don't come with any great expectations of high class hotels. Only downside was the band next door seemed to practice every night around 6 pm but out of control and was never on too late. Also the train tracks are right behind the hotel, great for location, but also inevitably some noise, but nothing too dreadful.

A great stay and proves the flaws of Lonely Planet that neither the Hostel, nor the surrounding complex are included?

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Air-conditioned dorm beds with hot shower, simple breakfast and free flow of drinking water. Guests are allowed to use the kitchen as well. Staff and owners are patient and kind. A pretty good place to meet fellow travellers to share on transportation cost. One of the famous Bandung brownie shop branch (Amanda) is located in the same location (Paskal Hypersquare) - just within 2-3 minutes walk to the next row of shop!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank eureka_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hostel, similar to the Hunny Hostel in Jakarta (sister-in-law) a great, and clean hostel. It is similarly located just outside the party centre, but there is a great open foodmarket at100 meter distance. Defo worth to visit! There are quite a lot of backpackers, but the owners have time for everyone for a quick chat, information and they can book several trips and adventures.

It is also cheap in comparison to other hostels and is defo worth the money. I recommend you to stay here during your visit in Bandung. Hotshowers, a laptop with internet, television, everything is available!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markrecommendations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had a twin private room (1 bunk) for 2 nights. The best thing about this place is the service. The staff help you organise a tour if you want one. The place is clean and the beds are comfortable although the typical bunk bed squeaks are as annoying here as they are anywhere! The breakfast was simple. The showers were OK. There was a little kitchen area with a hob and a rice cooker. Overall we enjoyed our stay here. It's just inside a complex that has a nice food court at reasonable prices, and is quite close to the train station.

Room Tip: The shared dorms are quite large, but having spoken to other visitors, they seemed happy in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieMaeMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. The owners and staff were very helpful. Gave me a map and instructions on how to take the public tranportation in Bandung. The location is perfect, near the train station, conveniece stores, atm's, restaurants and the airpor. A few meters, you can hail an angkot to go to anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desiree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hunny hostel, is run by a family and they are helpful.
The hostel itself is located near the train station, stores and a food court. The town center is a short walk away, so the hostel is in a good location.
In regards to the hostel itself, the dorm room are clean and simple, not all the showers have hot water, but this is not an issue, has the shower on the ground floor has hot water.
However, there is no wifi connection in the dorm room.
The common room, is clean and has wifi connection. They is a tv and dvd player, if you fancy watching a film from the dvd collection.
The family, will also help in organizing day trips to the local sight seeing sits.

Overall, a good budget place in Bandung.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wonderingtraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#8 of 230 in Bandung
1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gino Feruci Kebonjati Bandung
0.7 mi away
Aston Braga Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Flower
Golden Flower
#36 of 230 in Bandung
827 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung
0.2 mi away
Mutiara Hotel
Mutiara Hotel
#108 of 230 in Bandung
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunny Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunny Hostel

Address: Kompleks Paskal Hyper Square | Blok. C No.28, Bandung 40171, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Bandung
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing