We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!”
Review of Hunny Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hunny Hostel
Ranked #20 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Bandung
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is nice hostel, with clean rooms and really nice staff who help us a lot with information about Bandung. Shared bathroom with warm water, wifi, ac....But girls and boys need to be in separated rooms. Prices are reasonable. Near hostel is beautiful food market with good food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Majci_icjaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

excellent location near to the train station and just to a nice food court, helpful owner and staff, clean hostel. free refill of coffee, tea and water.


Cons:
very poor WiFi signal, unavailable in the dorm room, (available on the entrance area and the stairs only!)
hot shower is only downstairs
free breakfast of toast and jams ONLY!
the worse mattress ever!! you can even feel the steel grills of the bed firm under your back! (and as the dorm room was empty on my first night I tried to sleep on all the beds but all are the same)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sallam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hostel is in excellent location - very close to the train and central bus station (like 10 minute walk). The rooms are spacious and clean with air-con, hot shower and lockers. There are no dorm locks.
The staff is extremely nice and speaks very good English. I asked them for direction and got really good recommendations, there is also a recommended day trip to the crater and the hot spring (with very detailed description including transport options and prices), which I wish I could have gone on but I only stayed for one night. The owner even lend me his phone for an urgent call I had to make. Overall great stop in Bandung - I will definitely come again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The dorm is so spacious and they provide wood lockers but i believe it couldn't stand with a heavy luggage. No individual power sockets since they had 8 beds in the dorms so need to share. And the good thing is they provide single bed even it is a dorm! The cons of it, the dorm door never had a lock on it.

The wifi is always intermittent in the room.
Limited hot showers-only downstairs if you want have it. else standard cold showers and toilet is just beside the room. They provided free breakfast but only bread and jams only! free refill of coffee, tea and water.

The staff is helpful, they willing to help and explain to you what kind of public transport that you can use to go anywhere nearby Bandung.

Location wise, it is nearby to Paskal Hyper square and convenience mart. it a three storey building and beside it music shops. Pasar Baru is 20 minutes way if you walk by. During evening, in front of Paskal nearby the main road, there are hawkers which selling cheap soup noodles and coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Armiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is the first time I stayed in a backpacker's hostel and I was satisfied with the service overall. The owner is very nice and the price is reasonable. The service provided is just average and a small issue I faced was limited shower room with hot shower. However the super friendly owners were a great plus for the overall rating of this.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tohtsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed one night at the Hunny Hostel and were totally disappointed. I wonder why the hostel got so many positive reviews. Although the staff was very friendly, our room was tiny and only had bunk bed. I have stayed in many hostels but I did not like the Hunny Hostel at all.

Room Tip: Dont take the 'double bed room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Delightful owner, great backpacker hostel.

The Bandung area not exactly renowned for its style or class, however the Hunny hostel in the Paskal Hyper square complex near Bandung station. A great incredibly safe feeling newish complex complete with a selection of karaoke joints, a gaming cafe, outlet store,2 pretty vast looking clubs, the fantastic Hunny hostel and a brilliantly atmospheric Food market, eating place that stands as my favourite place in Java yet. A selection of international and Asian food which judging by the number of locals there every night is a really buzz place to be in the city.

The hostel itself is simple, clean and a good nights sleep.We stayed in the private bunk bed room on the top floor, which while small was plenty big enough for 2 just sleeping. The downstairs communal area had free coffee, water, breakfast along with wifi, a selection of board games, TV and some great DVDs.

The best thing about this hostel though was the incredibly friendly and helpful family who own it and in particular Micheal. Every email was replied to rapidly and in perfect English. He helped us get public transport ( an incredible experience not the fiendish chore Lonely Planet makes it out to be) to Ciater hot springs for a great day trip, Gave us extra towels, and let us know the problems the Haj public holiday would realistically cause. Accommodated us for the extra night we had to wait to catch our onward train to Yogya.

The shared bathrooms and downstairs hot showers were clean and adequate. This is a hostel and nothing more though, don't come with any great expectations of high class hotels. Only downside was the band next door seemed to practice every night around 6 pm but out of control and was never on too late. Also the train tracks are right behind the hotel, great for location, but also inevitably some noise, but nothing too dreadful.

A great stay and proves the flaws of Lonely Planet that neither the Hostel, nor the surrounding complex are included?

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0 mi away
The Attic Bed & Breakfast
The Attic Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 159 in Bandung
28 reviews
0 mi away
Chez Bon Hostel
Chez Bon Hostel
#2 of 159 in Bandung
89 reviews
0 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#7 of 232 in Bandung
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#1 of 232 in Bandung
1,905 reviews
0 mi away
Tebu Hotel Bandung by Willson Hospitality
0 mi away
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
#6 of 232 in Bandung
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunny Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunny Hostel

Address: Kompleks Paskal Hyper Square | Blok. C No.28, Bandung 40171, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Bandung
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing