We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hyatt Gone Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Aryaduta Bandung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aryaduta Bandung
Ranked #18 of 226 Hotels in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hyatt Gone Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed in this hotel during our recent trip to Bandung. Check in was quite efficient, we were upgraded into a club room without amenities. Although there were not so many guests when we arrived, it took a long time for our luggage to be brought to our room. We had dinner at Swarga Loka Restaurant. It sounded so enticing when we were inquiring - barbecue under the stars, satays and a taste of other Asian delicacies. It was a total disappointment. The food is not a Hyatt standard with very little options and there were no satays as stated. We went to the mall next door in the afternoon and when we came back, there were no guards checking at the door. Anybody can come in thr hotel. Noticed that they have key cards in the elevators to secure guests but it doesn't work either. We love Bandung and we will definitely come back but we will not stay at the Hyatt next time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank longtraveller1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    312
    103
    20
    14
See reviews for
264
74
33
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The imposing lobby sets the tone for this grand hotel. There are many features to commend including the staff, the Regency Lounge and the rooms – mine was very spacious, well maintained and exceptionally clean.
The coffee shop is huge and food is good, with very attentive staff.
There are issues with water pipe noises and toilets that are inclined to either refuse to flush or continuously fill, but a call to housekeeping can quickly sort out the toilet issue. The three lifts that serve all floors are rather slow and you should allow waiting time at peak periods if you have an appointment.
There is an adjoining mall with a large hypermarket and a variety of eating places if you fancy a change from the hotel.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExaminerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Hotel is slightly old fashioned by design. Feels like I was going back to the 80's. Everything was big and wooden and classic with a huge high atrium. That's the 80's charm.

Check in was great. They got all the information correct and we got our rooms (2 rooms under one name via two different bookings) immediately. We got the deluxe room which was spacious and well maintained, with clean walls, carpeting and clean sheets. No complains. The bed was comfortable and the room have a beautiful view of the mountains. The hotel have kindly converted the day bed into a proper bed, so we could have 3 in a room. The hotel staff is excellent. Helpful and courteous. Every night, housekeeping would come around and ask if we needed anything extra (towels, bottled water). The hotel have a proper gym and a spa area with sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, etc. My only complaint here is the opening hours of the gym is limited (I was expecting 24hrs access.).The swimming pool is superb. Location of the hotel is perfect. Its attached to a mall with good restaurants, Starbucks, fast food outlets, a hyper mart and a department store. There is also a 24hrs convenient store (Circle K) within walking distance from the hotel. Lots of shopping area also within walking distance.

Minor issue with the supplied complimentary toiletries in the bathrooms. I was expecting something much better as this is a Hyatt. The free Wifi was just OK. Gets disconnected intermittently and would not be good, if one was on a business trip and needs good connection.

Overall, I will definitely come back to this hotel again. There we some renovation works ongoing at the entrance during my stay. Looking forward to the completed work when I'm back here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

+++ Room is clean and big. Wifi worked well.

--- Water there is yellow. Noisy whole night, could not sleep well. Breakfast menu was lame. Building looks outdated.

Next to an old shopping mall. Nothing special.

Will book somewhere else next time.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy_backpackgal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

What others have written about the hotel's being a bit dated is true, but the real charm of this hotel is the staff. As in all of Indonesia, check in is a relaxed process which irritates some Westerners, just enjoy it. Dennis the front desk clerk was a delight. The breakfast was fine but again the service was better than the food. And the doorman, Putra, was astonishing! He made every trip a breeze and was so competent.

As is often the case in Indonesia, the hotel is basically in a mall, which is good because it rains and rains in Bandung. The rooms are pleasant but the bathroom is really dated although clean.

Relax, take your time, and you'll experience lovely service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Check in was taking forever - about 30 minutes. Wifi was ok in room. Didn't try their food in the hotel as next to the hotel is a shopping mall with restaurants.

Room a bit dated.

The service being rendered, apart from counter staffs, were good. It was raining and they passed me an umbrella even without me asking.

Quite a lot of things to try around the hotel, e.g. food and there is a cinema in the mall adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

When it's in an outpost I think is the answer! This hotel was booked as the 5 star Hyatt brands tells me to expect luxury and high quality.

But not the case here. The bathroom gives a good first impression, but in fact the shower is black with age and grime.

Feather pillows are not available so I slept badly for two nights. Only one robe in a two person room and you have to operate the electricity with a key card, of which you only receive one. Does this sound 5 star to you?

The buffet food is only OK, although I have to say there is a large choice, and the spring chicken from the a la carte menu was very good.

Also on the plus side, the pool and gym are very nice indeed.

However, the real down side was the lack of customer service. I arrived having booked the wrong day. I was a day early. My fault.

However, the hotel had plenty of rooms available, but refused to simply swap the days over. Because I had arrived less than 24hrs before the booking I had made no refund would be made.

Again, I appreciate the mistake was mine, but the hotel saw this as a revenue earning opportunity and any customer service I would expect from a Hyatt was non-existent.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foodfirstkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandung hotels
4.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
1.0 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#6 of 226 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Bandung
Crowne Plaza Bandung
#14 of 226 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Bandung
Novotel Bandung
#20 of 226 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Bandung Hotel & Towers
3.1 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#3 of 226 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aryaduta Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aryaduta Bandung

Property: Aryaduta Bandung
Address: Jl. Sumatra No. 51, Bandung 40115, Indonesia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Bandung)
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bandung
#12 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#12 Business Hotel in Bandung
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
#14 Family Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aryaduta Bandung 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush forest, Bandung is known as the City of Flowers and is the center for the region's textile industry. Aryaduta Bandung is located in the heart of the city, offering a wide selection of accommodations as well as dining, fitness and meeting facilities - making it an ideal choice for individual or group leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aryaduta Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bandung Hotel Bandung
Hyatt Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing