We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”
Review of The Papandayan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Papandayan
Ranked #9 of 230 Hotels in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Papandayan is a mediocre hotel with some renovations and upgrades needed especially with the carpets which look worn out. The quality does not live up to the money they charge
Rooms are little small and congested.
AC did not work properly
Breakfast was ok not very good
The pool area was not very impressive especially as they call them 5 stars
They have a nice tropical garden
Although they call them selves 5 stars but they do not live up to the standards.
I would rate them a 3 star.
One good thing about the hotel was the staff. They were very courteous and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wajiha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Papandayan this cool hotel one of the best in the city if Bandung. For easy location in the middle of the city to reach by guests, the cleanliness of the room are nice, the service is friendly, the interior of the building is also a great area of western java nuances blend with modern style, i like it. My children love the swimming pool. About the breakfast well as the food and varied choive.not wrong to stay here. Thanks Papandayan

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imronbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The review relates to the " Pago' Restaurant, which offers reasonable Indian selection on asking. They dont have an Indian food on menu , but they do have chefs trained on Indian food , who prepare good dishes.
The place is exotic and service is excellent.
We had Aloo Gobhi, Malai Koft and Allo matar and all three were good. There is a great selection of wine to pair with your food. The pakora starters are also nice.
Though, I have been booking the hotel for my guest in the hotel and all of them have a good review, but I have myself still to experience the rooms.
Now the lovers of Indian food have an option . The other two so called Indian restaurants, " Taste of India" and " Curry House" are both Malaysian food with Indian offerings and do not really qualify to be authentic Indian.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank seawaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The exterior of this hotel might not be as good as the Trans Luxury Hotel just a few mile from the Papandayan. But if you want to feel like Royalty. This is the place to stay. The service is superb. The rooms very well maintained. Pillows, bed sheet. Towels are very white, and smells real good. The room is big, the bathroom as well. And the culinary food is out of this world. Its perfect. The coffee served here is one of the best i've ever drink. And the Ayam Klaten Papandaynan is Glorious

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank normanngjkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We spent a night here with my family of 3 yo and 1 yo baby plus a maid and a driver. The location was very good. It was at the centre of Bandung and had easy access everywhere. There were many restaurants nearby and also only 5-10 minutes away from the famous trans studio. Actually It was an old hotel but I guess it was renovated couple of years before. The room was spacious and sufficient for my family. My maid and my driver could stay at the small hotel accross the street with very affordable price, not more than IDR 110k (~10 usd) per room per night. So I would recommend this hotel if you travel with driver/maid/baby sitter. We also liked the classic design that the papandayan had. The bathroom was also very good and spacious. We also liked the swimming pool. The hotel staffs were also nice and helpfull, very efficient in the process of checking in and checking out. The only minus point was only the breakfast. It was substandard for 4-5 star hotel in term of quality and menu. But we thought that it was a minor point and we surely will return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DimsumA362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, at classic room.
The room was quite, sound proof, elegant, well designed, and bath tub available .
The staff are nice and friendly, also there's a nice pool.
A well managed hotel, staff and room.
Will definitely come back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CiptoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

I have high expectation with papandayan hotel since its number 2 in tripadvisor rank. But papandayan failed to impressed me. The service is poor. Front desk is not friendly AT ALL. I was booked ambassador club rooms but they gave me classic room with no pass to excutive lounge. And i just realized it when i already in the room so i have to moved to another room in another floor. The reservation told me that i will be moved to 4th floor but the officer who come into my room told me that i will be moved to 3rd floor. So its confusing and takes a lot of time. Disappointing. The room is quite small for a 5 stars hotel. The garden is under renovation.

Its not a bad hotel though,
The room is clean
The bathroom is great
The only staff who has been friendly is the one at executive lounge, i forgot his name.
The food is delicious.

So its not a bad hotel. But considering its a five star hotel and its number 2 in tripadvisor rank hotel in bandung, for me its disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuynuynuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandung hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#8 of 230 in Bandung
1,446 reviews
5.3 mi away
GH Universal Hotel
GH Universal Hotel
#1 of 230 in Bandung
1,435 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Bandung Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
0.9 mi away
The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung
4.2 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#2 of 230 in Bandung
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Papandayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Papandayan

Address: Jl. Gatot Subroto 83, Bandung 40262, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
#6 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#6 Family Hotel in Bandung
#18 Business Hotel in Bandung
Price Range: £52 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Papandayan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most elegant, luxurious 5-star hotel, The Papandayan unveils the art of hospitality, committed to delivering the promise in every moment of every stay where impeccable staff prides themselves in exceeding your every expectations. Centrally located in the most strategic location of the thriving business hub of Jl Gatot Subroto 83, it is set away from the congested one way thoroughfares, offering many avenues of accessibility to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Papandayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Papandayan Hotel Bandung
Papandayan Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing