We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Trans - absolutely THE place to stay & be in Bandung!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung
Ranked #4 of 231 Hotels in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our first time to Bandung for a conference being held at the hotel - it was a wonderful experience and the President of Indonesia also was in attendance and spoke. Super fun for this American. We stayed 5 nights, 6 days. From the airport pick up to the airport drop off - every single aspect was on point and most importantly, very sincere for a plus-5 star hotel. The room was very comfortable - the bed, pillows and linens are on par or better than other 5-6 star hotels we have stayed at. The products & amenities cover every single need possible. The entire staff is well trained - and if they don't get it right the first time, they work to get it right. Very impressive. There are 3 different dining options - 3rd floor restaurant, the bar / lounge area & the 18th. All with beautifully prepared food. The 18th floor is INCREDIBLE. The wrap-around terrace and furniture is 1st class (as are all the amenities and décor). One of the most enjoyable places to enjoy a glass of champagne & canapés to watch sunset. Live music on the lobby level and the 18th. The 90 minute Balinese massage at the Spa was a wonderful experience! The Trans is definitely making its mark across Indonesia and look forward to the opening of their property in Bali and their quest to take their brand international. Best of luck & thank you once again for a lovely experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank One_Experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

I spent a Saturday night in the hotel with my fiance for the dream romantic package. It included a premier club room, dinner, evening cocktails, breakfast, wifi and a couple's spa treatment. The rate was 5,000,000 Rupiah - about 500 USD.

We were dropped off at the hotel lobby, had a friendly greeting from the staff, proceeded though security and went to the check-in desk. When I gave the clerk my name, he told me I was at the wrong desk, my package included a VIP check-in, so he walked me to another room where they check VIP guests in that had extra seating and a grander looking decor. It was meant to be nice, and I suppose it was, but it did feel a bit ridiculous not being able to just check-in, but to have to partake in some pomp and ceremony first.

Check-in went quickly and we were shown straight to the room by the VIP desk clerk. She answered all of our initial questions and left us to it. Before arrival, the hotel had sent me an email asking what our preferences were for view type, floor level, bed type, smoking, distance from elevator, type of fruit we wanted in the room, aircon room temperature, and what type of news paper we wanted. I thought it was very thoughtful and thorough, so I filled it out immediately and returned it. They gave us a high floor, a king bed (although given that we were taking the romantic package what else would we want?), a city view (as others have pointed out it's actually more a slum view, but that's not the hotel's fault), a room away from the elevator and the Jakarta Post as I had requested. It's a minor point, but they gave us mandarins when we'd picked grapes out of the list they provided, and the aircon was set to the minimum (I think 16C) when I'd chosen Standard. I didn't expect them to send out the questionnaire, and as I said I thought it was thoughtful beyond the call of duty, but it is a bit awkward when they don't follow through with it.

We did some quick shopping at the Trans Mall immediately next door which is very handy, then we went back to the room to get ready for the evening cocktails. They had a great set up in the bathroom. The shaving kit provided is actually Gillette rather than the crappy tube of shaving gel and single blade safety razor that most hotels give you. The bath was also set-up with bath salts and what not. Not really my thing, but it was still very well done. The toilet itself is separated by a glass divider and door which creates a very small area for the toilet. I am over 6ft tall and found it hard to sit without my knees pushing the door open. The toilet is the first one I've seen that actually had both types of bidet; the hose type and the jet under the seat. I'm not really a bidet person, but it was still impressive to see both.

My fiance wanted to dry her hair after her shower, but we had trouble finding the hair dryer. I decided to call the front desk for assistance. I had a look at the phone, and it had instructions written on the top that said to dial star for assistance. I dialed * and just got a few random tones and then a disconnected line. I had a closer look and the phone actually had an extra button on it that had a vaguely star shaped form around the button, so I tried that one. A girl answered speaking in Indonesian so I fired away with my questions in English and she cut me off to say that I'd called the emergency number and I had to dial the star or 0 for general assistance. I told her I did dial star, but she just repeated what she said again. The 0 button worked, but I never touched that weird star button thing again.

Once we were ready we headed up to the lounge on the 18th floor. The lounge is very nicely setup and they have a selection of wines, beer, and spirits with basic mixers. Not exactly what I understood under the title "cocktails" but I wasn't that keen on a Singapore Sling or Shirley Temple anyway. They also have a buffet of canapes including sandwiches, hot and cold sushi and a line up of gourmet bar snacks. They also had mini cakes and tarts, but we didn't indulge too much in the food given that we had a 5 course dinner included in the package. We sat down with some white wine and chatted until the maître d' and chef came to us at our sofa to discuss any special requests for our meal. The chef spoke absolutely impeccable English. He must have studied abroad. He even handed us his business card. We had no special requests and just told him that we would have the standard set menu for the 5 course meal included in the package. We stayed in the lounge until it closed at 7 and then went on to the restaurant.

Now how exactly they get to five courses is something I just can't work out. First they brought out a welcome drink that was basically some sort of lychee mocktail, then a plate of sushi, then bread and butter, then soup, then a main course of sea bass for me and steak for my fiance. The food was all absolutely wonderful, but the only way that's five courses is if you include the drink and the bread...which you absolutely don't. After the main we waited and waited for cheese or dessert or something. I was genuinely curious to see what was coming, but when we finally quizzed the waiter, he told us that was all that was coming. Again, the quality of the food was great, but it wasn't 5 courses as advertised.

There was a live band playing at the restaurant, and they played a request that my fiance made. The waiter was very friendly, and when my fiance told him that we're recently engaged, he arranged for a bouquet of red roses for when her song started to play. It was all very thoughtful. I would have liked to have tipped him better, but I only had roughly 5 USD in my wallet, since I knew before hand that it was all included in the package.

We went back up to the room and they'd done a special turn down with rose petals and swan shaped towels folded on the bed, a cake with happy honeymoon on the TV unit and rose petals and candles set up in and around a warm bath. The room attendant had also left a handwritten note wishing us a happy honeymoon (Indonesians refer to all dirty weekends away, regardless of marital status, as "honeymoons").

In the morning we went up to the lounge again for breakfast. The breakfast spread included a buffet of bread, cheese, cold meats and pastries, plus an ala carte selection for eggs and Asian dishes. The food at was very nice. I ordered orange juice which came with a bug floating in it. They replaced it when I pointed it out. After breakfast we went down to the spa for our couple's treatment. I generally don't like massages but it was included so I gave it a go and was very happy with it. The therapist was responsive to what was working and what wasn't and I left feeling much better.

We were about 5 minutes late to check-out which was worrying me a bit because a late check-out was to be billed at 50%. It wasn't an issue however and once the bill was settled we were given complimentary polo shirts and a framed photograph of us at the restaurant from the night before.

All in all I was very happy with the hotel for the price. I've heard it said (though not by Trans Hotel themselves) that it is a 6 star hotel. I cannot see how that's the case. I've stayed at actual 6 star hotels such as the Palazzo Versace on the Gold Coast. The difference between an actual 6 star hotel and a 5 star is not incremental...it's massive. But so is the cost. I was paying 1000 USD a night at the PV for example. For what I paid, I was certainly happy with the Trans Hotel and would certainly go back again for a weekend away from the big durian.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobOliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We love love love Trans Hotel! We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed the luxury the hotel has to offer. I loved their attention to details and all the staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. Highly recommended for everyone who are coming to Bandung and we will definitely stay there whenever we visit Bandung. Just love it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Fast check in
Spacious and luxurious room. Better choose a room in the corner if you wanna see wider nice view by the window.
Very close to mall (Trans Studio Mall), Convention Center and Trans Studio.

Breakfast:
Nice views of garden and swimming pool.
Breads and cakes: nothing special in taste
Kupat tahu: a good inovation but a bit too sweet

Housekeeping: fast response. Very good.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Junsurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights

+ :
- warm and helpful sales managers and staff
- luxurious amenities (cute sandals, combs and other kits)
- clean and spacious bedroom (letter L sofa at the corner is enough for an adult to sleep on)
- the bathroom has one bathtub and shower

- :
- not very friendly receptionists..i wonder why..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a pleasant stay in this hotel. It was everything we imagined. The room was very clean and came with not just complete but also luxury amenities. The bed gave us a very good night sleep. The bathroom came with bathtub and shower.

It was high season so there was a long queue in the reception for check in and check out process. However, the receptionist were very polite and friendly and they provide free juice and cold towels for the guests who were waiting in the lobby area.

When we walked into the pool, our daughter was so excited. There were a slide, waterfall, white sand pool for kids and also adult pool. They also have a kids club with toys and play station next to the pool. There was a fitness centre too, but we didn't use the facility.

Breakfast was superb with plenty of choices from local to international dishes. A little bit crowded, but maybe it was because of high season.

The hotel was located next to Trans Mall (which have shops, restaurants and food court) and Trans Studio Indoor Theme Park.

It really was a great experience. We stayed there on August and we have booked again for New Year holiday. We would recommend anyone to stay here, but if you are coming on high season, you might want to book earlier since they are often fully booked.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscillia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I tried this hotel 6 month ago for a business trip and was really impressed with the services and therefore I visited this hotel again but this time with the whole family.
It is indeed a heaven for kids since they have many things kids would've dreamt of.
Our kids love very much the children playground. The toys were quite variative and is fun for our boys, 4 y.o. and 1.5 y.o. They even have xbox for teenagers.
Just see the pictures and you'll know what I mean.
Not mentioned the pool with its sand, water fountain and sliders.
Our holiday was one of the perfect holiday we have recently.
So, it is recomended for business and also for family.
I have experinced both of them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimsumA362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandung hotels
4.7 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#1 of 231 in Bandung
1,904 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#7 of 231 in Bandung
1,525 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Bandung Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel ibis Bandung Trans Studio
0.9 mi away
The Papandayan
The Papandayan
#10 of 231 in Bandung
517 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung

Address: Jl. Jenderal Gatot Subroto no. 289, Bandung 40273, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 231 Hotels in Bandung
Price Range: £85 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the hustle bustle of Bandung, find a haven of uncompromising luxury where you could experience the finest things in life and an unrivaled commitment to service excellence: The Trans Luxury Hotel. It is the first and the one and only six-star hotel in Indonesia which situated in the heart of the Integrated Trans Studio Bandung Complex. The area is packed with exciting lifestyle and entertainment options, consisting of one of the biggest indoor theme parks in the world: Trans Studio Bandung; Bandung’s most exciting retail and lifestyle destination which offers an unparalleled dining and shopping experience: Trans Studio Mall; the largest ibis in Asia Pacific region: ibis Bandung Trans Studio; and also a beautiful mosque which can accommodate up to 2,500 people: Masjid Agung Trans Studio Bandung. The Trans Luxury Hotel have been designed to set the property in a class of its own. The panoramic restaurant and lounge on level 18 with sweeping views of the city, the open-air and heated sandy beach pool with sun lounges, exciting kid activities, the elegant day spa, 24 hours high tech fitness centre, the luxurious room amenities, all ensure the most memorable stay for an extraordinary escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing