We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property with pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Aquila Hotel Bandung
Ranked #166 of 232 Hotels in Bandung
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I was booked into the Grand Aquila for a work conference, and was a bit dismayed by the bad reviews here. It's not that bad! BUT it is an older hotel (18 years), and has a number of weak points as a result -- my main complaints were an absence of power points for laptop, mobile phones, iPod, etc., and no wifi. The lack of wifi is surprising, since it seems to be a major competitive element in this middle range of hotels in Indonesia. Also, they are on a busy artery and don't have double windows, so rooms on the street side can be a bit noisy.

On the plus side: the staff are friendly and work hard to provide good service; the cafe food is good; the snacks in the conference rooms were plentiful and tasty; the bed was nice and firm, and the linens and soft goods were good quality.

Value for money? It's a little pricey for their market segment, even with my conference discount.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indonesia80571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

During a conference in Bandung, I was transferred by the committee from Aston to Grand Aquila. For an old hotel, it has its own advantage and flaws, The good thing about the hotel is they served not only breakfast, but also dinner. Food quality was excellent, and they have a lot of choices. Swimming pool was also great, although the water was really cold in the morning, but fresh nevertheless.
The room was old though, with worn out furniture and bathroom. However they kept the room clean, although the carpet was a bit dusty. Room amenities were also sufficient. The price was not friendly, as it is too expensive for its standard.

Room Tip: Standard room is spacious enough, don't really need to look for higher class room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RonnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The hotel claims as 5 star but It is not as I expected compared with the price. We stayed in the old building with its special smell. The room was clean but the bathroom need to be clean. What we love from this hotel is the location. It is close to shopping centre and food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labtamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I've been to bandung hundred times since I was lil'. I saw this Grand Aquila n wondered how it felt like to stay in such 'grand' hotel. When I finally stayed there (2013 new year's eve),n it didn't meet my high expectation. The hotel needs to be modernized n renewed on few aspects,esp bathroom. N jacuzzy by the pool didn't work when I was there. :( so sad

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2607sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

It's a very expensive rate hotel with a so so service. I was in a business meeting so they upgraded my room the most expensive one. I have to say for that kind of price, they charge you aaaaaaaaaaaa looooooooottt!!!!!!!!! Everything is just plain... the furniture, the bed.. well I would really really expect more for that price. I have to say one thing: the breakfast is superb! But really, you won't stay at a hotel to enjoy just the breakfast right..?

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nananunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I rate it 2 from 10. It's the worst experience staying at a hotel that i've ever had. The hotel should be a service oriented bussiness, but this hotel doesn't perform it. The room and food are not good enough to cover hotels' lack of kindness services. The management should be fired soon if they are to improve bussiness scale. It doesn't even give a single sandal or double toothbrushes for a twin-bed rooms. The customers should ask for it. I even called service room twice before they gave me what i need. If u are to come collectively, u should be caution about ur transportation because the hotel (as i experienced) doesn't allow bus to enter the gate, even in the rainy day (what a horrible service). The last one, don't try to sit at the sofa near the entrance door if u don't want to be sent away by the bellboy. It's a SPECIAL service for customer who BUY a drink

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roronoazoro_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was my 3rd stay in 3 years. Somehow I seem to always forget this hotel... As some other reviewers noted the grandeur is out of the Grand Aquila. It is however still a convenient and well priced hotel with spacious rooms and friendly staff. The location is good if you are driving yourself, it is easy to reach all major shopping areas in Bandung. The hotel could do with a general refreshment which would certainly put it back on the map as a premium located Hotel in Bandung.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indodanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandung hotels
1.4 mi away
HARRIS Hotel & Convention Ciumbuleuit
2.2 mi away
Tebu Hotel Bandung by Willson Hospitality
1.6 mi away
THE 1O1 Bandung Dago Hotel
THE 1O1 Bandung Dago Hotel
#33 of 232 in Bandung
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Bandung
Novotel Bandung
#20 of 232 in Bandung
1,348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Serela Riau Bandung
Serela Riau Bandung
#49 of 232 in Bandung
552 reviews
2 mi away
eL Royale Hotel Bandung
eL Royale Hotel Bandung
#32 of 232 in Bandung
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aquila Hotel Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aquila Hotel Bandung

Address: Jl. Dr Jungjunan 116, Bandung 40163, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 232 Hotels in Bandung
Price Range: £37 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Aquila Hotel Bandung 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic & luxurious hotel at the heart of Bandung with the most spacious guest rooms & suites, a grand ballroom & function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Aquila Hotel Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing