We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic food, good service, a bit overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gili-Gili Restaurant

Gili-Gili Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 318 Restaurants in Bogor
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Gili-Gili restaurant provide authentic Sundanese food taste. Bumi Parahyangan. In addition Reguler Area, we also have a VIP Room and Meeting Room which can be used for all your needs. Gili-Gili restaurant also provides the arena's playground and a drawing table for children with cheerful activity.
Waldshut-Tiengen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic food, good service, a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I went into this restaurant for three times already, you can choose between low tables where you sit on the floor (for more totally inconvenient, as I am not good in stretching :-( ) or normal tables. The food's quality and choice is really without any complaint, but nevertheless the restaurant had never cause a Wow-Effect. The atmosphere is really nice, on weekend it can be very crowded, when Jakarta takes over the city of Bogor. Compared to other Sudanese Restaurants it is more expensive, but still o.k.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    76
    19
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Taiwan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always my first choice to entertain in Bogor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Why? The food quality and taste are always consistent. Not to mention the service is always good and efficient. Lately I found out they have a nicely decorated private room, which is a plus. The lady manager is always around, which I think is quite important for running a restaurant. At weekend, there's live band singing western and local songs. It did light up a bit the quiet Bogor. This is my regular place to dine out in Bogor, and I never feel disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent setting and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

You will not be disappointed with this restaurant. You can choose between standard tables with chair and eating on a wood floor with a low table (typical here). The food is excellent, especially Sundanese specialties.
The restaurant feature also a playground area for children which is nice.

Helpful?
Thank Costantino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Tripadvisor guided us to Gili Gili and what a suprise we found. A warm and friendly welcome, hospitality and good advice (in english) to the menu. We picked a sudanese meal and enjoyed a great taste, although we left the sambal out... The restaurant is half open, meaning a roof but no walls or windows on the first floor. But the gentle evening brease comes as welcome and some lively street sounds just adds the to the good atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Polderbewoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out and eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

The restaurant is nice and fun, perfect for hanging out with friends or family. They serve delicious food and drink. Maybe the price is a little more expensive than other restaurants serving the same menu, but the price is worth it.

Every Wednesday and Saturday, there will be a band entertaining the guests. The duo sing very well. Guests can also join in the singing at the stage that look not so spacious but cozy.

Try the nasi goreng kambing (fried rice with chopped mutton) and the ice cream. Super delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LubisBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gili-Gili Restaurant also viewed

 
Bogor, West Java
 

Been to Gili-Gili Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing