We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive, and quirky (in a nice way!)”
Review of Hotel Tugu Malang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Malang
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Malang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were only here for one night but this place was very interesting and memorable due to it's décor, being stuffed with antiques and temple architecture and artifacts. It was fascinating - we took so many photos of the interior. Our room was nice - very clean and comfortable, and only a few steps away from both the restaurant and swimming pool - however, noise was not a problem, and proximity even persuaded us to have an early morning swim!
The restaurant was excellent, for both dinner and breakfast, and the adjacent bakery looked very tempting....although we weren't there long enough to indulge. There is a small, high quality shopping area within the hotel where there are some lovely good quality souveniers (batik, jewellery etc). These are considerably over-priced, although later in our trip, I wish I had indulged, as I didn't come across such nice things anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Ann M,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and shared you lovely comments with us about the decoration, food and our art shop.
We hope to see you soon again, next time plan some more days to further explore our batiks and jewellery, which are all hand selected from boutique Indonesian designers.

Best Regards

Yudha
and the Tugu family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tugu Malang
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked this property expecting a unique experience and certainly got one (in a good way)! The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful with all kinds of areas to explore and see some beautiful furnishings and art work. Our room was small and our air conditioning didn't work very well, but we overlooked this in light of where we were staying.
The afternoon tea was a delight. We had dinner 2 nights at the hotel (normally we don't do this) as their menu was so varied and we were so wowed after the first meal. Food was outstanding. Service was a bit slow, but it is Indonesia after all, not a fast food restaurant. Service by front desk staff was very good. The concierge was a bit overbearing but we took it in stride. Definitely the place to stay in Malang!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Italgal,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang. We would like to thank you for staying with us and share with us your experience. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay overall and thank you very much for pointing out to us where we can still improve. In the past we have learned a lot from our guests and we wouldnt be where we are now without their comments.
We look forward to see you again in Malang or in one of our sister properties in Blitar, Bali or Lombok.
We wish you all the best

Yudha
& the Tugu family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Having travelled by train for 5 hours from Jogja to Surabaya it was with delight when we arrived to find our ground floor room overlooked the open gardens around the swimming pool. The room was very nice with lovely floral arrangements(little man sits in corridor by pool and makes these exquisite creations every day). We then set off to explore the bird and flower market before it closed. Very interesting and the hotel is in a really good position.The hotel itself is amazing room after room of antiques from puppets to beautiful furniture. We loved going for afternoon tea after a long day of sightseeing. The food here was excellent as was the wine. A little haven of tranquility in the centre of Malang.The staff here could not have been better so helpful to my husband. Stayed for 2 nights before going on to Tugu Lombok

Room Tip: Ground floor was good as husband disabled
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llwyngwril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Llwyngwril,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang. Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for writing these very kind notes.
We are pleased that you and your husband have enjoyed your time and appreciated our lilttle touches (flowers, tea time, antiques) as well as the atmosphere, food and wine.
We wish you the best for your stay at Hotel Tugu Lombok and we are looking forward to see you soon again in Malang.

Best Regards
Yudha
and the Tugu Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a delightful hotel in so many respects. The general ambience, helpful and friendly staff, quality of the rooms, excellent menu, lovely afternoon tea and tasty dinner menu. I enjoyed by short stay there very much indeed and strongly recommend it to others. There is nothing not to like.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Zeke O,

Thank you so much for spending your time with us at Hotel Tugu Malang. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and have taken the time to share it with us and our readers.
We hope to see you soon again in Malang or in one of our sister hotels in Blitar, Bali or Lombok.
In the meantime let us know anytime if there is something we can do for you.

Best Regards
Yudha
and the Tugu family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights while visiting Bromo. The hotel has a unique character, reminiscence of an older era. Rooms are very tastefully decorated. The hotel staff helped us organise our tour to Mount Bromo, Batu and surrounding attractions. We had a great time.

The restaurant at the hotel is absolutely superb. While breakfast buffet was available, you were encouraged to order ala carte. The breakfast menu was very delicious, with both local and continental cuisine. I like the Beef Rawon.

We also visited the hotel souvenir/gift shop and bought quite a number of items which we thought were very reasonably priced.

We like the Tugu experience so much that we made arrangements to visit the Tugu at Lombok in 2 weeks time. Thank you Tugu!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear George R32,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang and thank you for staying two nights with us. We really appreciate that you took you time to write us these very special and kind notes.
We are pleased also that you have spend time exploring the surroundings of Malang (Bromo and the Batu area). Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our breakfast to our readers, your favorite dish "Beef Rawon" is a real local Malang delicacy which Tugu is famous for. For your next time we suggest to try our "Cwi Mie Malang" a homemade Chinese Indonesian tasty noodle soup with beef.
We wish you all the best for your time in Tugu Lombok and we hope to see you soon again in Malang. We just launched a very unique bike tour through Malang where we explore the Dutch Colonial past in little side streets as well as local "Kampoengs", all away from the busy main streets.

Best Regards
Yudha
and the Tugu family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I loved my stay at the Tugu in Malang. The hotel is like a museum with long corridors leading to other rooms and areas to get lost in, as you marvel at the art pieces, paintings and elegance of this fine hotel. There is even a temple in the hotel - it is lit up with soft red lights at night and you access it via the endless love corridor which is dedicated to the very famous painting called "the kiss". I loved the little cafe and old Dutch bakery (they still use original Dutch recipes) and you can browse the stacks of old art books in the little back room past the boutique. The bar is super cozy and very tastefully furnished. We splurged and had the 7 course meal in the Sugar Baron Room and 12 waiters served us - all in traditional costume. The name of this banquet style meal is called The Grand Rijsttafel Experience. A unique Indonesian experience. Oh, how I love the Tugu Hotel - this is the 4th Tugu Hotel I have stayed in. A most exquisite experience. Don't forget the spa - which is rooftop and very quiet. I enjoyed the casual dining in the restaurant next to the pool which is fringed by a beautiful garden. Don't miss the high tea in the late afternoon - it's very social. Perched on little wooden Javanese stool, you are served very generous portions of cakes, sweets and the hot mini Dutch pancakes - mmmm- the best - and it's complimentary.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Stephtravelwriter,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang and thank you for staying with us. We appreciate that you took your time to share your experience in detail with us and our readers.
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed the very much Tugu has to offer and we are glad that you have had the chance to enjoy our "Grand Rijsttafel" Dinner at the Raja Room.
We hope that we see you soon again at Tugu Malang, in the meantime let us know anytime if there is something we can do for you.

Best Regards
Yudha
and the Tugu family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wow what a place. Overwhelmingly friendly staff! Great wine cellar
huge menu! Decent food and we got the second best suite in the hotel.
Had a couple of glasses of superb wine in a lovely cozy bar with a Dr Gigi
chair.

Researched the wine racks to find something for dinner. Were
walked through show cases of beautiful puppets from here and China
before a lovely dinner by the pool. Changed some money at good rate
too. Accommodation is wonderfully quirky and the whole building full of extremely interesting pieces clearly collected by an owner with an eye for really amazing pieces.

Staff could not be more helpful or friendlier - a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Friggykeith,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Tugu Malang and writing these very kind notes.
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay here, as well as the food, decor and the wide range of wines we offer.
We always remind ourself that the great ambience and decor the hotel has to offer only makes the Tugu Malang special when our staff fills it with friendliness, courtesy, helpfullness, enthusiasm and humble Javanese hospitality. Thank you so much reminding us that this is something we will and must constantly working on.
We hope to see you soon again in Malang or our sister hotels in Blitar, Lombok or Canggu (Bali).

Best Regards

Yudha
& the Tugu family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malang hotels
3.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang
2.0 mi away
Atria Hotel Malang
Atria Hotel Malang
#5 of 55 in Malang
777 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kertanegara Premium Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Malang
Swiss-Belinn Malang
#6 of 55 in Malang
403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Malang
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Malang
Ibis Styles Malang
#8 of 55 in Malang
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Malang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Malang

Address: Jl. Tugu no. 3, Malang 65119, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malang
#1 Spa Hotel in Malang
Price Range: £68 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Malang 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This most unique hotel in East Java, the only 5-star luxury hotel in Malang, is not just a hotel. It is a whole destination by itself. It is a beautiful living museum filled with priceless beautiful antiques and artworks of Indonesia, and every corner of this hotel celebrates the colorful history of Indonesia, of Java, and of Malang in particular. Every single staff so naturally carries the "hospitality from the heart" that is so authentically Indonesian gracefully, and nothing is ever a problem. This is the very place to experience the true soul of Java and Indonesia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tugu Malang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Hotel Malang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing