We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New hotel, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western OJ Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Malang
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New hotel, convenient location”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. First impression because the hotel is new, it's very clean. Staffs are attentive. Swimming pool is small but enough to keep our kids happy although the water temp felt a bit too cold. The rooftop cafe is a good idea, food, music & drinks were okay. Bedroom is quite spacious, love the huge screen TV. Overall, this hotel was a pleasant stay for our family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank qmommy153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agus A, General Manager at Best Western OJ Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mrs. Qmommy153,

Warmest greetings from BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang,

I would like to thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang for your stay and share positive comment.

I was very delighted to know that you would love to recommend BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang to anyone who would like to stay in Malang city.

Your comments on the service and facilities provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang.

Thank you :)


Sincerely Yours,

Agus Anom Suroto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    130
    55
    10
    7
See reviews for
102
44
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
411 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

this is my first time stayed at BW OJ malang, that look a new hotel in town. So I book via agoda and get the best price only for USD50/nite include breakfast. So, when arrive and checking in they serve fast and easy. they gave me a highest floor at 11 level as my request. The room was spacious with twin single bed (120X200 bed size). My room #1109 is the best view, where city and mount view with a huge windows. The bad things was very noisy when the SKYROOM closed at midnite, because my room was under the kitchen. TIPS: ask for room #1009 or #1010.

Everything in this hotel is nice, good staff and good breakfast too. The pool in 3 floor is little and very cold, but the kiddos was fun. If you find for wasting the nite plz check to 12 floor, it's roof top sky room and they have pretty open lounge with great view.

The internet access is available in the room and all public area in the hotel, but that's little bit slow. Fasten in the lobby area. They serve us afternoon tea at the room, very lovely. Will be come back again!!

Room Tip: ask for highest floor at 11 level but skip for room 1107-1112 because it's noisy when the skyroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugiphang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agus A, General Manager at Best Western OJ Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mr. Sugiphang,

Warmest greetings from BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang,

I would like to thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang for your stay and shared positive comment.

I was pleased to read that you appreciated of our facilities. Also please accept our sincerest apology for your unpleasant experience during your stay.

In regards for noisy environment, I already taken note to follow up and I will try to improve to avoid any similar problem in the future.

It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services, in the same time we do hope that next stay will be even more enjoyable

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and if you giving us another try, we hope we can welcome and serve you with a better way soon at BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang .


Sincerely Yours,


Agus Anom Suroto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stay wonderful hotel, friendly staffs and tasty breakfast, I talk to duty manager Pak dedi to discuss about some matters, he was so attentive listening to my need, thank you and will return for next weekend

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Doddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agus A, General Manager at Best Western OJ Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mr. Doddy F,

Warmest greetings from BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang,

I would like to thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang for your stay and share positive comment.

I was very delighted to know that you would love to recommend BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang to anyone who would like to stay in Malang city.

Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang.

Thank you :)


Sincerely Yours,

Agus Anom Suroto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We used this hotel as a base for Mount Bromo while travelling through Indonesia. We had already been travelling for a while and needed somewhere to relax and this hotel was amazing. Great nights sleep and good movie channels for a chance to chill out.
We booked the Mount Bromo sunrise tour through reception, who were always friendly and happy to help with any queries we had.
Breakfast was delicious with a range of traditional indonesian dishes and continental style.
Rooftop restaurant of an evening with live music was also a treat.
The only downside was it seemed to be away from the centre of Malang, but it was no real issue for us. The train station was a mere 10 minute walk too which was handy as we had come from Yogyakarta.
Thank you Best Western Malang :)

Room Tip: 11th floor rooms had amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agus A, General Manager at Best Western OJ Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Mrs. Travellers116,

Warmest greetings from BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang,

I would like to thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang for your stay and share positive comment.

I was very delighted to know that you would love to recommend BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang to anyone who would like to stay in Malang city.

Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang.

Thank you :)


Sincerely Yours,

Agus Anom Suroto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel when it was new. We like its room cleanliness. Hotel staff were courteous and helpful.

The only concern and big concern for us is the hotel allows smokers in its lobby. We noticed that people smoke near the check in area, breakfast area, and 5th floor lobby.
Our room was on the fifth floor. We can smell cigarette smell right out of the elevator. When we opened our room door, the smoke smell came in as well.
We mentioned this matter to the hotel management, but there's nothing they can do. Probably they don't want to offend smokers, but non-smokers in turn have to suffer.

Also, as other reviewers mentioned, music that came from the lobby can be loud and bothersome.

We liked the room bed and bath. However as long as the lobby and smoking policy are unchanged, we won't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agus A, General Manager at Best Western OJ Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs.,

Warmest greetings from BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang,

I would like to thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang for your stay and shared positive comment.

I was pleased to read that you appreciated of our product. Also please accept our sincerest apology for your unpleasant experience during your stay.

In regards for smoking policy, I already taken note to follow up and I will try to improve to avoid any similar problem in the future.

It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services, in the same time we do hope that next stay will be even more enjoyable

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and if you giving us another try, we hope we can welcome and serve you with a better way soon at BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang .


Sincerely Yours,


Agus Anom Suroto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Charlotte
Level Contributor
272 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is one of the worst-designed hotels I've seen in decades of travel. First impressions are excellent, as you enter from a quiet street, and a nice lobby and check-in area staffed by competent, intelligen,t friendly people greets you. The rooms are clean, bright, and well-appointed, with well-designed bathrooms and nice views over the city to the volcanic peaks beyond.

Unfortunately, the design of the building goes a long way toward undoing these excellent features. From the fifth floor lounge to the top floor, all rooms are situated around a big, open, echoing atrium. If someone sneezes in the lounge, you'll hear it on the tenth floor. If a child, and we were there on a holiday week-end so there were lots of them, shouts to hear his echo (and dozens did), or a baby cries, or a drunk checks in, it will wake you up six floors away. And if music, especially hip-hop or techno with a throbbing bass, is playing on the very nice rooftop terrace, you'll hear it and feel it in every room until midnight.

This is extremely unfortunate. A solicitous manager asked how we were enjoying our stay, and after praising the excellent staff and room quality, I pointed out the problem with the music. He was very concerned, and in fact the situation was much improved that night. As to the other acoustical problems, maybe hanging huge lengths of fabric down through the atrium could dampen the echoes somewhat.

The upshot is, if you're a sound sleeper, use earplugs, or aren't bothered by noise, this is a first-rate hotel. If those aren't your qualities, try another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agus A, General Manager at Best Western OJ Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mr. Bima,

Warmest greetings from BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang,

Thank you for your honest and constructive review.

Please accept our sincerest apology for your unpleasant experience during your stay.

This problem has been noted and we will try to improve to avoid any similar problem in the future.

In the same time we do hope that next stay will be even more enjoyable.

Once again thank you for your visit and if you giving us another try, we hope we can welcome and serve you with a better way.



Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel really surpassed my expectations. It's an impeccably clean new hotel and while the ground floor restaurant might lack something in the way of atmosphere this is more than made up for by the warm and friendly staff.

Our room was well appointed and comfortable with a great view over Malang city and the mountains beyond. Showers, air conditioner, wi-fi and tv all worked exactly as they ought to.

I enjoyed breakfast, with its wide range of Indonesian foods and some local specialties it was a good chance to sample some new tastes. There were also plenty of international choices with an egg station, pastries, fruit, cereal, yoghurt and the like on offer. Food in the restaurant is fine too, the menu isn't huge but what they produce is of a good and consistent quality.

We tried the bar on the fifth floor presided over by an absolute gem of a barman who was friendly and informative without being pushy, thank you for the apples. We checked out on the day the rooftop bar was opening but got given a quick tour of it, it looks like a nice spot to wind down and has a great view over Malang and beyond.

Staff throughout the hotel were delightful. From check in to check out we were constantly impressed by the friendliness and professionalism of each member of staff we came in contact with. Nothing is too much trouble and every job is carried out with pride and a smile.

The hotel uses Helios tours to organise sight seeing and trips which pretty much guarantees you a good experience as they have a reliable reputation locally. There is plenty of parking in a multilevel car park incorporated into the hotel building and taxis are quick to come and quite cheap. There are ATMs, shops and local restaurants close by and it takes only five minutes to drive into the main part of town.

I checked in without particularly high expectations of the hotel but left thoroughly impressed. If you are looking for a clean, modern and welcoming place to stay in Malang you could do no better than than staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agus A, General Manager at Best Western OJ Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs. Amasc,

Warmest greetings from BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang,

It is our pleasure to welcome you at BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang.

Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang.

Whether you are traveling on business or leisure, we know you have a variety of hotels to choose from.

We strive to provide you a room that is clean and comfortable, with friendly attentive service at a value conscious price. And we always want to be your first choice.

If at any time you have a suggestion on how to improve our service to you, please just let us know.

We want you to enjoy every stay, the professional and friendly staffs at BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel are committed to making your stay both enjoyable and comfortable.

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang. We trust your stay will be enjoyable and hope that you continue to use BEST WESTERN OJ Hotel Malang for your lodging needs in the near future.

We look forward to serving you on your next trip. Thank you :)


Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malang hotels
1.5 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Malang
Swiss-Belinn Malang
#6 of 54 in Malang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.0 mi away
HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang
1.3 mi away
Atria Hotel Malang
Atria Hotel Malang
#4 of 54 in Malang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Malang
Ibis Styles Malang
#7 of 54 in Malang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maxone Hotels at Malang
Maxone Hotels at Malang
#12 of 54 in Malang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Malang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western OJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western OJ Hotel

Property: Best Western OJ Hotel
Address: Jl. Dr Cipto no. 11, Malang 65111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western OJ Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western OJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing