We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hostel in Semarang” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imam Bonjol Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imam Bonjol Hostel
Tegal, Indonesia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“good hostel in Semarang”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

this hostel is good enough, because in first floor they have 24 hour minimarket, and the location is centrally in Semarang city, really near to Tugu Muda, Paragon mall, and also Lawang Sewu Building. The Room is not so Big, no Television inside and we must share the bathroom for some room. But the price is good

Room Tip: Better choose the bigger room with the bathroom, because when it full, you must waiting for use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Agustino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
5
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

So the staff is very nice. So each room has a shared bathroom. The shower is on the main floor but they have bathrooms upstairs with no showers. Here is a first they charge you 80 cents for hot water in the shower.. Really are you kidding me. My double room has a plastic dresser with Mickey Mouse on it and a bed and mattress with covered in a loud plastic... Hotel or ..... house??? Come on. The main rooms are HOT as hell and have antique exercise bikes all over the place. They have water for drinking or to make tea but to save power they unplug it so you will need to plug it in to use it. Smoking is OK in the shared rooms but not in your sleeping room.

Room Tip: This is just for locals I guess. But if you need a place it's basic as you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theeyesoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The owner or manager who speaks good English is very nice if you are a westerner as he gave me a map and will help you out. The location is ok as it's about a 5 or 10 minute walk from the 1,000 door building, the big paragon mall and a smaller mall with a Carrefour but its NOT walking distance from the train station if you have all your stuff with you. I walked to the old part of the city + the train station (to book a ticket) but it's also a long walk.

The room and bed were fine (comfortable mattress) but the shared toilets are squat toilets and there is alot more clutter in the public spaces than in the pictures on Agoda. They do try to do their best to keep everything clean, like the floors (as the squat toilets are together with the showers meaning if its been raining outside or people have been using the showers, the floors in the place need cleaning...).

I would say the place is more suitable for locals to stay at BUT again, the price is pretty cheap and I don't know what other "budget" accoms look like in Semerang as there aren't many places in the old part of town to stay in listed on Agoda where prices match quality/reviews (Note: I did see alot of vagrants in that part of town - meaning you may not want to be walking around that area at night). Internet worked fine except on the night of a bad storm as the rainy season was beginning.

Room Tip: The owner or manager will usually put foreigners in the room by his desk (unless you want a differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmergingMarketSkptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Don't judge a book by it's cover. That's my impression when I saw photo of the hotel at web, but when I saw it with myself, I feel like my own home. The owner is so friendly, he allow me to use his bathroom even before I'm check in and put my stuff for a while when I'm already check out. Over all this hotel is clean, have a big room, give a good price and strategic location from train station and down town

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e_fox258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Location of the Hostel is just in the central of the city. Walking distance to "Lawang Sewu". There's a 24 hours shop where you can buy snacks and drinks. The hostel is on the first and second floor of the building.
The room and shared bathroom are clean. The mattress quality is average.
Hospitality of the staff and owner is just GREAT. They are very helpful.
GREAT value for this Hostel. Very Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosebyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights, Imam Bonjol has answered all of my accommodation need. For 1 night stay, it will cost you only IDR 110.000 or around USD 11. There are some points that you may consider to choose this hotel when you come to Semarang,

1. Good location, at the center of Semarang, only 1 minute by foot from Tugu Muda and Lawang Sewu ( one of famous place in Semarang), also near Simpang Lima and Pandanaran Street where you can find some traditional foods like Wingko and Bakpia. Next to one block of hotel location, you can find a mall (if i'm not wrong, the name is DP Mall).

2. Good service and flexibility, i arrived around 11am for check in and no need to wait for a long time, in 10 minutes i have got my room. I was also welcomed by hotel owner and manager, Mr. Arianto. He and his staff are very friendly.

3. Good facilities, there are wifi access and fitness tool. A desk and chair and air condioner in the room. There is also a convenient store on the 1st floor, so you can find everything there, and cash machine inside.

Overall is good to choose this hotel when you come to Semarang.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

The room is so minimalist: a small room, a desk, a cheap spring bed, and a bloody damn cold Air Conditioner (Semarang is so hot and you will be glad to have such AC). Pay for IDR 110.000 and those are things you need. Not to mention, Indomaret locates below the hostel.

The owner and family or any employee should wear more professional cloth. The living room should be arranged properly and I don't know why there is a gym tool. Keep it away.

For the price, I paid, I'll recommend this hotel. The hotel's quality still can be improved.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winnuayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Semarang hotels
1.6 mi away
Just Inn Semarang
Just Inn Semarang
#22 of 67 in Semarang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Semarang
Ibis Budget Hotel Semarang
#24 of 67 in Semarang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olympic
Hotel Olympic
#59 of 67 in Semarang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
City One Hotel Lamper
City One Hotel Lamper
#60 of 67 in Semarang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Hotel Semarang
Quest Hotel Semarang
#11 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pandanaran Hotel Semarang
Pandanaran Hotel Semarang
#6 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imam Bonjol Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imam Bonjol Hostel

Property: Imam Bonjol Hostel
Address: Jln. Imam Bonjol 177 B, Semarang 50131, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Imam Bonjol Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing