We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the batik village with lots of nice galleries”

Kampoeng Batik Laweyan
Ranked #3 of 42 things to do in Solo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
klagenfurt
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“the batik village with lots of nice galleries”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

if you stroll around Laweyan you will find a lot of nice original batik shops, but to get them you should go more south to the back of the galleries on the main street, cause many of those galleries do not have own production, they just sell and get most of their stuff on commission from the producers which are low profile people and selling to very reasonable prices...therefore we went away from the busy main street in the small gangs where you can find still great handmade pieces with low prices, and you can bargain, at least 30 % will be reducted, if not even more...take care of the hookers, a lot of them hanging around there hunting for commission, if they guide you to a shop they will get their share of the cake...also be aware that some of the sellers telling you it´s batik tulis, which is handmade, but it´s not, they selling printed batik to people who are not familiar with the quality....anyway you will get nice pieces to moderate prices, just take your time and explore Laweyan Batik Village...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank javaman011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    189
    56
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Place not to be missed”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A place not to be missed if you like to understand the process of batik making. The management and staffs are friendly people. This is also a good location for photographer to capture your candid shots. (2013 Nusantara Photo Club Annual Outing in Solo)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lipsengtan_frps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't get lost! :P”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Take a walk in Kampoeng Batik Lawyan? I suggest you to use your cap, because on the bright day, it will be quite hot and humid. This area has a sooo many batik shop, but my favorite batik shop is Batik Putra Laweyan. They have a very unique and cute design. The price is very reasonable :) The other batik shops are also nice,but sometimes the price is too damn high.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Madebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Bali
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“how Batik made started from here _ Putera Laweyan”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

While my visit at Juli 2013, my kids very interest to know how Batik made.
So many Batik boutiques inside the village but my choice turn to Putera Laweyan, I brought them to Putera Laweyan, it is like a Batik Boutique and its processing inside the store.
Since, Laweyan is used to be a central of maker Batik place, so Putera Laweyan is the best choice to have all things to need, such as how Batik made- writing Batik, printed Batik and Stamped Batik processing in one ancient Javanese house.
Many genuine Javanese houses of Batik Maker - as the Solo's heritage venue, you can find a retro place to make a photo
I am so glad that finally my kids learn how to Batik started, saw, made their own pattern Batik and knew the process after they made own Batik. It took only around 30-45 mins from the beginning - choose pattern, hand writing with wax, soak, coloring and dried.
With affordable price of then you found many Batik handy craft, shirt, dress with various models and latest styles. It is worth to visited there...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RynaRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get your Feet ready”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It was okay - there is another Kampoeng Batik that i recommend more - Kampoeng Batik Kauman, but this one is good if you park at one spot then walk aroung the small stores and see how they actually make the Batik Fabric.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kampoeng Batik Laweyan also viewed

 
Solo, Central Java
 

Been to Kampoeng Batik Laweyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing