We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars hotel, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 stars hotel, excellent service”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We arrived yesterday at the Sunan Hotel Solo and the stay is worth the trip to get there.
The hotel is really nice, there is a very good gym and also a huge pool if you like swimming. Breakfast buffet offers many choices, including many Indonesian meals, which is great because that's exactly what we were looking for.
It looks like there are as many employees as guests in this hotel, which makes the service excellent. We were hosted by Arif upon our arrival, he was really nice and it was great to be welcomed by him when we arrived. We definitely recommend this hotel to future guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intelinside21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Mr. Nicolas,

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and giving review about our hotel. We appreciator it so much.

We are very glad to hear that you feel satisfy about our services and willing to recommend the hotel to other travelers. Thanks to your positive comment about our services and facilities, that will be encouragement for us to improve our services.

Thank you for trying our outlet such as gym as well as swimming at our pool. And, we hope you could enjoy our traditional food next time when you visit Solo.

We would be very happy to welcoming you back in the future, don't hesitate to email us at ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com if you need reservation in the future.

With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    148
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
172
43
29
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malang, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is the second time I came to Sunan Hotel, this time is for a friend's wedding. Thing that is always impressive for me was the great service of banquet staffs. From a very warm greeting at the ballroom entrance till the variety of delicious hot food on the buffet with some suggestions on special menu they served. They even still remember my name which is soo amazing!
Bottom line, Sunan Hotel is a four star hotel with an amazing five star quality of food and service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatsani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After having read the reviews, I agree with most of the reviews posted. Wifi in the room is erratic but the lobby, ballroom and restaurants are of good speed.
Staff are very friendly but their English needs imprvement. I think whatever was lacking was made up by the service provided.
The food in te restaurant was good; advice from the staff helpful and the hoel storwes weere reasonable priced.
Rooms were clean; made up daily and had all the encessary facilities.

Room Tip: Poolside ooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabarDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Mr. Babar,

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other traveler while staying at our hotel.

We do apologize if our wifi connection in room is erratic, we had contacted related department to fix this problem. Further, we appreciate your suggestion so much that will be our input to improve hotel services and facilities.

We hope you enjoy our food while staying at our hotel, we have the most complete breakfast menu in town. While, we also open new restaurant that offer different culinary menu at Imperial Taste.
We are gladly welcoming you back at The Sunan Hotel Solo and serve you better in the future.

With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Director of Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel after lebaran holiday with my big family. We rent 6 rooms and two of them had connecting door on floor 4. When we waited for room check in, the hotel gave us hot ginger as welcome drink, and some cookies. The hotel lacated near a hospital, and solo square. At the centre of lobby area was decorated with a miniature of mosque, which was made by kurms as a symbol of lebaran celebration. Across front desk, there was coffee shop that sold cakes which are very cheap if we buy after 10.00 pm, a slice of cheese cake only cost me 10.000 idr, double chocolate for 13.000 idr, red velvet and many more. The pool actually was not really special only one big pool and one kids pool, but quite fun since some men in my family enjoyed swimming there. Breakfast was one of my favorite thing due to lot of variations. Its soto sulung was great, the angkringan corner was also tasty.. But the most important of all was they really had best hospitality I've ever felt. The receptionist, doorman, waitress never stop smiling to us. I really felt Javanese warmth.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PoetrieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Ms. Poetrie F
Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel,

Thank you very much for taking time to sharing your experience while staying at The Sunan Hotel Solo.

We give our highest gratitude since you choose us for your Lebaran holiday. At the moment, we tried to warm Lebaran day with religious atmosphere as represent on the mosque decoration at the lobby. We appreciate your positive feedback about our services such as our breakfast menu, free welcome drink and cookies for check in guest.

Further, we also really glad that you feel satisfy with our hospitality and our friendly staff.
We looking forward welcoming you back at The Sunan, and serve you better in the future.
With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flores, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Location near from Solo city, taste culinary, with great hospitality atmosphere,
the best choice when you visit the capital of Batik, the room, lobby area and the coffee lounge are superb,
with the javanese touch combine modern of service this hotel are recommended both for leisure or bussiness trip

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bayu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Mr. Bayu

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel,

Thank you very much for taking time for sharing experience with us, and we appreciate your positive feedback.

Its our pleasure that you recommend The Sunan Hotel for both leisure and business trip. While, enjoying coffee at lobby area, you could also try our new restaurant, Imperial Taste that will give you new experience with various culinary menu.

Please feel free to contact us at 0271 731312 or email us to ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com if you need accommodation in the future.

We looking forward to welcoming you back at The Sunan Hotel, and serve you better.

With our best regards

Indra Wibowo
Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Bali
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Best location, genuine culinary, great hospitality..
My kids very enjoy to stay there..no doubt as the best choices to stay while visit Solo.
Internet connection so fast and with friendly staff, they sincere assist of your requirement during your stay, "Solovely" typically- friendliness of Solo people.
I stayed in Executive Room in new building and I thought that room is right one to have city view.
Just notice if you bring your own vehicle to Front Office, it would be complimentary for in house guest.
My favorite hotel's staff : Mr. Joko Nugroho

Room Tip: please, reserve for Executive Room in New Building and have a city view upper 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RynaRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Ms. Ryen

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

We appreciate you much for taking time to sharing your experience with us, and thank you very much to stay with The Sunan Hotel while having trip to Solo.

We give highest gratitude for your positive comment about us, and we really glad could give the best services for your family. We wish that you can stay with us again in the future, please feel free to contact us at 0271 731312 or email us at ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com.

We looking forward for welcoming you back in the future and give better services for you.

With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
189 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Over our 3 week stay at the Sunan Hotel, we were very pleased with the service, food, staff in all departments, and the size & comfort of our room. We used the small but well-equipped gym each morning, which opens at 6 am (except during Lebaran). There are 3 swimming pools, with the nearly Olympic size one being used regularly by locals who can belong to the "club". Breakfast is a large buffet, with traditional western and Asian style offerings. There are 2 restaurants; we used only the main dining room, and found the offerings delicious. For room service, there is a very minor additional charge.

Our room was large and well equipped, with extras such as hair dryer and ironing equipment supplied on request. There was plenty of storage space, and the bathroom with tub and shower was huge. Bottled water is supplied daily.

The service was excellent, and the staff always friendly. The location is not in the very heart of the downtown, but taxis are easily available and very inexpensive. The pool area is like an oasis out of the city noise.

We would be happy to return to the Sunan!

Room Tip: We requested a pool view, away from the elevator, on highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sande24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Sande,

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you very much for your willingness to sharing experience while staying with us.
We are very glad to hear that you satisfy with our services and would be happy to return to The Sunan again. We highly appreciate your comment and we hope you enjoy all of facilities offered by the hotel.

Please feel free to contact us at 0271 713132 or email to ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com if you need accommodation in the future.

We are looking forward welcoming you back at the Sunan Hotel and serve you better.

With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solo hotels
0.6 mi away
Alila Solo
Alila Solo
#2 of 61 in Solo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
The Alana Solo Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences
1.7 mi away
Novotel Solo
Novotel Solo
#13 of 61 in Solo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Saripetojo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunan Hotel Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunan Hotel Solo

Property: The Sunan Hotel Solo
Address: Jl. Ahmad Yani 40, Solo 57143, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunan Hotel Solo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNAN HOTEL SOLO is The Only Hotel in Solo with World Conference Experiences. A four star hotel accommodation in Solo. Enjoy comfort with the international standard facilities for business & pleasure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sunan Hotel Solo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing