We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap 4 star hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sunan Hotel Solo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Solo
Certificate of Excellence
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cheap 4 star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I say cheap because it cost only USD$40 for 4 star hotel with breakfast if you book online through their website, compare to other 4 star hotel that might cost you up to $60 for the same room.

The staff are very friendly and fast, took me 5 mins only to check in and like 2 mins when check out.

The hotel close to city centre and train station. You can easily find taxi or pedicab around the hotel. If you take pedicab, ask for the price first, otherwise (some of them) will rob you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salahcetak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Tony W, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest ,

Warm Greetings from The Sunan Hotel Solo

Thank you for your precious time to share your valuable review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you took advantages of our facilities and enjoyed your time with our friendly staff. I will shared this with the team specially to our team , I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our product and service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Wishing you all the best

Sincerely,

Daniel Tony Wibowo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    145
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
158
38
26
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel because I need to get to airport to catch my early morning flight. I stayed for 1 nite for Bisniss trip.
Room was clean, nice, bed was comfy.
I hav stayed some hotels at solo, but this one, breakfast was excellent especially for me, one who like indo food.
they took me to the airport for 15 minutes.
Stuff was nice n provide me for a lot of information regarding the hotel.
I will come back to this hotel with my family for vacation because the price is reasonable n room is big, for u who come with kids, this is the rite place.
One thing that u need to consider, this hotel far from main city. But if u hav driver, its ok. For me who live in jakarta, got used to trafic, solo anywhere we go, its close so distance has no issue for me.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik_Swy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arif M, Ecommerce at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Mr. Erik

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing review about our hotel, we really appreciate it much.

Its our pleasure to serving you with our best effort, we give our gratitude for your positive feedback about our rooms and our breakfast menu. Thanks for enjoying our breakfast menu that actually the most complete in town. While, we are very glad hearing your comment that you will visit our hotel again.

Dont hesitate to contact us whenever you need accommodation in the future. We will be very glad to welcoming you back.

Regards

Arif Mardiyanto
Ecommerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed in the hotel with my 2 yo son and my mom for two nights. I didnt want to expect anything since the rate we got during the long weekend was incredibly low..

.... it caught me by surprises..... it was actually a really pleasant stays!

The room was spacious and clean. I had some relatives visiting us during the stay and the space was enough to receive four guests at a time.

The staffs are very, very friendly. I had a very good moment with one of the chefs during morning breakfast. My 82yo mom was requesting for boiled egg and the chef was in hurry rushing back to the kitchen and 10min later showed up with two nice boiled eggs. Wow, he received this request, made it and delivered it by himself. Well done, chef!

Unfortunately my son and I did not have a time to use the swimming pool as we had a tight schedule there.

To me, it was a very good hotel in Solo, well maintained premises and well training staffs.

Room Tip: No mini-mart in the hotel, thus you have to prepare your amenities well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danaprawira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arif M, Ecommerce at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Mr. Dana Prawira

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you very much for sharing your unforgettable experience during staying at our hotel. We really appreciate your positive comment.

As our part to give excellent services toward our guest, we try our best effort to exceed guest expectation. Thank you very much for enjoying weekend with us. Hopefully, your family also feel satisfied with our our facilities too.

If you need accommodation in the future, please feel free to contact us at 0271 731312 or email us at ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com

Its our pleasure to welcoming and serving you again in the future.

Regards

Arif Mardiyanto
Ecommerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

staffs are helpfull, nice pool, good food, nice room, exotice bath room with nice window to bath room. nice interior with many ethnic statue, nice king size bed, the are very serious doing some efforts to make the guest feel comfort...

Room Tip: rooms on the south wing have a good scenery of solo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arif M, Ecommerce at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear pak Imam,

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel

Thank you very much for taking time sharing your experience while staying at our hotel. We highly appreciate your comment.

Hearing your positive comment about our services and facilities obviously encourages us to deliver the best services to our guest. To exceed guest expectation, we always to make improvement as well as create refurbishment for our room, renovate our restaurant and add new meeting rooms.

Please feel free to contact us at 0271 731312 or email us to ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com if you need accommodation in the future.

We will be very glad to welcoming and serving you better in the future.

With our best regards

Arif Mardiyanto
Ecommerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Staff are friendly, polite, and helpful (and the smile they put on their face look so sincere!). I can feel their efforts to make sure that we're comfortable staying at the hotel.

The room we stayed at was clean and well-maintained. The bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast is included and there's a variety of items on the buffet to choose from. The food was well prepared and delicious.

On the first day, we took a cab to drive us around. When we went back to the hotel, the concierge told us that we could just ask them to drop us to our destination. The car and driver arranged for us on the next days were very helpful.

My kids love the pool so much!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enkydenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arif M, Ecommerce at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other traveler while staying at our hotel.

Its our pleasure hearing your positive comment about us. Thank you very much for enjoying our food while staying at our hotel, we have the most complete breakfast menu in town. While, we also open new restaurant that offer different culinary menu at Imperial Taste.

Your comment about our concierge services, obviously support them to work better. We will inform your comment to related department.

We are gladly welcoming you back at The Sunan Hotel Solo and serve you better in the future.

With our best regards,

Arif Mardiyanto
Ecommerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

It was a pleasant stay at The Sunan Solo, with excellent facilities. we really enjoyed all facilities, especially swimming pool, and excellent breakfast.We had a lovely stay at this hotel. We only visited solo to see the the city, we couldn't find much else to do around the place so we were glad that we had a nice hotel with a quiet pool area where we could relax. The food was great This is one of the best hotels I've stayed at for staff friendliness, they were all so genuine and helpful we felt like they really cared and wanted to make sure we had a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arif M, Ecommerce at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you very much for taking time writing review about our hotel. We highly appreciate it, your positive comment obviously important for us.

We would like to express our happiness since you feel satisfy with our services. We highly recommend you to try our new menu at Imperial Taste. They offer delicious oriental food that could impress you too. Thank you for trying our facilities, such as swimming pool and others

We are gladly welcoming you back at the hotel and serving you better in the future.

With our best regards,
Arif Mardiyanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Food is super delicious and so many varieties. What's good is that they provide free airport shuttle eventhough the distance is quite close. Room is clean and comfortable. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Its only lacking is far from restaurants and minimarket.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fresa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arif M, Ecommerce at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Ms. Fresa

Warmest Greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review about our hotel. We obviously appreciate your comment.

Its our pleasure that you feel happy staying with The Sunan Hotel. Thank you for commenting positively about our food. We suggest you to try our modern oriental food at Imperial Taste restaurant, that is very delicious.

As our commitment to provide excellence services, we also offer free airport shuttle for each guest. Hopefully, it could exceed guest expectation.

We are very happy to welcoming you back at the hotel and serve you better in the future.
With our best regards

Arif Mardiyanto
Ecommerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solo hotels
0.5 mi away
Alila Solo
Alila Solo
#1 of 60 in Solo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
The Alana Solo Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences
1.1 mi away
Novotel Solo
Novotel Solo
#9 of 60 in Solo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Saripetojo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunan Hotel Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunan Hotel Solo

Property: The Sunan Hotel Solo
Address: Jl. Ahmad Yani 40, Solo 57143, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunan Hotel Solo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNAN HOTEL SOLO is The Only Hotel in Solo with World Conference Experiences. A four star hotel accommodation in Solo. Enjoy comfort with the international standard facilities for business & pleasure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Booking.com so you can book your The Sunan Hotel Solo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing