We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, tired property”
Review of Lorin Solo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lorin Solo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed in the resort for 1 night and it was a pretty average experience.

The lobby was grand and welcoming, with a cultural performance along the driveway at night. However, wifi access was patchy. My room was on the smaller side, and faced the construction site of the new wing. It was reasonably clean, but the furniture was old and wardrobe space almost non existent. There were many mosquitoes in the room, probably due to the stagnant water around the property. Construction for the new wing continued throughout the night, and the thin windows did not do much to filter out the noise. My room was also a long trek to the lobby.

On the other hand, the staff were all very kind and obliging, and always had a ready smile for the guests. Most spoke excellent English, and were very ready to help. Breakfast consisted of a relatively decent spread.

The hotel is not located in the centre of Solo, but it was a short drive to the airport. Perfect for my morning flight.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

I only stayed for one day at the Lor In, nut I enjoyed it very much. The resort is nog in the city center, hut there are good food opportunities nearby. The resort is spacius, Sith good swimming pool, gardens, and Nice rooms. The room is spacious, with a wooden floor and kolonial details. A big bed where I slept very well. And a good breakfast with a lot of different choices of voor and drinks. In my opinion the best hotel I stayed in on Java.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOlumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

this is the first experience in life, the unmatch experience

1. We were given a key, and surprisingly we entered an occupied room, the guess in the room was upset with us because his wife was sleeping
2. We went back to receptionist and given different room, AGAIN its occupied when we entered the room
3. So we came back to receptionist gave a another room and its occupied AGAIN

How on earth, a hotel like this able to run a business so badly. in summary, the service was bad, the room maangement was bad

we demanded to see the manager during check out and informed no duty manager on that time. how can a hotel has no duty manager in charge?

toilet flush also problem.

after a week or so, finally we received a love letter (read: an apology letter) from them

Room Tip: make sure you get an empty room......and make sure the bathroom works well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandreas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Good location and polite staff ready to help you anytime but this hotel needs a renovation.
The room assigned to us was not used for quite sometimes and you can feel from the smell inside which was populated by mosquitos and a couple of well fed cockroaches!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

For a Resort in Solo, I definitely think its very good. The service could be better, and the food is just okay, but then the city is full of great food just minutes away ! Stayed at the Bagaskoro 3 Bedroom Villa and definitely recommend it to families that want their own space for a getaway. Spacious rooms and living rooms, not too far from the heart of the city and close to the airport as well !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Have recently stayed at the LorIn when I was in Solo for business. The hotel is not actually in Solo proper, more on the outskirts of the city but convenient for the airport, and a short taxi ride from sites in the city. The huge plus for this hotel is the property. It is a sprawling oasis, you can tell it used to be a Sheraton as there is a lot of attention to detail in the construction of the buildings. A number of restaurants, a spa, pool and out bound are on premises.
Check in was efficient. I originally booked a moderate room. This is way back of the property, a good 100m or more walk and woudl not be good for the elderly or people with mobility issues. The moderate room was fairly small and quite basic. I elected to upgrade to the deluxe room, which they didnt have so I was given an executive room for the same price. Much better. I would highly recommend the upgrade it is worth it! The finishings and fittings in the front part of the hotel are much more "luxurious" than the moderate rooms at the back. In my first executive room the AC didnt really work and there was no Wifi connectivity. I was quickly given a new room once they checked the AC and wifi. The staff here are an asset, they are incredibly friendly and helpful. After having had breakfast a couple days I was greeted by name by Dona who got me my omelet each morning without me even having to ask. She was great!! Good selection of Western and Indo dishes and some fresh fruit.
There is an ATM on the corner of the property which was convenient for me as the currency exchange rate offered by the hotel is not good. There is a free shuttle service to the airport.
This is a good hotel, and I would stay here again. However, there are a number of things that prevent it from being a great hotel, and a true 4 star hotel. The hotel is looking tired. It desperately needs to be painted, some of the upholstery needs to be cleaned, and the towels are pretty grey and need to be replaced. Internet connectivity in this hotel is terrible, its difficult to get a signal, it keeps dropping signal and is very slow. Not good when you are here for business. They also ran out of cheese for 2 days and beer for at least 3. These are minor irritations but they add up. It could be a great hotel. I would still stay here again, its good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Love the greenery surrounding, the creek running in the middle of the premises. Love the pool, even the kiddy pool. The minus points are the mosquitoes and some of the rooms are located so far from the main lobby and too many stairs for elderly people, without a service of golf cart for example.

Room Tip: For Older people, better get the premium room that is closer to the main lobby. And for that you mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Licu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solo hotels
2.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Saripetojo
0.1 mi away
Syariah Hotel Solo
Syariah Hotel Solo
#7 of 61 in Solo
406 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alila Solo
Alila Solo
#1 of 61 in Solo
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Sunan Hotel Solo
4.6 mi away
The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
4.4 mi away
Rumah Batu Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorin Solo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorin Solo Hotel

Address: Jl. Adisucipto no. 47, Solo 57143, Indonesia (Formerly Lor In Business Resort and Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Solo
Price Range: £19 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorin Solo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lorin Solo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lor In Business Hotel Solo
Lor In Business Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing