We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ujung Genteng”

Ujung Genteng Beach
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Sukabumi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Beautiful beaches, wildlife, virgin nature.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ujung Genteng”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

You can meet the beautiful view @amanda Ratu Resort. But tis spot tourism need improvement especially in culinary place

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    71
    22
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malaka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not recommended road”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The road is so bad, I couldn't understand why the government didn't repair the road. It takes about 2 hours of really bad road, and all I can do is just keep holding of the bad shock from the car. The people there could not speak Malay or English, and it makes my day worse on Ujung Genteng

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SHabibah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indonesia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“nice and fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Actually I went to Ujung genteng in 2011 (late review)
it took us almost 7 hrs to get to Ujung Genteng. We visited tea plantation along the way, refreshing!
The beaches are not as beautiful as Sawarna, i must say
But I love Cikaso Waterfall whish is located around the neighborhood:)
it was fun as i went there with my buddies. We also went to Turtle beach, it was amazing to watch those turtle laying eggs:)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank c0sm0p0litangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden Paradise for Surfer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I was visited April last year to Ujung Genteng in a group around 20peoples. We in a different type of tour, mostly tour to Ujung Genteng were visited Pangumbahan (turtle conservation), etc. We went to Ombak Tujuh and the most far beaches on Ujung Genteng Area. We went there by ojek and riding 2hours up and down hill, enter the forest and then found a blue beaches with big waves and it can reach 7 meters, thats why they called it "Ombak Tujuh = seven waves". Great place for surfer and for everyone who hungry with the real adventure to find hidden paradise. Since 2 hours one way on motorbike accross the forest and the road was on in a good shape. Full of pain but worth it since you will find beaches with blue water and no tourist. The ojek cost me IDR 150.000 return, and since i was join with group, the whole trip cost me IDR 650.000 include transport from jakarta,homestay, and meals. A lot of homestay on Ujung Genteng with variation of room and facility start from IDR 80.000, so you can choose based on your budget. Don't forget to go to the Cikaso waterfalls too, not too far from Ujung Genteng. Once you arrive on the entrance gate you have to go by small boat to the watrfalls, possible to swim too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Retno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Hard-Core Road Trip, Unforgettable Beach and Turtles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was a long road-trip from Jakarta to Ujung Genteng, 200 km 7 hours drive. We took Sukabumi route when going, and Pelabuhan Ratu route when coming back. The road track of Jakarta - Sukabumi or Pelabuhan Ratu was smooth. After those points, it was winding and bumpy :)) Hard-core, Man! But we enjoyed it thoroughly; beautiful sceneries taking turn. Sukabumi route offered forest view, tea plantation and misty hills from faraway. While Pelabuhan Ratu route added Seaside view at some points, nice ...

Arrived at Ujung Genteng quite late in the afternoon, because we stopped by Cikaso Fall first. Once we entered the entrance gate of Ujung Genteng, the view changed to palm trees, and grassland where cows grazing, with back ground of turquoise blue sea and waves running to the coast. Sooo beautiful!

We drove until Pangumbahan beach, and decided to stay at one simple lodging there, quite close to the Turtle Conservation Centre. The beach in front of our lodging was very beautiful; golden sands, corals spreading along coast line, fishing boats getting ready to sail, some people were fishing on a plain, few hundreds meters from coast line. Surfers were quite many, surfing the Pangumbahan waves. Had a nice chat with some of them, surfers who came from Barcelona-Spain.

Spotted many sea side creatures living in the coast line corals i.e crabs, sea urchins, starfishes, shrimps, whelks … cute!

Sunset was definitely amazing!

Around 5.30 p.m, the Turtle Conservation Centre released baby turtles to the sea. Then starting from 9 p.m, could spot mature turtles starting to lay eggs on the coast sands. A must see!

We had a fabulous dinner of grilled-fresh-salt-water-fish at the seaside, accompanied by the sound of the waves and cool breezing winds. Good appetite, ate a lot, haha!

Dawn broke very early in the morning. Sky was already pinkish around 5.30 a.m. After the high tides during the night, many Porcupinefishes were stranded on the sands. Fishing boats returning from sea, with barrels of fishes, catch of the night. Not too long, all were sold out, mostly to the restaurants owners along coast line.

After a very nice morning coffee on the beach, we started the trip back home. All in all, it was an unforgettable place, Ujung Genteng. Plan to go back soon …

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank n0ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ujung Genteng Beach also viewed

Sukabumi, West Java
Sukabumi, West Java
 
Sukabumi, West Java
 

Been to Ujung Genteng Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing