We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Tunjungan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tunjungan Hotel
Ranked #91 of 138 Hotels in Surabaya
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is is have very good location because right in the centre of surabaya city. The biggest mall tunjungan plaza is right there. Everything is walking distance from here. I don't have chance to try food in this hotel. The room is clean and all is good. The staff is really friendly especially the bell boy or door man.

Room Tip: Don't order orange juice in this hotel. I try order fresh orange juice here, but they give fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Not recommended, i purchase a superior room for one night. the interior is old, AC smells, the window is blind..when i opened the window i saw a construction site and a water processing facility and it was noisy. overall not recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Oki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I think, this hotel need full renovations, u will find some crack in building, some lift button need repair. The best point this hotel is near Tunjungan Plaza (one of mall at Surabaya).

For service, I thinks good (from reception until room service) but u can't access internet in your room. This facility only found in Lobby Area.

Room is clean and big but I think too big with little furniture. AC in room is AC Central. Bathroom clean and even its old hotel but all facility in bathroom still good

Breakfast taste is average (normally Indonesian Food) and Restaurant in the second floor just same (average too).

For transportation, u don't worry coz there're taxis available 24/7.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andhika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is by far the worst four star hotel I have ever stayed! Such an old fashioned hotel with NO four star experiences. The room was so stuffed and full ow wooden panels that made the room almost dark. The internet connection was wonky on the room. What's even worst? They got only ONE plug for each room! The only thing is the location, which is nearby Tunjungan Plaza. Complete disappointment for choosing this old fashioned hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Givary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I was a little worried after booking when i read some reviews but i now have my own opinion of this hotel after my short trip to Surabaya.
The hotel rooms are very big and i fully understand the need for an update to facilities and renovations but all in all i had a comfy stay and would stay again.
The lobby and reception areas and restaurants are fantastic and the staff very friendly and welcoming 10/10 for this. The tours desk and car hire again very good and good prices. I hired a car and driver for 650,000 rp all inclusive for 12 hours and went everywhere. The driver was fantastic. 10/10 here too. The rooms need the upgrade but still comfortable and suited my needs. Ok the tv is a box one but who cares, it still works well and has all the channels but im not there to watch tv anyway, 6/10. The bathrooms have had their glory days and still look good if a little outdated. The only thing i could fault is the shower head needs replacing but that seems to be normal in 99% of hotels all across Indonesia.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jason1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Pros:
- Great location, I give 9/10.
Literally in the middle of Surabaya's business district. Easy to find and taxis are available 24/7. Right beside one of Surabaya's famous mall, so it's a great location for shopping manias.

- Polite staffs, scores 9/10 on my valuation.
Needless to say more.

Cons:
- Crampy Parking. VERY crampy, 3/10.
- The building is pretty old, so some of the rooms need some work, 5/10, hope you lucky enough to get the good ones.

Additional comments:
Food is so-so, for the room service and breakfast buffet (6/10), but the restaurant is pretty good (7.5/10).
Be prepared to hear excess sounds from a pub nearby, just beside the hotel, level 6 or 7 of Tunjungan Plaza.

Room Tip: If you're not smoking, choose the non-smoking room, somehow it's cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi_Huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Our family plan for a short trip weekend to visit Surabaya, and decided to choose this hotel as recomendation from Travel Agent, consider the closest to shopping mal. we believe to stay at 4 star hotel (as stated) would be best choice for family travel. In fact we have to keep away our satisfaction experience, it is way to be rated at 4 star hotel. start from the service of reception, we have to proactive asking facilities and benefit, otherwise you'll be treat as stranger visitor !
Our room was given a twin bed instead, as we confirm with travel agent to have comfortable king bed, so we take the room of necessity. Assign into the floor with corridor ceiling cover by styrofoam, its fire hazardous material, and it is located in smoking floor. The noise boomng sound is coming inside the room where we found that our room just accross the discotheques, another headache and couldn't sleep well at all.
Head shower position too low for height 170cm, as we dont have much time to soak in a bath tub
Worst part when we took breakfast, its totally non star menu and presentation, all food was cold, oily and damp omelette, and rubbery bread roll. No cracker as they serve Indonesia menu. Enough with this dissatisfaction and dissapointed, we leave the hotel earlier and find good menu for breakfast outside the hotel. If we are not considering the location, we would Rather to stay at nearest other hotel next time

Room Tip: If you plan to stay this hotel, ask to get the room far from discotheques location, get your own bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MasJ-S39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Inna Tunjungan
Grand Inna Tunjungan
#60 of 138 in Surabaya
88 reviews
0 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#2 of 138 in Surabaya
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleo Business Hotel
Cleo Business Hotel
#83 of 138 in Surabaya
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#21 of 138 in Surabaya
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Horison Suites Surabaya
Horison Suites Surabaya
#61 of 138 in Surabaya
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Varna Culture Hotel Soerabaia
Varna Culture Hotel Soerabaia
#63 of 138 in Surabaya
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunjungan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunjungan Hotel

Address: 102-104 Tunjungan Street, Surabaya 60011, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range: £25 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunjungan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tunjungan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunjungan Hotel Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing