We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearby to Gubeng Station but poor room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sparkling Backpacker Hotel
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nearby to Gubeng Station but poor room”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The best part of this hostel is the location is 5 minutes away to train station. So if you're heading to Jogja and Bandung this will be easy. At night, in front of the hostel there is a hawker selling fried rice and also coffee stall. Surabaya Plaza also is just nearby to hostel.

In terms of room, it was quite damp and the floor is is not well mop and i can saw a bulk of hairs while i check in.The hostel and stairs is still under renovations with the dim light all the way.
The toilet is on sharing basis and not well maintained & clean.
Its hard to find channel on the tv itself.
The good thing, the wifi is really good.

They also provide free breakfast which is fried mi and coffee. since it was included, it it edible enough for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    6
    10
    14
See reviews for
2
7
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Really a deceiving horrible hotel, until now they are still under renovation, narrow stairs half way renovate,
The room floor are sticky god know why, they don't clean the bathroom, and the bathroom lamp was off and my friend need to scolded them to make them fix it. Don't think to watch tv coz there's only tv without channel and you need to struggle to turn it on. No windows and the room light are dim. You can practically heard what your neighbor doing. The breakfast basically served in front of my room, they put dining table there,, and i don't dare to eat it,,sigh,, few room only,
The receptionist didn't really help and do not wish someone will help you to bring your luggage, yes you need to bring it to your room yourself!
No hot water but luckly the water not that cold.
1 good thing only the wifi quite good, and that's it , that's all.

Room Tip: no tip to give coz it's practically nothing to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mayang89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surabaya hotels

Alassio, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

The room so called ..suite.. Is dirty smelly old, rats outside door, geckos inside, toilet downstairs, breakfast poor, all floors in mess renovation.. And staff strange! The only pro is wi-fi...working well and fast. Location is ok near Gubeng station and Surabaya Plaza but nothing special! Dont come you will find better place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank IlMark69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The only advantage of the hotel is location - just 5 mins to the railway station. Our room was called "deluxe"!, but it was very poor, without window, with mould on walls, very humid! the breakfast meant 2 slices of bread and dirty jam jar. We cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knapiki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandakan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Service and location is excellent.
But the room is like never ever be swept or mob or clean. Filthy!
I felt this ichiness on the bed, consistently, either mosquitoes or lices!
Expensive! The towels smell!

Room Tip: The most expensive one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SepilokfFui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed at this place in May 2012 for a short visit to Surabaya. Location is great as it is close to train station & shopping mall. Hotel even helped me to buy train tickets in advance. Clean & comfortable rooms, now should be better as renovation is completed. Highlight of my experience at this hotel is the manager really went the extra mile to send back to me my one luggage that i accidentally left at the hotel. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LimJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newman, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This place was filthy, and I've stayed in $1 places all around Asia. This place failed to impress from the moment we arrived when the staff didn't speak English and walked us up to the room carrying our towels but not offering to help with the numerous small bags we had, up a filthy, chipped, cigarette butt covered stair case. The room smelt overwhelmingly like urine, which isn't surprising as the bathroom had only a cold shower, no toilet, and the toilet (downstairs) was caked in urine and mounted up on a step so that if you're girl, you can't even manage to 'hover' above the disease-on-a-seat facility. The sheets felt oily and had hair on them. It was also noisy all night. The only thing to recommend this place is that its cheap and close to Gubeng Station, but I left feeling like someone should have paid me to endure a night there. Next time, I'd sleep at the train station before I stayed at "Sparkling".

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RedDirtWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
1.2 mi away
The Life Hotels City Center
The Life Hotels City Center
#87 of 134 in Surabaya
58 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Planet Surabaya
Red Planet Surabaya
#11 of 134 in Surabaya
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO Gubeng
Hotel NEO Gubeng
#33 of 134 in Surabaya
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Prime Royal Hotel Surabaya
Prime Royal Hotel Surabaya
#83 of 134 in Surabaya
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
G Suites Hotel by AMITHYA
G Suites Hotel by AMITHYA
#26 of 134 in Surabaya
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loxy Inn
Loxy Inn
#12 of 42 in Surabaya
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Backpacker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Backpacker Hotel

Property: Sparkling Backpacker Hotel
Address: Jln. Kayun, Surabaya 60271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Sparkling Backpacker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Backpacker Hotel Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing