We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, at not the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Ranked #37 of 136 Hotels in Surabaya
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is good, the service, the building, the room. The breakfast was okay. The only cons is that the hotel is located not at the best location. Almost no interesting sightseeing accesible by foot around. but it's a good option if you have a transportation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ignatius Untung S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I'm a local, and have been a member of the Novotel gym & pool for over 2 years. Overall the management for the gym and pool is very bad. For two years, there have been many incidents when the gym is not open yet during operational hours because the staff was late. Many of the lockers and padlocks in the gym are broken. We have to do self-service every morning (i.e. get our own towels, etc) because the staff isn't there. The pool is often dirty and not well maintained. I've complained to the Gym's manager, Mrs. Isna, several times, but there's no significant improvement.

Recently, it got much worse. Just on the 30th of June, I went to the pool, and it was very dirty. I don't know for how long already, because I hadn't been there for more than 3 weeks. The next day, July 1st, it was closed for 3 days for maintenance. On Friday, July 4th, it was open, but still remained very dirty a 3-day maintenance. What kind of maintenance was that? Saturday, July 5th, still no improvement. I've complained to the staff on June 30th, July 1st, July 4th, and July 5th.

And today, July 7th, the pool is closed again. And this time, they don't know for how long. What kind of a 4-star hotel is this? They gym staff finally told me to complained to reception, which I did just now. None of the receptionist know when it will be fixed, and they kept asking one another, for almost 30 minutes. I finally asked to speak to the manager.

One of the managers finally came out, Mr. Yanu. He sang the same tunes, that they don't know how long it will take to fix the pool, because it just happened yesterday. Which is not true, since the pool have been having problems for at least 1 week, that I know of. And over the course of more than 2 years, there had been many problems as well. When I said I'm going to put a negative review of the hotel on social media & Internet, if it's not solved quickly, he said, go ahead and do it. So I'm doing it now. This is the most ridiculous answer that I've ever got from a hotel manager in response to a complain. Not hospitable at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceTan2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Surabaya, General Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Ibu Gracetan,

First of all, I thank you for being a member of Fitness Centre at Novotel Surabaya.
I am very sorry to hear that you have experienced unpleasant situation at our Fitness Centre and Swimming pool.

Referring to your comment about the service at Fitness Centre, I would like to inform you that our Fitness Centre is managed by outside company and we already complained to them about those matters. They already changed some of their staff and made some improvement.
At the moment we are in process for reviewing their performance for the contract continuation.

About the condition of our Swimming Pool, we already made some actions to solve the problem. In the process of improvements we need to do analysis many times and it will take some times to determine the root cause of the problem. From those actions finally we found mechanical problem and some leaks on the reliefs at the pool, therefore we have to close the pool for 1 week. By this closing we hope that all the problems can be repaired thoroughly and the swimming pool return to the normal condition.

Once again, on behalf of Management and Team Novotel Surabaya, I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused and thank you for the time to share your concerns as an encouragement to continuously improve our quality and service.

Best regards,
Djulkarnain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel several time. One of the reason as I am member of Accorhotel and easy to make reservation. Hotel staffs are helpful and friendly. Breakfast choices and tate are fine. Lobby are is a bit small. I like the room facing the Pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darnel-HDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We (my parents and i) had a good deal for 2 rooms (king size bed) to stay there on our way from Makassar to mt ijen and mt bromo.

The room were nice with a big shower.
Very quiet (we were not facing in the pool direction)
The wifi was working well.

The breakfast was good:
- some small bakery (muffins, croissant, donut)
- a lot of local food
- fruits
- scrambled eggs
- yogurt
- A good coffee machine for various coffee
- you can have your breakfast seating by the pool

On the minus side of the breakfast: - it was taking time to get the juice dispenser, the bakery to be refilled.
So keep your eyes open not to miss when they bring new ones.
- we also had to go get ourself the cutlery in the drawer as there was not any on the table outside.

No big deal though. The staff is friendly. I guess they were just a bit understaffed


Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stoufensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

To be fair we got a good deal on Agoda.com to stay here, but that said the hotel is long overdue for refurbishment. We had a one bedroomed apartment - lots of things didn't work and it wasn't that clean. (Which probably accounted for why we stayed for $50- a night!)

The pool area was good. Dining was very average and expensive (by many Indonesian standards).

Would we stay here again - probably not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingletons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

One of those oldish hotels with character. Pre-booked checking in was efficient by friendly staff. The lobby area was small with limited seating (most of the space taken up by staircase, etc) with a bar/café attached. The ground floor room was very spacious and clean and the bathroom and shower cubicle was roomy too. For a change the mini fridge in this hotel was well stocked and NOT locked like at many hotels these days. Nice to have lots of lightings too and the AC was pretty strong. Free WiFi but can be slow at times. Breakfast was reasonable with a decent selection but for only 1 unlike at most star hotels. Being on the lower floor expect to find a mossie or 2 in the room.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room not facing the pool area (unless you are a late sleeper and early riser...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regulartripster2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank LizaKusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#27 of 136 in Surabaya
680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#18 of 136 in Surabaya
383 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Surabaya
Wyndham Surabaya
#43 of 136 in Surabaya
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Surabaya
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#3 of 136 in Surabaya
819 reviews
1.6 mi away
HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Gubeng Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites

Address: Jl. Ngagel no. 173-175, Surabaya 60246, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range: £29 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites is a 4 star hotel conveniently located in the main business district of Surabaya. For business trips and holidays, this hotel is the perfect destination, offering conference facilities, a fitness centre, outdoor pool, tennis courts, activities and Dolfi Kids Club. Our 209 well appointed rooms offer comfort and convenience. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant, or relax and unwind in one of our two bars. This is not just a business hotel, but a holiday resort in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Surabaya Hotel Surabaya
Surabaya Novotel
Novotel Surabaya Hotel And Suites Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing