We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Ranked #34 of 136 Hotels in Surabaya
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Fast check in, friendly and helpful staff, spacious room and good wi-fi, and simple but nice breakfast. The only minus is that the hotel has no lift though the hotel provides porter service to help with your luggages.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farida_abdkadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

There is no Novotel anywhere, like the one in Surabaya. During the week and weekends, all public spaces get 'privatised' - rented for events and weddings. Swimming pool is an eternal construction site: podiums for events are being constructed and decomposed almost every day. Coolies are smoking, often throwing buts to water. They stare at female guests and insult foreigners, calling them 'blue' (albino).

I got severe food poisoning after eating at local restaurant, one that took many weeks to cure.

Reception staff is arrogant, most of the staff is incompetent. To complain is pointless.

Apartments do not have safe boxes. I had been robbed of $500, money that had been later reimbursed, but still, the entire experience was disgusting.

With extensive green areas in the middle of the hotel (green areas and parks are desperately lacking in all Indonesian cities), this could have been very nice property. But the hotel is terribly managed and staff is not trained at all, or trained very poorly.

I spent 5 weeks in this hotel (in one bedroom apartment), and left with destroyed stomach, traumatised by racist insults of the workers, and disgusted by the theft.

As it is now, this hotel should be avoided by all means.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

by stay in Novotel Surabayam then you won't feel in big and tall modern hotel. You will seen the traditional one and has own specific character building. Many trees outside and inside make us comfortable with kind services from hotel's employee.

Room Tip: rooms on north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Abhiseka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retno_Dwi_H, Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Abhisekatour,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at All Seasons Jakarta Thamrin. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
Retno DH
General Affair Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank wahyudi w
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Retno_Dwi_H, Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tengku_Acil
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Retno_Dwi_H, Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 August 2014

On the last day of our trip to Surabaya, we decided to stay in Novotel Surabaya. Honestly, we didn't have a clue about the hotel because the relatives we know stayed in this hotel nearly 10 years ago. Well, she said it was a good hotel, but over 10 years it may be getting old now, especially after the fire happened few years ago to their lobby area. Anyway, why worry, we just gave it a go.

The night we arrived there after our long trip from Malang, from a distance the hotel looks warm and secluded. Dropped the bags in the lobby, the staff offered me a nearby parking spot. Check-in process was fast and delightful. The female staff got a conversation with our kids and the other informed us about the hotel facility.

Enter the room, moment of truth. Wow, it's great. We were expecting an old looking room with some sort of aging furniture, but we were completely wrong. With around $50 per night, the room answered our worry beyond our expectation.

In the morning, we were amazed once more by the scenery around the hotel. The pool, especially, is surrounded with a lush of green which is something we love so much. The kids can stay in the children pool within the shade of the big tree and it comes with a 25 mtr slide for kids. The adult pool looks also great and we took around 70 photos around the pool as our lovely memory closing our trip to Surabaya.

PS: the only comment we could make is a bit of murky water due to great number of visitor for the past week as this was school holiday period. Other than this, we will definitely come back to this hotel for our next trip to Surabaya.

Room Tip: Try your luck to get a room on the Ground floor facing the pool. You'll love the scenery in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Septianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sukirman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#30 of 136 in Surabaya
702 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Surabaya
1.9 mi away
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
#35 of 136 in Surabaya
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#18 of 136 in Surabaya
403 reviews
2.2 mi away
Garden Palace Hotel
Garden Palace Hotel
#47 of 136 in Surabaya
284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Java Paragon Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites

Address: Jl. Ngagel no. 173-175, Surabaya 60246, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range: £29 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites is a 4 star hotel conveniently located in the main business district of Surabaya. For business trips and holidays, this hotel is the perfect destination, offering conference facilities, a fitness centre, outdoor pool, tennis courts, activities and Dolfi Kids Club. Our 209 well appointed rooms offer comfort and convenience. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant, or relax and unwind in one of our two bars. This is not just a business hotel, but a holiday resort in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Surabaya Hotel Surabaya
Surabaya Novotel
Novotel Surabaya Hotel And Suites Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing