We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deservedly the best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
Ranked #1 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Deservedly the best in town”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

When you walk into the hotel you know that you are in for something special. Apart from the stylish architecture and the history of the place the atmosphere is welcoming as, indeed, are the staff. Although it is in a busy area once inside the hotel there is tranquility, peace and efficiency---just avoid rooms too near the road.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
My team and I thank you for your encouraging comments. We are working hard but with a good spirit to make our hotel better day by day. Great reviews like your indicate that we are on the right track to deliver ever improving service to our guests.
Thank you!
George Hazard / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    201
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
135
264
70
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel has my highest recommendation for Surabaya. The staff are friendly, the historical grounds are amazing.

I booked two rooms, both executive suites. Room 009 is quite nice and very close to the entrance which is good as the hotel grounds are quite large. Room 029 was a little smaller and did not suit our needs so we upgraded to the Presidential suite for about one hundred USD more a night. Well worth it. The room is massive and has a separate bedroom with views of the pool. The bellman told us the story how our room was the room that the owner would stay in when he visited.

The hotel has so much history which adds to its charm. In the lobby is a unique photo of Charlie Chaplain sitting at a table which is still here today.

The spa service is very affordable, I have been going once a day. The ginger chai tea is the best I have ever had.

Breakfast in the morning is quite good, huge selection of food items and included in the room costs.

We will surely stay here again if we are in Surabaya, really fantastic stay so far.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertholf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Great comments! I see that the upgrade to a Majapahit Suite has fulfilled your expectations. We would love to have you again at the Grande Dame very soon...
Till next time!

George Hazard / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My favorite hotel in Indonesia. Have stayed there maybe ten times, starting in 1978. Certainly for the money, it's way ahead of other hotels. Food quality is not up to the level it should be Breakfast is fine, but room service is sketchy. Other than that, best value, always feel good staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeerLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for your very nice review! We were voted the "Favorite Hotel in Indonesia" by a jury of travelers who elected the Majapahit for their top choice in Indonesia. This has been possible thanks to people like you who have expressed their genuine opinion about our dear hotel.
Thanks a million!

George Hazard / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After reading many reviews about this hotel from Trip Advisor, we were finally decided to stay in this hotel. We are glad and having a great time while we stayed here. Hotel Majapahit itself is a truly classic landmark resort, a source of national pride and history that blends romance and elegance. The Majapahit itself has gone by a variety of names over its long story. This hotel was build in 1910 as Oranje Hotel under management of Lucas Martin Sarkies, member of the famous Armenian Sarkies family whose collection of grand hotels include The Raffles in Singapore, the Strand in Rangon and Eastern and Oriental in Penang, Malaysia (I guess everyone knows about the Sarkies family already who own many large hotel around the world). This hotel is located in the heart of Surabaya. Surabaya itself is Indonesia's 2nd largest city and the capital of the East Java. This hotel is in the center of the business district, government offices and the largest shopping mall in Surabaya. From this hotel, you can just walk around 5 minute to go to the nearest big mall, Tunjungan Plaza. The staffs are friendly and helpful too. Breakfast was good with a wide range of Asian and Western food. We stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights in Garden Terrace room with a beautiful garden view. It's really gorgeous view especially in the evening. Our favorite thing to do (while we stayed here) was sitting in our terrace with a cup of tea or coffee and enjoyed the view. And yes, we did it everyday. Take a time to walk around this hotel. You will the beauty of this hotel itself. I know that other people will have a different experience, but this hotel is just a perfect hotel for us and we will come back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your great review!. We do not usually pay too much attention to awards and prizes but thanks to persevering encouraging reviews like yours the Majapahit has won consistently the "best hotel in Surabaya" award and the "Favorite Hotel in Indonesia" award...
It is a great privilege for our team to thank you and we hope that you will be our guests again very soon!

George Hazard / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here based on previous trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel is located in a set of stunning historical buildings with lovely grounds. It is like a mix of Javanese and colonial and has a very interesting history. I stayed in a executive suite which included lovely spacious room with separate sitting area and small personal balcony facing on to main area. The bathroom was large with nice deep bath and separate shower. Toiletries a little generic but I usually use my own anyway. The bed was comfortable with a plethora of super lovely down pillows. Robes, slippers etc provided as well as easy to use in room safe. Internet was free and reliable (for Indonesia). There is mini bar but it only included beer and soft drink. This was disappointing as something about the grounds makes you want a gin! 24 hour room service is freely available. There was a nice turn down service provided too.

The day spa is lovely and very well worth a visit. It is much more expensive for day treatments than local places but it is such gorgeous surroundings and still a bargain for westerners (about $50 USD for a two hour spa treatment).

The breakfast (included) is comprehensive with a mix of Asian and western food including egg and pancake station. The bread was a little stale on the first day though. There is a patisserie on site too but the red velvet cake disappointing (maybe because I was expecting it to be as lovely as the rest of the hotel. I’d recommend instead going to local markets and exploring the Indonesian dessert delights. I ate at the restaurant at night and was a little less impressed. There is a Chinese seafood fine dining place upstairs and I wished I tried that.

Overall it is a lovely lovely hotel and I was very disappointed to be leaving and will definitely be back. The only downside was I left my iphone charger at the airport by mistake. Most 5 star hotels would have a back up for patrons in emergencies but this one didn’t and the reception wasn’t very forthcoming with help. The only other comment is that it doesn't feel as quite as authentic Indonesia. Clearly they market to the very well to do but lovely all the same.

POWER PLUG: it is worth noting the hotel uses UK power sockets (Three prong square type) rather than the usual 2 pronged round Indonesian ones.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAussieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your very comprehensive review and your invaluable comments.I have put my team to work on all issues raised and we will make a proper action plan to find suitable answers and correct/improve our services. Very glad to read that you will come back to visit us... so hopefully we will get a chance to impress you more...
Thanks!
George Hazard / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Actually I have ever stayed here once couple years ago with my family, but my father was their repeat guest. We love to stay here, because of its classic, historical and lavish building. The best part is the gold platted materials. It reminds me of one of the fancy hotels in France. I LOVE IT! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADTodani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Nice comments! Thank you so much for staying with us... we hope to see you again very soon!
George Hazard / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

....but thats what i like. The staff in this hotel, the service, the location.....i wish i could live in this hotel for lifetime.
Of course it is not perfect but everyone there is doing his best to make a perfect stay. I have to say thank you to all the people working there and making me feel good.

The small things that need to be better will be done sooner or later, i am sure about that. Even Rome was not build in one day.

I have been to several hotels in Indonesia...all 5 stars. From my point of view this one was simply the best of all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at the Majapahit. We take good note of your comments and will keep improving our services. We want to keep the authenticity of our hotel and valuable comments like yours show that we are moving in the right direction.
Great! Thank you!
George Hazard / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 134 in Surabaya
783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#4 of 134 in Surabaya
316 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
#3 of 134 in Surabaya
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Surabaya Hotel & Towers
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
#10 of 134 in Surabaya
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
#12 of 134 in Surabaya
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels

Property: Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
Address: Jl. Tunjungan no. 65, Surabaya 60275, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Family Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majapahit is a historic luxury hotel in Surabaya, Indonesia. The hotel was founded in 1910 as Hotel Oranje by Lucas Martin Sarkies. During the Japanese occupation of Indonesia the hotel name was changed to Yamato Hotel. Mantrust Holdings Co. became the new owner in 1969 and it was named after the most enduring kingdom of ancient Indonesia. In 1993 it was formerly operated by the Mandarin Oriental group. PT. Sekman Wisata took over the hotel and changed the name to HOTEL MAJAPAHIT in 2006. Located on Jalan Tunjungan in Indonesia's largest city and capital to East Java, the hotel is located in the centre of Surabaya, close to businesses, government offices and the largest shopping district in Surabaya. HOTEL MAJAPAHIT is trully and oasis in the heart of Surabaya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Surabaya
Surabaya Mandarin Oriental
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya Managed By AccorHotels Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing