We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya(Surabaya)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveller rating
638
222
35
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
222
35
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindigo restaurantbeautiful hotelcolonial stylecharlie chaplinindonesian historygarden terracebygone eraimmaculate gardensart decopresidential suitemandarin orientalbusy cityclassic hoteltunjungan plazamount bromochinese restauranteast java
Filter
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 911 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This is a historic hotel in Surabaya . Do not miss out on staying here. It is affordable, meticulously maintained, and historically preserved. It is a special oasis in the center of the city. Once you enter inside you are in a totally special world. Stayed in a pool suite on a getaway with hubby and was delighted at the room. huge, beautiful and staff that was knowledgeable and helpful. Spa treatment was also first class. If you ever are in Surabaya, stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JavaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

The hotel in Mt. Bromo was basic, so this was a real pleasant shock. We stayed he one night recovering from the Volcano, before catching a flight onwards.

We were given a free room upgrade, and they brought us a "Happy Honeymoon" cake. The room was splendid, with lots of luxurious furnishings. Service was very good, and we ordered some cocktails in the hotel lobby/lounge which were very enjoyable.

The pool is very good, and the grounds are very pretty. We didn't book into the spa in time to use it (we left early the next morning) but it looked professional. Which is all just as well since the rest of Surabaya looks even worse than Jakarta - you want to stay cocooned in the hotel and never leave.

WiFi signal in the room was patchy, and they have a crazy permissioning system which left me phoning the front desk for new access codes every time we lost wifi signal. There were mozzies outside, so although the signal was better, it was not pleasant.

The buffet breakfast was good - pretty much anything you can think of was here; I ate a LOT.

Would definitely go back to Majapahit if I'm in/near Surabaya again. I wouldn't go to Surabaya just to stay in the hotel though.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Stayed in Majapahit for a business trip and I must say, the experience has beed fantastic. In the busy city of Surabaya, Hotel Majapahit offers a breathtaking experience. Rich in history.

Hotel personnel is friendly and helpful. This is one place you would feel like home away from home. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerSCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This grand old hotel has still alot going for it. It is a quiet haven from the fast paced activity outside. It does not have a pub/nightclub, but that is also nice, adding to the serene quality of the establishment. Dinner in the main restaurant was very nice albeit comparatively expensive. The breakfast buffet was a little lacking in choice and imagination.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edcanstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Behind an unprepossessing façade, the Majapahit is an oasis of colonial charm set in delightful gardens away from the bustle of Surabaya. Huge rooms have partitioned sitting areas and stylish décor to recreate tempoe doeloe (times past), when this was one of South-East Asia’s top hotels. This is still Indonesia’s finest colonial era hotel, with a great pool, well-equipped gym, spa, good restaurants and service, all for bargain basement rates when booked through online agencies. The position is central and Surabaya’s biggest mall, the Tunjungan Plaza, is just a short walk away. Perhaps the only negative is that the room was a little musty and due for a spring clean, but this hotel oozes character and is terrific value for the quality.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thanksalotyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews