We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
Ranked #13 of 138 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

this is my second stay at bumi surabaya hotel. My first stay was about 3 or 4 years ago, when the name of the hotel was still hyatt.

i like this hotel. their services is good, interior look well maintained, and its smell wonderful.

i got corporate rate here, so price
per value is quite good.

i have difficulties reaching the entrance, need 2 times passing basuki rahmat street until finally i found the entrance. Waze got it wrong, there were not back entrance to this hotel, again, the only entrance is through basuki rahmat street not street behind the hotel.

The internet is slow, download speed is about 70-100kb/s, its really slow. Higher speed internet is available with extra charge.

overall its pleasant stay

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank WahyuKrido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Checked in the hotel at 11pm and was still welcome by the reception with great enthusiasm. Check in process was swift. Room was big, bathroom has both shower stand and bathtub with complete basic amenities. Room service was efficient and I was served with my order within 15 minutes. The only set back was iron and ironing board are available upon request only; I find this rather inconvenient though. I requested for a set and was told that all sets were loan out and I was left with no other solution. The hotel serves excellent breakfast especially with its local food in traditional presentation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurhudaaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Staying at Bumi Surabaya Hotel as family with young children for short vacation at Surabaya before heading for other city with its promotional rate at IDR 850,000net incl breakfast and internet access. Considering the experience we had during our stay, the price is very worth.

The hotel atmosphere is really a nice break from hot and busy Surabaya. Entering the hotel is something like entering the other side of Surabaya city. The green lust tropical garden with some water fountains and ponds with many big Koi fishes is really relaxing. I must admit that previous comments regarding the fragrant on lobby, the room quality and , the garden are very true, and indeed the real situation is much better that what is described.

Breakfast is served at restaurant bellow, and guest may choose the garden restaurant (means that you have breakfast among tress or inside the Chinese restaurant. The breakfast are great, both in variety and taste. One of the hotel breakfast taste ever. Based on the menu served at breakfast, I would expect that the lunch and dinner menu will be very good. Unfortunately we do not have a chance to taste them. I bet with the rate of IDR 179000++ /pack for dinner will be very worth, much more with their promo discount of 30%.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The staff is well trained to handle the small kids in nice way. There is of course always be a room for improvement but so far their staff has done a very good job.

Some note from my experience was that the drainage on bathroom was not working very well, and apparently also the drainage on pool washing area. The swimming pool has outdoor heated whirlpool which is very nice if only it being cleaner, and also the fact that there is no dedicated pool for young kids.

For Bumi Surabaya, we would be glad to come back as their guest on our next visit to Surabaya.

Room Tip: If you expect to stay in the room on afternoon, ask for room that is facing west. The curtain is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank id02910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Both local or foreigner would be love to stay in this hotel. Warm fragrant of cinamons and spices smells so great..very relaxing.
Appreciate of the culture touch in the room, classic. Very comfy bedroom and bathroom as well. In addition, breakfast was also great, delicious foods and food location concepts

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank ShadzaMulya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had a chance to finally stay here by a friend's courtesy. I stayed in Club Room, well although some rooms look a bit tired but I heard they are working on a renovation bit by bit. Don't get me wrong their room are not run down by any means, they are still in 5* quality.

The service was very good. Being in Club Room I can enjoy the facilities including the snacks/drinks and personalized services at Club Lounge. The buffet breakfast downstairs is excellent but sometimes very crowded as I also need to enjoy breakfast in a quiet ambient sometimes.

I heartily recommend Bumi Surabaya, do not get fooled with the local management, even after the international chain decided to pull out few years ago, most of the staffs have been with them for many years so the DNA of service excellence is still there!

Just keep up the good work, pay attention to small details to each room, I know it is not easy to manage a hotel building with more than 10 years.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kongco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I regularly return to this hotel this is my third visit after along while.

Halo Mr Sigit Suryawan how are you? they still know me and serve me well, and in the morning they allowed me to have a breakfasts at the business lounge as a honored guess.

I'm very pleased of the services, this hotel is really recommended for business travelers, they had a good business center, educated staff.

breakfast is good and tasty, room and linen are clean, the bathroom is good and clean.

well recommend this to be the first hotel that you have to stay while at Surabaya.

thanks

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sigit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We glad that we have chosen Bumi over Shangri-La. Bumi offer a truly Indonesian (Javanese) from the moment you arrive. I simply love the local food selection for breakfast and dinner at the Siti Inggil (Pasar Malam). As Indonesian who grew up in Surabaya that well known for the good food, Bumi help to satisfied my taste bud during my holiday.

The service is superb, no complaint as all. My husband who's an American and have been traveled a lot, was impress with the service quality of this hotel.

Hotel room is spacious and bathroom is great. We stayed at high floor corner room, the view is fantastic.

The garden is beautiful, especially the 3rd floor garden near the swimming pool. My husband love the sauna as he described as the best sauna (no moldy smell, spacious, great flooring, perfect temperature). Although we didn't use the gym, the number of equipment and diversification is amazing for a hotel gym.

The only feedback to the hotel that some refurbishment is needed for the hotel room as few area have some wear and tear. The aircon has slight moldy smell but it's common for hotel / apartment over 5 years.

Definitely going to return to stay at Bumi in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bufchoc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#3 of 138 in Surabaya
887 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Surabaya Hotel & Towers
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
#9 of 138 in Surabaya
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Surabaya
0.8 mi away
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
#10 of 138 in Surabaya
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Surabaya City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Surabaya City Resort

Address: Jl. Basuki Rachmad 106 - 128, Surabaya 60271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#4 Family Hotel in Surabaya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Surabaya
#10 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#11 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range: £43 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bumi Surabaya City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Surabaya City Resort is an elegant city resort in the heart of the city just 30 minutes from the airport. It incorporates a charming garden with mature trees and waterways to calm the senses amidst the hustle and bustle of downtown Surabaya. The city resort anticipates the needs of business and leisure travelers alike with an extensive array of meeting and recreational facilities. Accommodation is a total of 242 contemporary rooms and suites styled with subtle references to Java's rich artistic heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bumi Surabaya City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Surabaya
Surabaya Hyatt Regency
Bumi Surabaya City Resort Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing