We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horison Suites Surabaya
Ranked #50 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Snohomish, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel allowed for a very peaceful stay for me. The atmosphere was relaxing and inviting. The staff was polite and helpful. The breakfast buffet was great! It also backs up to a mall, for those with extra money and in need of something. Considering that this is a place in a third-world country, you will be living like a king compared to the rest of the country.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    93
    64
    18
    5
See reviews for
40
21
16
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The spacious rooms at SPH both surprised and impressed me. Everything was exceptionally clean and in perfect working order. The hotel is in a great part of the city, near a large mall and many attractions that appeal to visitors. It is also located less than a kilometre from the train station, convenient for those arriving from nearby cities. Although they also have a fitness center, swimming pool and massage center on the premises, I was too busy with work to test these out firsthand.

Management and staff spoke great English and were very attentive of all my needs. The room included a TV with tons of channels, including premium movie channels like HBO in English. The wifi in the room worked good as well, but when I got too close to the windows (exterior of the building) I did notice it would lag.

Breakfast is an extensive buffet offering a variety of Indonesian dishes and of course the traditional western dishes as well. Want a custom omelet? Just ask the chef and you'll have it in minutes. Definitely the best breakfast I've had at any hotel recently! Speaking of food, they also have a special dish at their Cafe Taman called Nasi Goreng Jancuk that is both delicious and devilishly spicy. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek-Wanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, went for a convention held nearby. Great location, as it is just beside a shopping mall. Just a 5 mins taxi to the convention centre.

For the price paid, not to have too high expectations.
Rooms were very spacious but the beds were really small. TV have only a few cable channels.

The WIFI connected from the room I stayed is on and off. Not very stable, but still lucky enough to get a room that's still able to connect to WIFI. As they don't provide in room WIFI.

Breakfast not much of variety, have almost the same thing every morning. Everything taste the same, very salty.

Clean and bright hotel lobby. Nice and friendly staffs. However their room service do take awhile. Not so efficient. But overall not too bad.

Room Tip: Corner room more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaMayNMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Well I stay here due to company policy but lately (last two month and so on) the care from the hotel personnel regarding it's guest is being worse and worse. Lately the hotel drivers don't even have money for the highway and they ask money to the guests or made them took a very very long road which if you find traffic it can take you up to two hours to arrive from the airport.
The hotel is in a constant refurbishment but so, far I haven't been able to see any improvement in the rooms, the bathroom is ok but the shower usually doesn't work properly. The rooms are big but the appearance is old and not well taken care of.
The only nice you can expect it will be the breakfast with both local and western choices.
Do not expect the management to solve your issues because they barely speak English, I really hope they will do something quick because they're going to lose a lot of clients if the things keeps going like this.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Eoni-Leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We booked this hotel via our tour agent in Surabaya, we were surprised as were given Junior Suit room rather than the twin room. The junior suit room is big and clean. The location of the hotel is also good which next to shopping complex.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

i have stay here for 3 days, and very surprise that they are non smoking hotel with one milion rupiah penalty, but the room is good, very unforgottable breakfast and near with Shopping mall and the city center

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AryPawaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite nice. The rooms are a little bit old but they're under renovation. Plenty of space in the room and also a big bathroom. The only bad point is that most of the rooms do not have WiFi connection but they do provide a LAN cable.
The breakfast is nice with both Indonesian and European choices available. In room dining is quite expensive for Indonesia but luckily the hotel is well situated so you can go walking to any of the two malls situated straight ahead or to the left of the hotel and have a nice meal.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Eoni-Leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Garden Palace Hotel
Garden Palace Hotel
#49 of 134 in Surabaya
270 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#22 of 134 in Surabaya
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahid Surabaya
Hotel Sahid Surabaya
#102 of 134 in Surabaya
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Gubeng Surabaya
2.2 mi away
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horison Suites Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horison Suites Surabaya

Property: Horison Suites Surabaya
Address: Plaza Boulevard Jln. Pemuda 31-37, Surabaya 60271, Indonesia (Formerly Surabaya Suites Hotel/Surabaya Plaza Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#25 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horison Suites Surabaya 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horison Suites Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horison Suites Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing