We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - iHotel Batam”
Review of Grands I Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grands I Hotel
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Batam
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for money - iHotel Batam”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Situated at Nagoya, it is conveniently located beside Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall. I really appreciate the special walkway linking the hotel to the shopping mall, by passing the main road which can be dangerous at night. Moreover, there was a security guard at the gate to keep watch.

Rooms are new and specious, do request for a room facing the luxurious pool/ main entrance (otherwise the rooms allocated will be facing an empty soccer field with frog sounds at night). Each hotel rooms have bathtub and the channels were extensive (HBO, Channel V, Singapore channels, AXN etc). Overall ambience in the hotel was good, plus all hotel staff were courteous and very helpful.

The highlight was the buffet breakfast spread which consists of indonesian and western delights. The menus change everyday and efforts were made to prepare the sumptuous meals.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing the main entrance/ swimming pool, as rooms facing the back will face the forest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angelicatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    206
    51
    11
    6
See reviews for
91
93
11
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My experience to Batam is good. I have stayed in the hotel for one night and the service provided is good. We are in a group of 8 and we have a shutter service to and back from the ferry. The staffs are friendly and giving good advice of any good location in Batam. There is a mall right beside and foods are easily available in the surrounding. The trip is good for a short getaway and the price around is reasonable. You can free wifi and do have the room near to the lift for better reception. The whole trip was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the lift for good wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K_Lim_Spore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed at the I Hotel for one night when I was in Batam. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is just a 5 mins walk away from the Nagoya Hill Mall. Rooms were clean and spacious and had good service. It was also not expensive. Would recommend this to anyone going to Batam.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucasYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I Hotel Batam is situated next to a mall, and the hotel helpfully built a proper predestrian path leading there from the back of the hotel, with a guard at the entrance so it is quite safe walking back to the hotel at night. The mall itself has a wide range of eateries and shops.
The furnishing is functional, although the recliner looks dated. There is no powerpoint right next to the bed (bed lamps' power supplies were built into the wall) so that was very inconvenient because I had to charge my laptop at intervals for use at the opposite side of the room.
Bathroom was very nice, with large tub, large sink, lots of random complementary toiletries, and very clean.
Buffet breakfast spread was very good with a wide range of food and an egg station. However, there was only one restaurant hall, and no separation between the smoking and non-smoking areas, so if you are extremely intolerant to smokers or there happens to be a lot of smokers then there might be a problem. Do come early for breakfast (around 8) because it empties quite fast.
As other reviewers can attest to, I Hotel is good value for money. The only thing I can complain about is although the wireless internet is free, coverage is uneven and connection works only intermittently.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I had been to Batam many many times, and usually on a tight budget.
The hotel is located at the close proximity of Nagoya Mall, just a few minute walk from the hotel.

Hotel facilities include a gym, spa, a swimming pool with a heated jacuzzi pool, the pool is located near the gym, and hotel guest could use the gym for free.

King-Sized Bed, Free WiFi in room, even had a ethernet network plug, where you could plug directly into your notebook for instant internet access.

The morning breakfast buffet was good, so were there porridge buffet we took at night.
The live band performing on the 2nd floor each night.

"Secret Spa" nearby was family-orientated, and full 150min package was very affordable.
Massage is available within the hotel too. It is located near the swimming pool.

I will surely return to the same hotel in Batam.. until I found a better one..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinLaiKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Credit excellent service to ur staff Ms Tari from the Cinnamon Cafe I stayed 3days 2nites & I was craving for fried banana (Goreng Pisang) with chocolate & cheese topping But no stock so Ms Tari had made an afford to specially order delivery for meI've ordered 5boxes & finished it with
satisfaction

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zainab S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Location, cleaniness, services, breakfast, swimming pool, gym, jacuzzi all ok.

Sound proof, pillows not so ok.

Walking distance to nagoya shopping mall. The pathway located next to the hotel which leads to Nagoya Malll will close at 12 midnight. Please be careful when crossing the roads as vechicles do not necessarily give way to those crossing at the predestrin crossings.

Room Tip: Swimming pool and gym are located on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theng820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batam hotels
3.2 mi away
Radisson Golf & Convention Center Batam
0.1 mi away
Nagoya Hill Hotel
Nagoya Hill Hotel
#4 of 26 in Nagoya
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
I Hotel Baloi
I Hotel Baloi
#1 of 26 in Nagoya
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Allium Batam Hotel
Allium Batam Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nagoya
394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grands I Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grands I Hotel

Property: Grands I Hotel
Address: Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly I Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batam
#10 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grands I Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are fully renovated and re-branding with a NEW LOOK to serve you better. Experience the refreshing guest room enhancements at GRANDs I HOTEL. Located next to Nagoya Hill Mall, GRANDs I HOTEL is within walking distance to entertainment, local and gourmet cuisine, and shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grands I Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing