We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centro at Batam - A calm place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Centro Hotel and Residence
Ranked #59 of 99 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Centro at Batam - A calm place to stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Centro Hotel and residences is a calm place to stay and very nice.
New hotel and you have a very good restaurant where you can have some good western food, which is very nice.

The rooms are quiet spacious and the staff are very courteous.

Room Tip: As superior room is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAVIKUMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fey S, General Manager at The Centro Hotel and Residence, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Mr. Pavikumar,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback to The Centro Hotel & Residence by Orchardz. We truly value your opinions and we are honoured that we have delivered a good impression that meets to your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission, supporting facilities (restaurant, bar & lounge, fitness centre, swimming pool and meeting rooms) and location as nearest Hotel to Hang Nadim Airport Batam and Kepri Mall is one of our plus value to provide the guest needs for easy access for business and leisure purposes.

We do keep the calm & homey atmosphere to provide comfortable "residence" for our guests, western menus is indeed our best but we also provide Indonesian menus for other choices.

Once again thank you for your good feedback, we do hope that you could share the valuable experience during your stay with us to your family and colleagues. We are waiting to have you back and stay with The Centro Hotel & Residence by Orchardz on your next visit to Batam and wish you the very best.

Best regards,

Fey Soraya
Hotel Manager
The Centro Hotel & Residence by Orchardz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    11
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

On first look, the hotel seemed to have the latest furnishings and decoration. However, as i stayed there for the night, i realised that the finishings were of rather poor quality. An example would be that though the hotel is new, the bath tub was not too user friendly and the knob to adjust the plug fell out. There was no way one could replace it as it would require a technician's assistance.

The bed was a little hard and the floor was cold at night, since it wasn't carpeted. However, the location is not too far from the nearby mall, though there is nothing much there to see either. There is a shuttle bus service available for those who are interested to go to the mall.

The food at the cafe was ok, with a good selection between western and local delights.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just about 2 weeks back, I was in Batam with my family. We stayed at Gideon Hotel then, it was pretty decent. This time round, I wanted to try another hotel and after reading those good reviews about Centro, I decided to give it a try & I am not too sure if I made a good choice.. I am writing this while putting up at Centro.

Negative 1:
To avoid the crazy traffic from Singapore HarbourFront ferry terminal, we decided to go via Tanah Merah to Nongsa Point (Batam) instead of the traditional Batam Centre Ferry Terminal/ Sekupang. So right after booking from AsiaRoom.com, I wrote to the hotel asking for transfer from Nongsa to hotel, and as expected they didn't turn-up at Nongsa Point (after 2 reminder emails). When I was at Nongsa, I called them to ask about transfer, it took them more than 15mins to revert back to me (while I was stranded at the ferry terminal). So, we took a taxi from the ferry terminal to the hotel ourselves (cost around S$15 which was pretty decent, travel duration around 25mins).

Negative 2:
Check-in was fine, staff was polite & friendly & slightly apologetic. Got a free upgrade from studio (standard) to studio (executive) - the staff claimed that the (standard) was fully booked. No complain since we got a free upgrade for 4 nights.

However, upon entering our room, the air is stale and weird. It was very hot and warm. The electric cooker area was oily and not properly cleanse. I could see oil stains and splatter on the kitchen top & side wall. The upper cabinet still contain eggs, cooking oil and 1/2 packet of rice from the guests before us. The water boiler had water in it. The duvet has some blue stains at the bottom. The bathroom was hot and stuffy like the room - we basically had to ventilate the room but blasting the AC and opening the window. It wasn't at all pleasant. Worst of all, we woke up on the 2nd with a FREAKING COCKROACH on the wall & I am terrified of roaches! It was a COMPLETE NIGHTMARE waking up to that! So tell me about cleanliness.

Negative 3:
I read from other travelers' that the pool is quite some distance away, so I was prepared not to wear my bathrobe down. Then, we came to realize that the pool, gym & massage spa, is actually separately managed - it is not part of the hotel. They accept membership from locals and residences from around the compound. The hotel setup is not exclusive - it seems like some sort of mixed-development project on a common ground (hotel, residential, commercial + gym & pool).

So, you leave the hotel, cut through 2 blocks of shophouse, cross the road and then you will reach the pool/ gym/ spa (also known as the clubhouse). We are talking about a 5mins walk and it is not the kinda walk that is within the hotel compound.

Worst of it all NO BIKINI for ladies & NO (triangle) TRUNKS for guys allowed into the pool. You have to properly covered as in full piece swimwear (sea-shirt/ wetsuit style for ladies) and trunks wise, it has to be "squarish" looking or board-shorts i think would be fine too! Just bring conservative swim-wear. This is yet another BAD EXPERIENCE because Batam is a beach area and Bikinis are common in places like Turi Beach, Harris, Montigo but not here in Centro. Obviously, we cant use the pool since we didnt pack for such a occassion.

For families with KIDS, my advice is to STAY OUT of the children pool - why? Because the structure used to build the water slides and stuff are made of METAL & it is RUSTY!!! How unhygienic & unsafe, what is some kids are hurt it could lead to some serious complication!

So after reading all these negatives and you still think that it is okay, I shall share some positives with you.

Positive 1:
Daily 1 for 1 meal regardless of soup or mains which is quite a good deal. The food is not fantastic, but it is decent. The service staff are really friendly and service-oriented.

Positive 2:
Weekend free shuttle service to Kepri Mall & Nagoya Hill. However the Nagoya shuttle service is only limited to 2 slots while Kepri has like 4-5 slots. This service is only valid for weekend.

Positive 3:
Room is spacious but lack sitting space, we only had 1 chair! We had to call the housekeeping 3 times to get a 2nd chair because there were 2 of us. So its just 1 king bed + 1 chair. If you love to cook for holiday, then yes, fantastic! They provide pots, pans, plates, utensil etc. But no detergent & sponge non kitchen-towels - maybe that explains the mess. Oh, i forgot to mention that we requested the housekeeping to clean up the cooker area since it was greasy. We came back to a 1/2 clean-job and we gave up. We just keep out of that area & hope that there are NO MORE ROACHES!

For S$57/night, I am not sure.. Gideon cost about S$60/night for delux, much newer and much closer to amenities like hawker centre & shopping mall which is more interesting than Kepri in my humble opinion. I don't think this is a bad hotel, but I wasnt expecting this for sure. Cant decide to recommend or not, will leave it for your own assessment based on the points listed above.

Room Tip: We're staying at Room 323, at least we are looking into the green but it is right above the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daffodilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was very impressed on seeing the studio apartment cum residence Hotel when I browsed in the net and immediately called reception over phone to book a studio room at Batam Indonesia.
The hotel staffs are very kind & friendly with excellent customer service. The New studio room is very neat, clean spacious and equipped with light cooking facility like mini oven,hood, sink with kitchen cabinet and dressing wardrobe. Had Lunch and dinner at Restaurant and the food is very delicious, tasty and served by smiling waitress. The location is very convenient & near the Kepri shopping mall and closer to Batam center. Of-course free pick up and drop services at regular intervals have been provided. This hotel & Residence are highly secured with access card. The hotel and restaurant price is also very reasonable with value added service. The pool and club house is very good.
Finally it is a place of service with smile and excellent service & secured Residence Hotel and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAJA DESINGH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I got it via a tour from one of those deal sites. The place is nice but quiet. Not much of the shops around the area was open.

The room is very nice. I like how the security system for the door works. They have a mini stove in the room even.

Had my lunch and dinner at the restaurant which was having this 1 for 1 promotion on most things on its menu which I think was value for money. Though breakfast there was not much choices.

The spa was average though.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay there and would definitely return on our next visit to Batam,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

A new good value hotel in Batam. Located at the back of Kepri Mall, a large shopping center, so it's very convenient walking from the mall back to the hotel. The position is close to a large intersection which made it very accessible from/to the airport. Eventhough Centro hotel is using a shophouse building altered into hotel rooms, the room quality surprised me. The room was clean, all with kitchenette and with studio apartment setting. Furnishing quality was still good because the hotel was new. The bathroom was large and furnished in good quality. Overall, a very satisfaction stay.

Room Tip: Choosing rooms facing the front of the hotel helps you avoid the noises (music and people chatting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regawa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Booked through Groupon for a 2D1N stay. This was our first trip trip Batam .and it was a pleasant one. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. All of them serve with a ready smile, On the 2nd day we wanted to go to the spa, which was one block away, and it was raining very heavily. Without we asking for anything, the Receptionist readily arranged for transport to send us there and after driving us there, the driver gave us an umbrella so that we can walk through without getting wet. This might be small deeds but it really touched us. Thank You so much.
The room was spacious, neat and tidy. Food was good. Overall very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.0 mi away
Crown Vista Hotel
Crown Vista Hotel
#31 of 99 in Batam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Batam
Swiss-Belinn Batam
#22 of 99 in Batam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kireinn
Kireinn
#49 of 99 in Batam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Venesia Hotel
Venesia Hotel
#66 of 99 in Batam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fame Hotel
Fame Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batu Aji
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seruni International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Centro Hotel and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Centro Hotel and Residence

Property: The Centro Hotel and Residence
Address: Jl. Central Raya No. 08, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 99 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Centro Hotel and Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Centro Hotel and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing