We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION”
Review of Mercure Batam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Batam
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Batam
Reviewed 12 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Bel8484
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at the Mercure Batam for one night over the weekend. Although I've seen advertisement saying it's 4 star, I'll give it a 3 star. Not saying it is bad, just that the decor seems a little old. The elevators have a weird green wallpaper. The restaurant seemed to lack manpower as there were no receptionist during dinner time. We were only attended to much later. Also perhaps it is a culture thing, but there were smokers in the restaurant. Rooms are functional, with slippers and toothbrush (which was a nice surprise). Thought that the instant coffee could be better, and it would be nice if there was a mini-bar/fridge in the room. The windows were also creaky. If you are travelling with infant, take note that the hotel did not have baby cot. All in all a little disappointing since it is supposed to be in the Mercure brand of hotels, but I would say it's functional.

Room Tip: choose rooms away from the elevator doors. Also try to have rooms on either side so that when you op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siuhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Valuable Guest
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

Concerning about your comment Management has decide to do makeover and renovation some of room and hotel facilities on going and , on behalf Management i do apology for convenience cause , but we insist to be more Indicatively for the guest who will stay in our Hotel.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here on Groupon, so we did not expect much out of it. But the hotel was wonderful!! We are a group of Singaporeans and not all of us are noisy, some of us do spare a thought for other guests. We had wanted non-smoking connecting rooms nearer to the lift (yes a lot of requests oops..) but although the receptionist was unable to accommodate to our needs due to full house, he was very polite and apologetic though.
What I am impressed with is how efficient they are. We called the operator twice during different timing and both times, the phone was picked up immediately and the staff came knocking on our door in 3-5 minutes' time with our items. Thank you, really appreciative :)
The room is big, spacious and really decent. There is room for improvements but overall it did not cause any of us any issues. Breakfast was satisfying with local and western style of dishes. There is a sweet corn dessert beside the cereal and a juice bar with their local digestive drink which I find unique and must-try!!
I realized that taxis here are more expensive than in Bali as they charge a standard of 40-50,000 instead of by meter which would cost much lesser. But nevertheless it is still more convenient to get a taxi to the shopping areas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Sincerely beloved guest.

We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide and maintain a better services.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I mostly check-in Mercure Batam as it's near to one of my customer.
I believe the management has put a lot of effort in order to maintain (sorry, not up to improve level, yet) the condition of the hotel.
The only thing under my expectation was the gymnasium.
The condition of gymnasium getting severe. 2 units of treadmills downed (please take a run to BCS instead of staring at the A4 paper on the treadmill) , cycling meter readers with no batteries (you hardly motivate yourself without knowing how many miles you've cycled) and sit-up bench with thin cushion. May be it will be worsen in my next visit? It turn me down so much until I head right away to my room without 'checking' the sauna condition.
I noticed that the fitness centre also opened to public. For a in-house guess, I cannot blame much on the so called 'compliment' facility. But how about those paying guests? Despite it's out of my concern, but I do hope to see the improvement on the fitness centre back to shape since you cannot deepen or lengthen your pool (one of the end is only 70cm and simply for soaking, not swimming), at least make your guests felt that what they paying for is worth for $$.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank HS_YEOH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear HS-Yoah
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

Concerning about Gymnasium Facilities we already repair all the facilities and additional equipment at this month , i do apology for convenience cause , but we insist to be more Indicatively for the guest who will stay in our Hotel.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here again for 3D/2N on Groupon. All the staff here are customer friendly, especially those at front desk who are willing to provide appropriate info with regard to local travels and sight seeing. Their cleaning staff do a great job providing clean linen. Towels are getting older and rough to use on your skin, but the cleaning staff gave two nicer towels when I asked them to replace. It is a great facility with clean bath tub and bidet toilet seat but amazingly cheap for a New Zealander. Front desk staff are all very customer friendly and take care your needs very seriously. Buffet breakfast comes with a great spread and yummy dishes to cater to foreigners and Asians alike. They do have non-smoking floors as well.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and away from the Lifts are generally quiet. But when you have a large group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Valuable Customer

We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam Hotel, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The front desk service was good but not excellent enough. To make it worse, the buffet breakfast was the worst in my whole life in a hotel because I was brought to a table full of soiled plates & glasses, it was not even cleared for 15 minutes of sitting. The service staff was not enough & there's not a single clean plate at the buffet line. I had to go to the front desk to cancel my 2 days of buffet breakfast & they told me cannot cancel it due to it was prepaid. In my mind, I asked what the heck?????

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Nicholas.

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Mercure Batam Hotel.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, kindly accept our sincerest apologies for not being able to provide the best hospitality and service during your stay.

First and foremost, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for unfortunate experience during your stay with us recently.

We are deeply concerned and share your disappointment with service you received from some of our team members regarding Breakfast Services in my restaurant , but we insist to be more responsive to make our valuable guest in satisfaction during their stay in our hotel. The issues you encountered clearly identify areas where improvements are needed hence we thank you for bringing these up to our attention so that appropriate steps may be taken to avoid recurrence. Likewise, we will take your feedback as a motivating tool to ensure our service levels are constantly according to Mercure Hotel standards.

At Mercure , we aim to provide the highest level of service to all of our guests thus you can be assured that your comments have been shared with the relevant department heads and appropriate action and training will be taken to ensure that our entire team consistently maintains a warm, positive and professional demeanor when dealing with guests.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope you could give us the opportunity to show you the improvement and provide you with the real Mercure service on your next trip to Batam.

Heru Wibowo -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed 1 night with 3 of my friends during weekends, booked deluxe, connecting rooms. The room was rather huge, however the room doesn't seem well maintained. It looks old and has some kind of smell on the carpet floor.

The staff are not english speaking staff, we had hard time communicating with them, we used basic english to verify some things but they do not understand us at all. Instead, asking back in Malay language. This is weird!

The breakfast was pretty bad. Most of the dish doesn't suit to our preference. It is either too sweet, too oily or too spicy.

We would not book for this hotel anymore due to the bad experience we had in this hotel.

If you would want to visit Batam for stayover, i would suggest you book Harmoni One, that is the best i ever been! Good service, fantastic stay and fabulous hospitality from the staffs!

Room Tip: high floors, facing swiming pool is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Sincerely beloved guest.

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Mercure Batam Hotel.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, kindly accept our sincerest apologies for not being able to provide the best hospitality and service during your stay.

First and foremost, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for unfortunate experience during your stay with us recently.

We are deeply concerned and share your disappointment with service you received from some of our team members regarding breakfast my Restaurant too spicy and too oily , and my back of the house department cant speaking English ,I has read and share your comment to my team and department concern regarding Food quality for sure we will improve the food quality and service quality and , then our hotel building we have do make over some of room and still progress until now. but we insist to be more responsive to make our valuable guest in satisfaction during their stay in our hotel. The issues you encountered clearly identify areas where improvements are needed hence we thank you for bringing these up to our attention so that appropriate steps may be taken to avoid recurrence. Likewise, we will take your feedback as a motivating tool to ensure our service levels are constantly according to Mercure Hotel standards.

At Mercure , we aim to provide the highest level of service to all of our guests thus you can be assured that your comments have been shared with the relevant department heads and appropriate action and training will be taken to ensure that our entire team consistently maintains a warm, positive and professional demeanor when dealing with guests.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope you could give us the opportunity to show you the improvement and provide you with the real Mercure service on your next trip to Batam.

Heru Wibowo -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batam hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Batam
Hotel Novotel Batam
#2 of 6 in Batu Ampar
659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grands I Hotel
Grands I Hotel
#10 of 101 in Batam
417 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis Styles Batam Nagoya
ibis Styles Batam Nagoya
#3 of 11 in Batam Center
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Goodway Hotel Batam
Goodway Hotel Batam
#22 of 28 in Nagoya
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Batam Hotel & Residences
0.5 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#5 of 28 in Nagoya
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Address: Jl. Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Batam
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing