We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful stay”
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Bintan Island
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed at Banyan Tree over the weekend and although the hotel was running full there was no sense of over crowding.
The sea view room we had was great although the room may seem a little dated but being surrounded my dense vegetation it is tough to maintain. the property at pristine condition as the dampness will cause it to look old.
The servie rendered was impeccable as evey staff did their utmost with a sincere smile and promptness. Every call for either to check the internet or at the restaurant were answered with promptness. Loved the service culture.
The spa was good and make sure early booking to be done to avoid fuuly booked situaton especially over the weekend.
Breakfast was good and serving sparkling wine and cocktail mix brings the experience a luxurious feel. They even decorate the eggs ordered. I am no fan of huge breakfast buffet and the spread is more than sufficient to me.
I have dinner at the treetop cafe and ordered Indonesian food which was very delicious.
The pools were great and the beach is so clean and quiet and mind you this is running at full capacity.
Ihighly suggest to get to Bintan buying the emerald class ticket and not the normal ticket as the sea can get very choppy. Emerald class is on the upper deck so no seasickness and more cmfortable sailing time.
A great weekend spend away from the city.

Room Tip: Ask for villa 100 which is very near to the beach and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

We went to Banyan Tree Bintan to celebrate my husband's birthday and had a spa treatment there. Everything was so wonderful. Although I checked for the details of destination dining but decided not to go for it because it is so pricy, they still remember that it is a trip for birthday celebration. They decorated our bed and make our celebration trip a decent surprise.

Excellent views from our villa with our bed, bathroom and open-air Jacuzzi facing the sea. The breakfast at Treetop was also wonderful. Excellent food and beverages by the sea. Remember to eat outside whenever possible coz you never know what tomorrow weather will be. We are glad to have breakfast outside on the first morning coz it rained heavily the second day and we had to eat indoor. The grilled seafood dinner at Angsana Pantai Grill on the beach was also excellent. What we enjoyed most: a relaxing afternoon in the infinite pool by the beach and the Banyan Tree signature spa in the private spa pavilion.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_and_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We booked the sea view villa for our couple trip and was pleasantly surprised that we were given a free upgrade to a bay front villa. The villa was well maintained, the view was amazing. Service by staff was excellent, they kept our room well stocked with water, a basket of fruits, turned down the bed for the night and even saw to lighting the mosquito coils, all this whilst we were out for our meals. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Highly recommended for couples who are looking for a luxurious stay and who value privacy. Food at the Tree Tops was tastefully prepared, breakfast spread was generous and offered good variety. Freshly prepared juices, nuts were freshly roasted and even warm when they topped it up.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Ang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

we stayed five days and wished we had booked a longer stay. the staff is courteous and kind.
The restaurants have fresh, quality ingredients and dishes to suit all tastes. We had no mosquito trouble at all. We used the cream given to us at the beach and pool areas so we we not bitten at all. You could see an occasional mosquito approach, smell the cream, and fly away ! The cream smells good to humans. We enjoyed a spa day and the staff is highly competent. Soooo relaxing.
The small band serenaded us at dinenr and the songs were wonderful. The breakfast buffet is terrific and even the room coffee with a French press is a nice touch! Cold, fragrant face towels and ice water at the pools and beach were most appreciated. We are now addicted to Banyan Tree resorts !

Room Tip: the sea villas are PERFECT! great view and total privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Returning from the crowded and bustling metropolitan cities like Singapore and Bangkok, this resort is a heaven! Not just lush garden, blue ocean, and infinity private pool, on the outside this place is surrounded by forest, the real thing. Not man-made forests. We saw a monkey on the way in! And a squirrel visited us every morning. This is really a sanctuary, peaceful, tranquil...on the beach you don't see other properties/structures. Breakfast, at Treetop Restaurant, facing to the open ocean, eventhough not lavish, is of high quality. Hotel staff are very friendly. Other than the traditional Balinese style, all else in the room is of luxury and tastefully made.

Room Tip: A 2-bedroom villa with infinity pool in the middle, facing the open ocean is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WitaDahlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Overall my stay with banyan tree was almost perfect. It's really hard to fault this place.

I will start with the bad however. Northen Bintan is a tourist section, what that means is there are basically no external restaurants to the hotel. You do feel trapped, Banyan tree's food while sufficient is not cheap by any means.

An average meal a tree tops (the main restaurants) is $25-$30 before a 15% tax on top. Alcohol is at normal western prices - $6 a beer $15 a cocktail. Saffron is only more expensive again.

Keelong the local seafood restaurants was much the same. Amazing place, sitting in the middle of the ocean. The meals for four of us ended up around $150 us dollars or 6,000,000 rupiah. Not cheap or Indonesian pricing at all.

Basically it is all western pricing, and five star, so do not eat here on a budget. Food became the most expensive thing quickly in Bintan.

There is nothing to do! If you do not enjoy pools, hot baths and eating you will quickly become bored. There are a few activities like riding elephants and mangrove tours. However if you are staying for an extended period of time, expect to be relaxing alot.

DO NOT go to Passer Ole Ole! The place is an absolute hole in the ground. It is meant to be the local markets designed by the government, but there is nothing there that you wants. Overpriced clothing (quality is crap) and around $40 us dollars for thongs. Food is the furthest from authentic you can get, and incredibly dirty.

The staff are friendly, helpful and genuine. Can't really ask for more.

I stayed in the two bedroom villa with a private infinity pool. The view was the best i have ever seen in my life. Truly beautiful place.

While at the restaurant at night, a local band made out of staff members plays. They are fantastic and really make an atmosphere.

The rooms are large, clean and incredibly well looked after. Staff clean every days (six staff cleaning from top to bottom) and will put down your beds mosquito net a night.

I would defiantly recommend this place if you have enough cash to back you up; if you are on a budget though, avoid.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
2  Thank Rory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Sanctuary Pool Villa, which was very spacious for a family with 2 young kids. Wonderful views, especially magical at night with singing crickets, bats flying around and waves crashing against the rocks. If not for the many mozzies, I wouldn't mind lingering longer outdoors. The hotel does take pains to eliminate mozzies, with several preventive measures such as mosquito coils, repellents in rooms, nets and regular fogging.

Service and hospitality was impeccable. Food quality was mediocre and over-priced. 1 plate of Nasi Goreng for in-villa dining costs USD21. Breakfast at Treetops was also disappointing, not much variety.

The infinity pool was fantastic, so was the sunken bath. We ignored the leaves inside and had great fun soaking in.

Not sure whether it was due to the renovation, the coffee machine was not available anymore (I remember seeing a reviewer putting up pictures of it), so I was a tad disappointed with that.

It seems the renovation has largely fixed the complaints of previous reviews about cracking tiles and worn-out facilities. We went to the 2 shared pools and found no traces of it. However, one of our toilets had cracked walls, and the air-conditioner wasn't cold enough.

Very good experience overall, with its proximity to Singapore, certainly hope to revisit the resort.

Tip: Do ask for a renovated villa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Clayfish76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
2.1 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,639 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Bintan Island
615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa
2.4 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 37 in Bintan Island
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range: £285 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing