We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic get-away, works with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic get-away, works with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Booked last minute as an interesting detour during a family holiday in Singapore, 6 and 4 year old with us. Ferry ride booked online with Bintan Resort Ferries, was easy and inexpensive (on arrival paid US$10 pp (or Sing $ equiv) for a short stay visa). Met by resort reps at ferry port and car arranged the resort within minutes.

One bedroom villa, sea view. Inside was tight for the 4 of us, but fine for a short stay. Some small signs of wear and tear, but well kitted out. Outside, jacuzzi wasn't working on arrival but fixed quickly - the one we had was cold water only, and as you would expect a fair amount of wildlife - lizards, insects, bats in the evening - so not entirely relaxing. Great views.

Had great fun at beach swimming in the warm water, collecting sand dollars, watching wildlife (inc, large monitor lizards which come very close) and jet skiiing. Setting is ideal, and we were lucky with the weather during our short stay. Poolside service is good, food options a little basic / largely western - fine for kids.

Had BBQ in villa for dinner, food very good and price ok given quantity. Wine options decent but very expensive.

Breakfast was also very good, extensive buffet including good selection of local options alongside the common fare. Charged a full adult price for the 2 kids, but they probably ate their money's worth.

Didn't leave the resort, so can't comment on the wider area. Overall, an expensive detour but worth it for the experience. Would return for a short trip if staying in Singapore, for longer stay would consider the adjacent Angsana resort which shares some facilities with the Banyan Tree but might be better for families.

Room Tip: We were in villa 502 which was a reasonable distance from anything - buggy rides can be ordered on r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    368
    169
    68
    42
See reviews for
385
756
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
204 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We live in Singapore so visited at a weekend via Ferry. In Asian terms this is overpriced and so I have rated just average. We had a pool villa with ocean view but the room was quite dark once you closed blinds for privacy. Recent modifications are minimal only like rain shower. The evening had fruit bats flying around our balcony and in the morning there was lots of bat poo all over the deck. Food is expensive and average quality and breakfast is disappointing with a small selection relative to other 5 star properties we have stayed at. Go to the sister property next door for excellent grilled seafood at much better prices. Also I notice the hotel bills in USD and not Indonesian currency which is a little naughty currently as the Indonesian currency has depreciated. Staff very friendly on the positive side.

Room Tip: You need a pool villa with ocean view minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed at Banyan tree for three nights but could easily have stayed longer. It is a great destination for families who like the beach and water sports. Beach is clean and ocean is calm and clear. Lots of colourful fish to see. The staff couldn't do enough for us, especially Hendra who was always available to assist. Our 87 year old grandmother came too and was treated like royalty. Staff were great with our teenage children too! The two bedroom villa we stayed in was spacious and provided beautiful views, although it is starting to show signs of its age. Still, the furnishings were luxurious and we were more than happy to spend time in the villa, and relax around our private pool. We hope to make it back again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Difficult to know where to start from the friendly and helpful welcome at the ferry terminal to check in and all the attention showered on us by our villa host (Hendra) this was a fantastic experience of Indonesian hospitality at its best.

Watersports and accommodation were wonderful and beach is safe for all ages

Other activities golf etc available

Kids menues in every restaurant

We will certainly return

Thanks Stefan and Hendra for a great break

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in a Pool Villa - Seaview room. Check-in was comfortable as they welcome you with lemongrass ginger drinks and towels. The room was very romantic. Amenities can be better quality. The slippers and robes were nice. Towels were clean and soft. Bedding was perfectly white and clean. When we kept the door open, a squirrel came in. They are so quick but you know they came in because half eaten fruits/peels can be found on the couch/floor. We had a big opening between the sliding door and door frame which explains how they came in again the next morning. Housekeeping quickly covered the space the same day and made sure we didn't have any more friendly visitors. Despite being 90% booked, you will not see any unhappy or uncourteous faces. They were quick on their feet and always gave us a smile.

The breakfast spread was great. Western and local dishes were served. The eggs were done the way I requested them. Food in the restaurants were good and reasonable, considering that you are in an island.

The beach is not as long as the beaches in Phuket, Bali or Boracay but it was nice to walk on. Pools are not so big either, compared to the Westin or Grand Hyatt Resorts, but adequate.

Gym was located in another resort, so we didn't go. I did attend the yoga class. Vishnu was very helpful and patient. I even slept during the savasana.

As for the spa, we were driven to another villa, where we were received, offered a drink and given a foot bath. Afterwards, we walked down to the lower level for our massage. I had the balinese massage and felt really good after. I have a bad back and knee problem and was handled really well. My massage therapist was Miggy and my husband's was Rima. The treatment was the highlight of the weekend getaway! I enjoyed our stay very much! Thank you.

Room Tip: Request for renovated villas and make sure there are no openings/cracks on the side of the sliding d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimitheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

excellent.
calm and relax
,natural,
beauty full place.
good for honeymoon couple specially.
they charge for transportation.but other hotels not charging for that.otherwise this is great hotel.good view.good staff service.pool and restaurant good view.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Samantha Pradee... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Fantastic location, however for a Banyan Tree, the accommodation was a slightly disappointing. With such an outstanding and out of this world location, our hopes were really high for this trip, especially being a Banyan Tree.

On arrival, the staff were friendly and welcoming, with a quick informal intro to the hotel and facilities.

Swimming pool and beach were very good, however one pool had been closed during the duration of our stay, and would have been handy as it was located close to our villa.

Breakfast was good, and pretty much the only social hub for the whole complex, as the restaurants in the evening were deserted. All of the food was great, however I could not understand why restaurants were completely clear of customers by 9pm?!

We decided to take a trip out of the complex for dinner one evening, and head to the nearest shops - this felt completely frowned upon, and taxis were charged to the hotel with a mark up which you have to pay due to there being seldom transport options available.

Villas were spacious, and ideally placed on the island, however slightly run down interiors. So much so, that our toilet had a clutch of mushrooms growing. This had been discussed at the end of the stay, to which the manager made amends - thanks.

If requesting any additional towels or replacement items, be sure to ask and ask again, because we still never received clean towels after requesting twice.

The bats outside are fantastic, and delightful to watch if you are not too nervous of sitting on the balcony at night.

All in, it's a great location, and has so much potential as a top level retreat, however a lot needs to be done in order of justifying the price per night.

Room Tip: Gold package on the boat to Bintan is worthwhile for a few extra pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri A, on beehalf of Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Ross G,

Thank you very much for writing your comment about your recent stay at Banyan Tree Bintan.

We would firstly like to apologise for the shortcoming you have experienced during your stay with us. We acknowledge it’s partly due to slow service and the condition of the villa you were staying in. We are in process of rectifying the shortcoming by involving all the departments concerned.

However, we are delighted that you had a splendid time at our resort and that enjoyed the location of the villa, our associates, the beach, the pool and the breakfast. It is our wish to fulfil all the needs of our guests to their total satisfaction.

Ross G, once again thank you for your constructive feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future to Banyan Tree Bintan.


Sincerely,


Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
2.1 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
5.8 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Property: Banyan Tree Bintan
Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang Laguna, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing