We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, but expensive”
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun, but expensive”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We travelled from Singapore to Bintan during the kids school break, and stayed for two nights in a sea view villa. The room was very spacious, and the hotel provided an extra bed, which was wide enough to accomodate two children very comfortably. The villa had a small wading pool, which didnt look to be very clean, but they cleaned it up promptly and we realised later that being outside, leaves etc. kept falling in all the time. Be prepared to have some ants/bugs in the room though. You are in a tropical zone. The beach itself is quite nice, though it had a fair amount of seaweed the first day. Food is expensive ! Clearly caters to the well heeled Singapore crowd. All prices are in USD, so carry USD cash to avoid getting hit multiple times on currency exchange rates if paying by credit card. Finally, must make a mention of the staff. They are unfailingly smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prokhor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri A, on behalf of Stefan Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Prokhor,

I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Banyan Tree Bintan. Your comment on the friendliness at our team is very much appreciated and we are very proud of our associates.

May I thank you for the understanding of the challengess we have in a unique natural setting likes ours. Let me assure you that we are doing our upmost to maintain our beach and also treat our villas regularly against insects. Unfortunately nature is at times faster then us, please accept my apologies for our shortfall during your stay.

Thank you for choosing our hospitality and for taking the time to share your observation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bintan in the near future.

Sincerely,


Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    395
    171
    70
    43
See reviews for
447
820
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel prepared special bedding and provided a complimentary birthday cake for us. A crew even decorated the room with yellow flower petals and candle lights at night and hide in the room as a surprise and sang happy birthday song. These are much appreciated. The services at the hotel was great, staff was always attentive. Buggy service to take you around the resort was great. Although the food at the breakfast was a little disappointed but it does not stop us rating this resort at the highest possible stars! Well worth paying the high cost!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri A, on behalf of Stefan Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Eman,  

I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time in Banyan Tree Bintan. We always try to create personal experience and we enjoyed sharing your special day with you both.

Your comment on the breakfast has been noted and shared with our Executive Chef to follow-up on our inconsistency.  

Eman, once again thank you for choosing our hospitality and for taking the time to share your observation with us.   We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bintan in the near future.  


Sincerely,  


Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

stayed over the weekend and had some nice seafood at the nearby "kelong" (house on stilts). But cheap was never on the menu tho'.

It's suppose to be a revisit after years since the last. Had the private pool villa,and apparently certain items were left untouched since then too. How memorable it was when we opened the drawer under the day bed and we found a thick carpet of dust garnished with cobwebs. Hardly accommodating to anyone with a sinus problem.

The pool and shower area is forever covered with dead bugs (especially dragonflies) in the morning. Not that I do not know they were lured to the water by the reflection of lights at night, but....hardly exotic and I just couldn't locate that part in the fineprints....

Food from room service was so-so, but I must admit the taste was highly influenced by the tremendous stench coming from the mouth piece of the room's phone and the frustration from placing order through the constant buzzing sound in the phone and the countless begging of pardon. However we did request for a repair since Day One, the technician had to be having a difficulty booking a flight in....we hope he had landed at the resort safely by now and the phone is finally fixed for the next guest.

Nevertheless, everything else is 5 star. Helpfulness and Friendliness are of abundance. Save you any chance of a stroke from high blood pressure and leaving the villa with merely a slap on the forehead.

PS. the spa is excellent and a must-try. seriously.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeJorgimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri A, on behalf of Stefan Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear George,

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you experienced in regards to your stay here at Banyan Tree Bintan. Let me assure you that your observations are taken seriously and your feedback is shared with each Department Head to ensure follow-up is taken on our shortcomings.

I am very confident that your experience was exception and it’s my sincere hope that we can welcome you back to demonstrate the true Banyan Tree hospitality we normally offer. Again my sincere apology for our shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Partly understaffed, so delivery of in-room service was not on time. Cleanliness is a big issue and is not up to standard and in line with the price paid.
Staff is always very friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri A, on behalf of Stefan Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you experienced in regards to your stay here at Banyan Tree Bintan.

Thank you for your remarks and especially the compliments on the friendliness at our team. Your feedback on the inconsistency at our service delivery has been taken very serious, especially on the cleanliness. I have taken these issues up with the Heads of Department and will ensure that follow-up is taken.

It is my sincere hope that we can welcome you back and demonstrate to you that your feedback has been taken seriously and corrections have been made.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you are looking for a get away from the hussle and bustle of city life, Banyan Tree Bintan should be your first choice.

This resort offers absolute privacy. The villas are built around trees and you would be greeted with squirrels and nature when you wake up in the morning.

Deluxe villas come with plunge pool. The only problem is that the pool cant be heated so if it rains or if it's a cold day, you can't really play in the water.

All villas have a traditional indonesian touch to it. The hotel charges in USD and food is very expensive. Angsana, the sister property has cheaper and good food.

Saffron, the thai restaurant is a must try. I loved the food there and service is good.

The hotel should consider offering free transfers to the ferry terminal because it is near the terminal. The charges are expensive.

You might want to consider taking a free shuttle to Angsana and having lunch there before checking into Banyan tree.

I am going back again very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melanieish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

High-end resort offering excellent services and relaxing atmosphere for a perfect getaway you would expect in any of the famed Banyan Tree resorts. Features individual villas with the much needed privacy for a romantic escapade as well as the convenience of a valet service to bring you around the resort. Signature spa treatments are also worth indulging in. There are good dining options within the resort and room service if you do not wish to leave the comforts of your private pool and villa.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri A, on behalf of Stefan Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear ET880,

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments about our hotel services and associates. We are proud of our team and believe they are the finest in Banyan Tree Bintan. Your comments endorse our believe and it is great testimony to their dedication and professionalism.

Once again thank you for choosing our hospitality and for taking the time to share your observations with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bintan in the near future.

Sincerely,


Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I recently visited Banyan Tree Bintan for our 5 year wedding anniversary upon the recommendation of a colleague. We were impressed in all facets of our stay. Highlights were the quality of food and setting of both the Saffron restuarant and the "Dinner on the Rock". Service and friendliness of all hotel staff was probably the best I've experienced. The room was definately to our taste - a beautiful outlook over the ocean, and plenty of room to simply enjoy the setting and relax. Will definately try to get back there at some stage.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,577 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
582 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#7 of 36 in Bintan Island
338 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Property: Banyan Tree Bintan
Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing