We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The memorable vacation”
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Bintan Island
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I had so much fun during my stay in banyan tree bintan,, staff are so friendly and always have way to make you feel so comfortable. the villas was so amazing.. the view from our villa are breath taking.. I can 100% say that it is worth to stay in banyan tree bintan.. I had so much fun and I feel so relax.. from the welcome drinks to my villa where we stay to the restaurant and souvenir shop totally amazing:)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Dargantes,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

I am so happy to learn how much fun you had during your stay with us and we were able to exceed your expectations. The team is working hard in providing experiences rather than only good service. I am glad that we have achieved this and that with our spectacular setting made your stay a success. Let me assure you that I will share your comments with the entire team, which I am sure will make them happy too.

Last but certainly not least, I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
There are newer reviews for Banyan Tree Bintan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed there for 5D4N during the school holidays last week. The two-bedroom pool villa was perfect for our 2-adults-2-kids-plus-helper. Yes, there were bugs and insects as some reviewers mention, but being Singaporeans we don't find such things a bother at all. The pool was a good size - big enough for our 8 and 4 year olds to have a whale of a time - and when they got bored, there was still the excellent beach and rock pool. But the real trick is to make full use of Angsana next door, which Banyan Tree guests have full access to (but not vice versa). The restaurants at Angsana have a more kid-friendly selection and are slightly cheaper. The Angsana pool is also very kid-friendly - we'd stayed there twice previously before this - because it has a portion that is much shallower, connected to the main pool but separated by some underwater pillars...so kids and parents can swim safely in the "same" pool.

To be frank - Banyan Tree is not cheap, but you get the best of both worlds (Banyan Tree and Angsana), with the level of service you expect and enjoy at a top-end resort. Only slight negative is that the in-house Banyan Tree restaurants are a little too 'focused' - Indon, Italian and Thai - with not enough 'generic' food to meet the needs of kids.

One last thing - only a few of the two-bedroom pool villas have an additional jacuzzi on the deck. We were fortunate enough to get one. Don't know if you can make a special request, but worth a try.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yellowhandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear yellowhandman,

I am happy to note that you had a wonderful experience in Bintan, especially to read that your kids are having a great time in our pool.

Allow me to thank you for your kind understanding that our unique setting in the jungle is also our biggest challenge. We are addressing the wildlife issue at the moment without harming the animals and disturbing the natural environment but I am glad to know that this has not affected your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another mini vacation in either Angsana Bintan Hotel or in our Banyan Tree Bintan Villas.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My Husband and I stayed there in the summer it was a very nice romantic getaway the rooms were amazing however the staff were unhelpful to us when we wished to change our room away from the noisy corridor we were initially staying in. Apart from that it was a great hotel with great rooms and great food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fickle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear fickle2014,

Thank you for your time of posting your experience here at Banyan Tree Bintan.

Let me assure you that your feedback is taken very seriously and shared with each Department Head to ensure follow-up is taken on our shortcomings. We will address our inconsistent service delivery immediately to ensure it does not reoccur. Let me assure you that we continuously re-train our staff and feedback like yours allows us to identify areas needing attention.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Banyan tree is a perfect place for romantic time with your beloved ones. Great beach, beautiful territory, perfect service, excellent spa. You feel like in a natural park, once while taking shower outside I had squirrel as company and you can see lots of other animals on the territory that feel there like home and do not bother people at the same time. Really even if you try hard to find some disadvantage it will not be easy to do. Well maybe breakfast and choice of food is a bit disappointing for such a place but really the level of service will compensate everything. I cannot imagine somebody being not happy with the place....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yulia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear iuliia,

I am delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectation and make your holiday memorable. We are committed to always improve all aspects of our Resort including our product and service quality; and we are glad that our hard efforts are well recognized.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I did not expect this level of attention from the staff and was pleasantly surprised. The Seaview villa, starting level, is already good enough. The view was stunning, furnitures and maintenance perfect. Service is excellent. Well done Banyan Tree! It was my first time.
It is a perfect gateaway if you want to be in couple. I do not recommend for families. The villas are built such a way that nobody can see you neither in the large room neither on the terrace with the jacuzzi. I also liked the room/building design where we had breakfast and indonesian food. The Thai restaurant was also nice but the look and feel of the mediteranean restaurant needs a refresh.
The beach is awesome and extremely well maintained! Congratulations!

Now a couple of recommendations:
- give guests the choice to have individual pick-up from and to the ferry terminal (return trip chargeable $50 for 7 mn drive a bit exagerated). You can then organize a shuttle every 1 hour.
- provide wine at lower cost..
- add a fan in the room and in the terrace for Seaview villas.

This being said, the price you will pay for this stay worth it, especially so close from Singapore and in the same time so different. Nothing comparable with the other Bintan resorts.

Room Tip: Seaview Villa 510 was a bit far off but the location is actually great. You will have a great sea vi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear LaurentDeSingapore,

I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we exceed your expectation fully.

I do highly appreciate your recommendations and we are certainly looking into it. Unfortunately, the remoteness of the Bintan Tourism Area, which allows pristine beaches and unspoiled nature, does also increase prices due to transportation costs of suppliers and taxes imposed by the authorities.

Again, thank you for your post and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another getaway.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Fabulous 12 days spent at this lovely resort. The staff are excellent and did everything to make our stay comfortable and special.

We stayed in Villa 202 which has a private pool and were overwhelmed by the spacious and comfortable arrangements. The villa has two separate suites, one as a day room and the other for sleeping, both had a large bathroom with twin sinks and shower and loo. The outside areas included a large raised sitting area providing a nice shady place to sit when it got too warm as well as sunbathing and sitting areas out in the open. Our villa was on the beach side and benefitted from the sea breeze.

The villa was in good order and bed linen and pool towels were changed daily and bath towels changed twice a day. The pool was kept spotlessly clean and whilst leaves and petals were evident particularly first thing in the morning these did not spoil the use of the pool as the water was perfectly hygienic to swim in.

The Banyan soaps, shampoos and lotions in the bathrooms were lovely, the incense oil and joss sticks were a nice touch and the fragrances were also changed daily. We enjoyed a couples spa treatment at one of the spa villas which was very good.

Yes, the resort is fighting the effects of nature, with monkeys, squirrels, lizards and bats evident, however these did not spoil our stay. Some of the public areas are in need of maintenance as pointed out in other posts, and yes the decking and steps around the beach pool area could do with some attention but these are perfectly safe although a bit on the shabby side.

We had read reports about sandflies and rubbish on the beach and were pleased to find the beach clean and hazard free during our stay. The beach did have some tar deposits but these are cleaned up along with seaweed and any rubbish throughout the day by the beach sweepers and the pool staff provide tar remover cloths if required as well as insect repellant.

The one thing that could be improved is communication from reception on events. We did receive a 'daily' newsletter a few times, but not daily, and generally had to ask about any trips or events as there was no evidence of these advertised anywhere in the resort that we were aware of.

Other reviews comment on the cost and standard of food and drinks, and whilst we found the drinks pricey we dined at Treetops Restaurant and really enjoyed the Indonesian food which we found to be reasonably priced for a 5 star resort. We ate at the sister hotel, the Angsana on one occasion, for a saturday barbecue event, and found this very disappointing and overpriced.

Having read some of the previous reports we nearly changed our mind about staying at the Banyan Tree but are so glad we didn't. We really enjoyed our stay and loved the beauty and rustic nature of the location.




Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Cheryl G,

Allow me to thank you for your gracious feedback of your recent stay at Banyan Tree Bintan.

I am delighted to read that your have enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectation fully. Your observation for necessary improvements are correct. We have indeed started a rigorous upkeep program for all our villas. We are working hard to maintain the traditional Balinese style of our villas making our hotel unique in a challenging rainforest environment..

Your feedback for the inconsistency has been shared and taken up seriously to the Heads of Department for their necessary action.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Beautiful place, but... you are a captive of the resort as there is no real alternative to the resort dining options. Sodas: $5 Beers: $10, entrees: $40+.
Expect to spend at least $100 per day per person on food - which we really did not expect. As a final insult, when we checked out they had overcounted our minibar purchases.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank pbscr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear pbscr,

Thank you for your comments and please accept my sincere apologies for our shortfalls.

Your feedbacks of the Food & Beverage price has been noted. Let me assure you that I am actively working with our Executive Chef in getting better produce at more competitive price to our remote location, as we cannot import from Singapore and depend on deliveries from Jakarta at high costs. We will definitely look into it.

I am hoping to welcome you soon back to Bintan.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
2.1 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,597 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
592 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 36 in Bintan Island
366 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range: £272 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing