We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, good service”
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Had a weekend getaway wth my girlfriends. The pick-up from ferry terminal to hotel was efficiently arranged. Upon arrival, we were served by their staff, Dely, who made sure that we were comfortably checked into our two pool and ocean facing rooms. The beach is clean and beautiful. The pool was fabulous, loved it. The rooms were fine (but could do with some upgrading/reno) - bed mattress was firm enough, pillows were firm enough too. One thing, the bathroom - the bathtub in our fourth floor room looks like it needs a change(kind of old and dirty looking). Breakfast spread was not too bad. Food at restaurants were a bit expensive. On the whole, a positive experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,701 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a lovely time relaxing by the pool and on the beach. The food in all the restaurants is delicious.
Nice for a few days, unless you like to sunbathe for longer. There is nothing else to do on the island. You can hire canoos, jetskis on the beach.
The thing that really bugged me is that the bathroom stinks of urine! No amount of oilburning and insence could hide that. The rooms need updating. Shame, because the location is beautiful.
So either a big overhaul or lower your prices Angsana!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loes0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Loes0605,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the challenges and disappointment encountered during your recent visit to our resort.

It is with much concern that I heard about the unfortunate shortfalls you experienced while sending your holiday in Angsana Bintan.

I am glad to hear that you had a relaxing time and enjoyed the pool, the beach and  the food at our restaurants.  

We have duly take note of your major disappointment with the smell issue in the bathroom. I have addressed all your points mentioned with our Executive Housekeeper and Engineer in Charge and we are currently reviewing on procedure to see how this was possible.  

We apologize for the unacceptable room conditions that you have encountered and wish to reassure that your concerns are well noted. I would like to inform you that we conduct on yearly basis room maintenance and refurbishment of the rooms, interiors and bathroom and to assure you of our efforts and commitment to keep adding value to our guest experience, the project is being carried out in phases.  

Once again, we are truly sorry to have let you down on this occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Bintan in the near future.


Sincerely,


Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The cost benefit is not good, too expensive for:
food, accommodation , services .

There is no open bar after 22.00
The price lists are all in US dollars and the Hotel charges the final bill in rupees, not international rates, but in its own prices.
The final bill to the customer is much more expensive , than it is to pay from the start in rupees and not dollars after rupees and then the currency of the customer 's credit .

There are hotels in the South East Asia with very best prices, facilities and amenities.
The hotel needs renovation and it is isolated from the rest of life on the island.

In summary:
Εxcellent spa, very good garden, clean, great beach, quiet but too expensive - there are other hotels in south east Asia much cheaper for what benefits and newer rooms and furniture. The hotel needs renovation.
The Bintan is expensive destination.

Room Tip: We have a Delluxe room for 4 days - good but old
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StravoGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear StravoGeo,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay with us. We feel very disappointed that your stay at Angsana Bintan did not live up to the expectation that you had of our brand.

Please trust that we are fully committed to make our resort, its facilities and services a little better every day and we shall therefore certainly not rest on our laurels now.
However, I regret to hear of your disappointment regarding our pricing policy in our property. Allow me to point out that we are looking into our pricing on a monthly basis to be in line in comparison to other resorts in Bintan.

In regards to the exchange rate issue, allow me to advise you that this is unfortunately not in our control. Our prices are quoted in US dollars for credit card payment Bank International Indonesia – a subsidiary of Maybank – applies the official prevailing rate. Due to Government restrictions all banks are forced to charge in Rupiah and therefore no option can be provided. I have however taken note of your comment that this should be communicated better to our guests.

StravoGeo, thank you once again for staying with us. In the future, if we have the opportunity to welcome you as our patron once again, we would be delighted to discuss with you directly how we can accommodate your requests and deliver a memorable holiday.


Sincerely,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

An ideal place to get away for the weekend. Staff were friendly and attentive.
Had dinner at Lotus café and food was excellent. Had a ocean front room and the view was wonderful. All in all, had a wonderful weekend there and wished I could stay longer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santisgipfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

So seamless getting the ferry from Singapore to Bintan. You are there within the hour and the pick up from the terminal is efficient. Check in at the resort was quick and the room was clean and tidy, although the bathroom could do with an upgrade.
Facilities are fine and the pool is clean and well looked after. The beach has beautiful white soft sand and the activities like the ATVs, dune buggies, snorkelling gear and boggy boards are all great. Only prob is they are overpriced to rent and as everything is billed in US dollars we were paying a high price for their use.
Food is also fine except again, very expensive for what it is. Having said that, my son has food allergies and this resort was very proactive and helpful in ensuring his food choices were safe ones for him. This was much appreciated. I would love to return but would hesitate only because of the high cost of accommodation, food and activities. If these were lowered we would be back for sure as the Angsana does a great job service wise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JABUNITED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The welcome drinks is grassroots blend, nice but I believe most people can't drink it. This hotel is like a maze!! My friends room is at the other corner where you have to go down, walk few steps, then up the stairs. Though I went to her room in the afternoon, it do look scary as it was slightly quiet. The spa is expensive, the nick-nack stall is expensive .. well, most.. actually ALL!! It's my hubby's company trip.

Room Tip: No comment. :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haley16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Haley16,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the challenges and disappointment encountered during your recent visit to our resort. It is with much concern that I heard about the unfortunate shortfalls you experienced while spending your holiday in Angsana Bintan.

Your comment in regard to our home made Lemongrass welcome drink has been duly noted and I have shared your feedback with the respective department head .

With regards to your feedback for our Spa and Gallery pricing we conduct regularly surveys among the resorts in Bintan to ensure that Angsana Bintan is in line with our competitors .

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we are truly sorry to have let you down on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment caused.

Looking very much forward to welcome you back to Angsana Bintan in the future.


Sincerely,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I try to not repeat most of the reviews here which seem to be going to the same direction. Stayed here in early September for five nights. Staffs were really helpful and pleasant, especially that we speak local languages. Ibnu, Son and the rest of front desk team are worth accolades. The front desk during week days morning time could be extremely understaffed, it is understandable that the guests are pouring in during the weekend only, however, the front desk should not be left to skeleton shift that the guests are made to wait for a long time without anyone attending to. One of the front desk staff had to drive the hotel car herself to pick us up from nearby Banyan Tree after our breakfast, due to short of staff...or drivers. Everything is so expensive in this resort, and in Bintan Resort in general. We were kinda prepared since this was not our first trip. We tried the quad-bike for kids and jet skis from Angsana. Had a wonderful time with these guys from Angsana Marine Center, very accommodating and friendly. There is wi-fi everywhere including the beach. Still, the wi-fi session in our 2-bedroom suite is limited to 3 connections at any time, despite Mr. Vamvakas' comment before that he would work with IT to improve this, apparently he is still working on it.

You can skip the buffet breakfast in Lotus Cafe....it is far beyond standard for the amount we pay. The cut-fruit was not chilled with ice, topped up with flies. Plates were not cleaned in time, again, short of staff during weekdays. We went to Banyan Tree for our breakfast and dinner, and it offered truly different experience. It costs more there, but it offers much better food, ambience and 'class' there.

If you plan to go out, try to get the package tours that include lunch/dinner with massage and tour like mangrove. There are also some restaurants that offer free pickup and drop off which you can take advantage of. There are many reviews on that already so I will stop short here.

We rented a private car (from private vendor, not hotel) and went for a day-trip in Tanjung Pinang city, bought some dried-goods, and went back to Bintan Sayang Resort for our last kelong dinner there, which was pretty good with reasonable price.

Overall, it was good relaxing family time for five nights staying there. You just need to spend for quality time at quality places, do you?

Room Tip: Rooms in ground floor has direct access to the hotel grounds through backdoor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ymarzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#1 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,808 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
23.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Bintan Island
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#2 of 8 in Lagoi
211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Lagoi Hotel by Nirwana Gardens
1.7 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang | Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range: £85 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing