We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good weekend getaway”
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good weekend getaway”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Spacious property, well manicured beach front and great spa. We celebrated our son's 10th bday here over the weekend and we all enjoyed the view, the food and were pleased with the staff's attentiveness. Downside though, the breakfast menu needs a bit of updating to cater not only to 'local' delicacies. In addition, replenishing the buffet food should be done perpetually as most of the guests will have to wait before it gets refilled which sometime is taking ages to do so.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank royaltradition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Royaltradition,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback that has been posted on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable experience during your stay with us and that our associate’s attentiveness impressed you, for which I would like to thank you very much.
Your feedback regarding our Breakfast menu and Buffet service is well noted. Please rests assure that we look into this with the intention to improve.
I am confident that you will see improvement in the future should we have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Angsana Bintan.

Sincerely,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    646
    287
    101
    54
See reviews for
566
623
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had booked a 2 bedroom suite for our family. Maybe we were lucky, but waking up at Sataurday morning was like a dream. From our terrace (which we could enter from both bedrooms and the living room) we had a perfect view to the beach, blue sea and the pool and gardens. Maybe we had been awarded the best room at the hotel (closest to the beach at 4th floor), but this view was the best we have had compared to anywhere else.
The long beutiful beach was even better than shown at the hotels website. Very clean and well maintained with nice chairs, beutiful surroundings and very quite. Perfect conditions for swimming and for kids playing at the beach or in the water. Short distance between pool and beach is also advantagous.
Our last trip was to Bali and we all agreed that this beach was better than anything we say down there!
In addition the service provided by the hotel was impressing both for roomservice, at the beach/pool and in the restaurants. Having just a weekend we did not get time for doing anything else than beeing at beach so we did not see much more of the island.
If I should try to find something negative as well it must be that the price for food was a bit expensive - especially for a family with teenagers who do not want kids menu anymore! Expect Singapore prices ++!
This is probably the most optimal weekend trip possible from Singapore! We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank Erlend E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Eriend E,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback in reference to your stay at Angsana Bintan.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed our Beach and the warm service provided by our associates.
It is with great pleasure that we all look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Bintan in the near future

Sincerely,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Pros
1. Super friendly staff - no problem with arranging late check out, felt that the staff did go out of their way to accommodate our situation
2. The beach/pool/environment was relaxing, beds were comfortable (very important!)
3. The large lizards are so cool!
4. Food was tasty (pricey, but hey you are staying at a resort, no)
5. The absence of mosquitoes is to be applauded - given it's basically in the middle of the rain forest.

Cons
1. Yes the hardware/furniture may be dated - but the resort is 10+ years old and the sea wind is expected to corrode the wood. If I must whinge - my bed sheets were torn (but that was folded under so a mere cosmetic inconvenience.)
2. The fans in the rec lounge could seriously benefit from a wash, there's quite a layer of dust on the blades.
3. One note about the visa on arrival process - as travelers we were vary wary of letting our passports out of our sights, but were too polite to refuse. It would be reassuring if we were offered the chance to accompany our passports while the visa was being issues at the ferry terminal. We were vary concerned at one point when we didn't know where exactly our passports were.

Room Tip: All rooms have a face the beach. The designers did a good job to make all the rooms have a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Valerio C,

Thank you for you kind compliment and feedback of Angsana Bintan on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. It is rewarding for us every time we received such a wonderful comment from our guests. We are constantly looking at improvements throughout the resort and we’ll make an effort there to come up with the ones you have highlighted.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Angsana Bintan in the future.

Sincerely,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We loved our stay at the Angsana Bintan. We had read the reviews before going and knew that it was going to be expensive for food and drinks but the staff and service we received was great -whatever you asked for was no bother to them at all . We spent the first week of our holiday in Singapore doing all of the sights and then the second week in Angsana Bintan relaxing, sunbathing and swimming, which was just what we needed after Singapore. Our room was overlooking the pool but also near to the beach so fab view in great location. We ate in both restaurants in Angsana and also in the three restaurants in Banyan Tree and the food was well worth the price paid. The Spa was lovely and I would certainly recommend the massage. We didn't venture out of the resort into the town which I think was about 1 hour away but from the reviews I have read we didn't miss much. All of the nice touches (having beds turned down every night, little gifts left everyday, lovely smelling oil burners and incense sticks in room etc) made the stay even more special.

Room Tip: the block of rooms at the end nearest to the beach/sea are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Anne221,

Thank you for taking the time in post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us at Angsana Bintan. We are committed to improve all aspects of our Resort including our property and service quality and we are glad that our hard efforts are well recognized.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort and create a more positive and memorable experience on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Angsana but found it outrageously expensive. We were there for an event (Tour de Bintan) and so had not really done a lot of research into our destination. Prices here are definitely Singapore plus plus. Everything is quoted in US dollars and don't make the mistake that we did of thinking that because it is Indonesia things will be cheap.

The facilities are fine but nothing really special and the property is looking a bit tired. I'm not sure how old it is but the rooms and bathrooms could do with some renovation. The air conditioning in the bedroom was noisy. The service on the other hand was lovely. Everyone we encountered was friendly, smiling and helpful. Because of the cycling event that we were there for there was quite a bit of mucking around with the bike and the hotel managed all of that impeccably.

On the whole it was a pleasant stay but it's just a resort and there are plenty of other lovely resorts in South-East Asia that offer much better value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn63_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Carolyn63_13,

Thank you for providing us your feedback on your recent stay with us. We feel very disappointed that your stay at Angsana Bintan did not live up to the expectation that you had of our brand.

I regret to hear of your disappointment regarding our pricing policy in our property. We are looking into our pricing monthly to ensure it is adequate and acceptable in comparison to other resorts in Bintan.

We apologize for the unacceptable conditions that you have encountered and wish to reassure that your concerns are well noted. I would like to inform you that we conduct on yearly basis room maintenance including maintenance and refurbishment of rooms, interiors and bathrooms and to assure you of our efforts and commitment to keep adding value to our guest experience, the project is being carried out in phases.

Last but not the least we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in Angsana Bintan and I have not missed to share it with our associates.

Looking very much forward to welcome you back to Angsana Bintan in the future.


Sincerely,


Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Upon arrival at the resort, the staff greeted arriving guests with some great smile which I find it really nice of them. Prior to my stay, I had requested for a little surprise to be arrange for my fiance's birthday which I am more then grateful that the resort had done up some decoration in my room and also put in a complimentary birthday cake. One of the thing which we really enjoy in Angsana is the Spa. I had read some reviews saying that it has one of the best spa around in Bintan which we do not hesitate to give it a try during our stay. The friendly staff in the spa takes the effort to explain the flow of the session and all the ingredient that is going to be use during the message are very professional which we find it relatively surprise with such good knowledge and effort that the resort had put in.

A little downside to the stay is that the pricing are kind of high on the food and beverages. Also it may be due to the age of the resort which there are some areas that should need some proper upkeep and maintenance. But overall the stay was great and we will definitely return to Angsana during our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank Tan Sze Sen 1 T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The place just looks old, but charges as though brand new. And they know there is demand for places in Bintan, so why not just gouge here and there from guests just extortionate prices as they know there is no where else to go. So charging US$8++ for a big bottle of water they deem reasonable, I am sorry but that is just highway robbery. But don't just think the water is like that, everything is like that. And it isn't of any quality. For a first time visitor to a Bintan hotel I am just put off by the whole place. And the kicker in the teeth was having to check out by 12, but with a 230 bus to the ferry they cut off the crappy wi-fi for us to access. To be honest, consider other holiday locations besides Bintan as it isn't worth the hassle of being ripped off constantly.

Room Tip: For those in Singapore. it is easier to fly somewhere else for the same time frame
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taipan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Taipan49,

Please accept my deepest apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced with us during your stay.

I regret to hear of your disappointment regarding our pricing policy in our property. Allow me to point out that we are looking into our pricing on a monthly basis to be in line in comparison to other resorts in Bintan.

With regards to the checkout time if there was a possibility to extent until your ferry departure we would have been delighted to accommodate your request.

Internet usage is free and can be used until departure.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Angsana Bintan in the future.


Sincerely,


Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,562 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
23.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
176 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#7 of 36 in Bintan Island
338 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Property: Angsana Bintan
Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang | Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing