We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A disappointing stay”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Angsana for two nights as a getaway from Singapore. The location and private beach is a definite plus - we never had any problem finding a sun lounger and the view was beautiful. We also found the service to be good - especially at the restaurant/bar on the beach. However the hotel itself is very tired, and we were really disappointed with our room (especially considering now much it cost per night!) Our room was dated, dingy and generally in need of a renovation. Our patio doors didn't open properly - on the second morning we couldn't get to our swim wear (that we had left drying outside) as the doors were completely stuck. It wasn't a room we wanted to spend any time in.

We also booked to eat at the Fisherman's Table (on the beach) the second night. This was also really disappointing - we didn't enjoy the food at all and as a word of warning I got bitten alive (despite wearing repellent). The first night we ate at the sister hotel (Banyan Tree) and that was lovely!

Overall we won't be staying at the Angsana again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chaela104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear chaela104,

I am delighted to learn that along with the private beach, the beautiful view, tranquillity and the ever friendly staff, we had met your expectations during your recent stay.

I am saddened to know that you were not satisfied with the rooms as you felt they were in need of renovation. Please be assured that we do regular room upkeep program to ensure that a high level of comfort is well maintained for all our guests. However kindly be assured that your feedback has been looked into seriously.

Thank you for taking an opportunity to try out the restaurant at our sister hotel. I am happy that you had a nice dining experience there.

I look forward to welcoming you once again to Angsana Bintan.


Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    618
    272
    98
    54
See reviews for
537
593
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We were looking into celebrating my father in laws 75th birthday on Bintan Island. At the end our choice fell for the Angsana Resort, Bintan.
Upon the arrival at the ferry terminal on Bintan, selected countries, have to purchase a visa for $US 15.00, which is valid for 7 days.
Generally no problem, but a bit on the high side, considering u are on a holiday island.
The resort provides transport in a shuttle bus, luggage goes in separate car.
Arriving at the the resort was done professionally and with no interruption.
Our room, one of the suites, was clean and welcoming. Internet needs to be upgraded, can not access, very very slow.
A large "backyard" outside the large verandah, makes one feel like in your own house. Most of the suite rooms are less then 50 metres away from t he beach and pool.
Overall the F&B was of good quality and portion side, but on the high side in terms of pricing. Everything is in USD, therefore be ready for a hefty bill, if u dine in the resort.
Breakfast is nicely presented, with something for everyone.
We booked one night for the BBQ. on the beach, again a bit on the high side and seafood only available with the basic choice. Salads, soup, accompaniments and 5-6 BBQ-seafood-meat items cooked fresh.
The sports activities on the beach are a good buy, in line with prices in Thailand and other resorts in the region.
Recreation room could go with an A/C as per comments from the family.
Pool is great and big enough, set in a Mediterranean style design, with fountains and kids area adjacent.
Everyday has a good program for things to do.
Overall:
If you consider the remote environment, with food coming via Jakarta, a revised pricing structure might be something to look into.
Otherwise a nice break in a clean and well looked after environment, supported and served by very friendly and cheerful staff, who have always a smile on their faces.
I would be back, just for the pool:))

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Exec1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Exec1965,

Thank you for having chosen Angsana Bintan for your Father-in-laws birthday celebration. I am happy to note that we were able to deliver services up to your expectations.

The recreation room is designed to boast openness that allows sea breeze circulate nicely while you are enjoying your time inside. However your feedback about AC to go with the room has been well noted and looked into.

I have also noted your comment on our WiFi connection; please rest assured that a follow up is in place.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort sometime in the near future.


Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Spacious room along quiet stretch of beach with clear water. SGD 5 for shuttle to market nearby. Food and drinks are overpriced in the hotel thou. Great place for a getaway near sg. Lower priced alternative for banyan tree as it is just right beside it sharing the same beach.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacseej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear jacseej,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for providing us this valuable feedback.

Your comments on our prices of food and beverage has been noted. We will be addressing with the concerned departments for follow up.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Bintan for yet, another week-end getaway.


Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for a night at Angsana Bintan & totally loved the experience.

We enjoyed the yoga workout at Banyan Tree, the restaurants with great ambience & the clean & clear beach!

It's such a relaxing stay. The room was great with all the necessary amenities & most of all the friendly staff at Angsana left the greatest inpression!

Will certainly wish to be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank Kimugoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Kimugoh,

I am delighted to learn that our friendliness has left the greatest impression on you, and more importantly we were able to deliver the true experience of Angsana Bintan.

It is lovely to hear how you also enjoyed the yoga workout at our sister hotel along with our restaurant and the pristine beach.

I would be happy to have you back again with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Did a 2 days 1 night stay recently at Angsana Bintan just to get away for the weekend to unwind. The private beach with white sand & clear water was so welcoming. Definitely a plus point for those who enjoy the sea.

The Angsana Spa is excellent and offered top notch service. Spa ambience is calming and definitely a must do when in Angsana.

Food is slightly on the pricey range but that's expected on Bintan Island. Will definitely go back to Angsana whenever a short break is required to de-stress!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Michelle L,

I am so happy to hear that we have were able to provide you with a memorable experience.

With a private beach white sandy beach sand and clear lagoon topped with a natural rainforest surrounding the resort, Angsana Bintan indeed makes a perfect short get-away from Singapore that can be reached within 45 minutes by a ferry ride.

Thank you for the generous comments on SPA and on our overall facilities and services. I look forward to welcome you back to Angsana Bintan in a near future.


Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is my first time to Bintan. Actually there are 3 ways to get to Bintan. From Batam, from Singapore, and from Tanjung Pinang. I chose the latest simply because it only took me one type of transport from the airport to the resort, which is by taxi. I didn't choose Batam because I heard I have to take taxi to the port, took a ferry, and another transport to the resort.
The resort is quite an exclusive area because you can't get in without any reservation. I checked in around 1 pm, but couldn't get into my room until almost 3 pm. But that's the only disappointing service, because the rest of the vacation I get great services.
I guess when you're being patient, you get the best, because I got a room with a great view to the pool and the ocean from 4th floor. The kids loved the pool and the beach. The beach has the softest sand almost like a baby powder. We got to see sea hatchling turtles where they let baby turtles finding their ways to the ocean. Many activities there, but I didn't get the chance to explore them.
Bintan is quite expensive for Indonesian because they use SGD and Angsana use USD. The breakfast at Lotus Cafe is good, but I don't expect to spend 4 mornings with the same menu everyday. :)
The transport is hard to find. They provide free shuttle bus to Kelong Restaurant at Nirwana Garden Resort which leaves at 6.30 pm and back at 8 pm and 10 pm. It is a 10 minutes ride. Kelong has great food, and is located over the beach. It would've been a great sight, but we couldn't see anything at 7 pm. Kelong uses SGD and Rupiah.
Angsana also provide a bus to Pasar Oleh-oleh, SGD 5 for adult and SGD 3 for child. The bus leaves at 12.30pm the soonest, but they have many schedules after that. If we miss the latest bus, we have to take a taxi back to the resort. It takes 15 minutes to get there from the hotel.
I didn't spend so much time exploring Pasar Oleh2 because it's kinda hot and the children gets 'cranky'. The place is smaller than I expected, but there are restaurants and minimarkets to buy drinks and snacks.I found a taxi there which I used everywhere I go, including to Ferry Terminal to go to Singapore, which is only 15 minutes from Angsana. The trip from Bintan to Singapore by ferry is 1 hour.
I also had seafood lunch the next day at Ciu Yong Seafood Restaurant, 1 hour drive from Angsana.
Overall, despite the price and the transport, we love it anyway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Dewi H,

Thank you for sharing this Angsana experience.

The team and I are thankful to you for choosing to stay with us and we are pleased to know that you have had a comfortable stay.

I would like to highlight to you that as in almost all hotels, we have a check-in and a check-out time. In our case, it is 3pm check-in. The purpose of this is to allow our Housekeeping team to clean and refresh the rooms for the new arrivals after the guests check-out at 12:00 noon.

I am glad that at the end of the day you loved the room that we have assigned as well as the stunning view from its balcony.

I am happy to note that you were able to join our our sea turtle hatchlings release. It was the second release in 2014 and we intend to carry out more in the coming months.

The team and I are looking forward for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great stay and professional staff and great location to area. Quite disappointed as we didn't get the suite near to beach although the reservation did mentioned that they will arrange accordingly but overall i did enjoyed my stay and will recommend to others. :) not forgetting the exotic spa as its great way to indulge and unwind ourselves.

Room Tip: 111 Angsana suite near to swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabinaJAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear SabinaJAs,

I am delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for pointing out our beautiful location and the exotic Angsana Spa.
Allow me to apologize for communication issue regarding your room assignment; I have shared your feedback to the concerned department head for full investigation and follow up.

I look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back again to Angsana Bintan in the future.


Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#4 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
23.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
5.6 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Property: Angsana Bintan
Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang | Laguna, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing