We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful, isolated resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bintan Agro Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Bintan Island
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my older children for a few days, whilst visiting Singapore. The staff were very welcoming, polite and we had a lovely suite, spacious, clean and good value for money. This is the perfect location for a few days relaxation. Children were disappointed that we couldn't book diving lessons, or no assistance provided to do so with neighbouring resorts. Fantastic for a peaceful stay but limited transport provided to access local areas or markets. Avoid the bike ride! enjoyed the mangrove tour, staff very helpful. Two restaurants, good choice of food but found service variable. Beautiful sunrise and spa treats. We really enjoyed our stay and the calm, pretty surroundings. Maria and boys

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmobvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Bintan Agro Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife and I checked in 10 August and out 11 August. Here is a short review of our experience.

1. Getting there.
We secured the resort and left the ferry booking to be done a few days before the trip. The resort website was not helpful -> http://www.agrobeach.com/location.html . It mentioned only route to resort is by Tg Pinang port and the ferries are fully booked due to the long weekend. We called up the resort and they were pretty helpful. Resort staff responded that pickup can be arranged from Bandar Bentan Telani Terminal (preferred). We secured the 1110am ferry and 135pm (due to long weekend holiday) next day return ferry https://www.brf.com.sg/phpsite/?page_id=39. Land transport will be handled by the resort.

Cleared the customs at BBT and went into the transports operators outside the terminal. Told them Agro beach resort and was referred to a guy who had our names on his list. Small van was arranged to pick us to Agro and the rest of the passengers will be dropping off at Cabana resort.

Journey to Cabana was 1 hour, 15 minutes additional to reach Agro.

2. Resort and food

Too Early for check in, we headed for lunch at Sun Moon Restaurant which was elevated over the sea. It was decent Chinese style food at decent price. Had crabs and their Indonesian BBQ items which were coated with dark and sweet sauce.

Saw many beach goers on the banana boat / flying fish rides and enjoying the beach. Oceanic Spa was fully booked and we had to book for Sunday morning instead.

After lunch the tide was low and all rides were stopped. You could walk on ankle high water for 400 metres out into the sea.

We checked in and got a room on the second floor above the Asiana Beach Bistro. It had a view facing the pool and sea but pity it was super low tide. Sky was overcast too. No sun and sea :(

Room was basic and clean. TV reception was bad. Shower water heater had to be switched on for 45 minutes before you had hot water.

3. Resort facilities

Swimming pool was small packed with kids. Water was very cloudy and I had to have my goggles on. After 10 minutes we gave up.

On the beach were many small shelter huts. A group was playing beach volleyball.

Wanted to try Asiana Beach Bistro but they do not seem like they serve dinner. We exchanged our welcome drink coupon there. No one was eating there and the lights were dim. Staff did not approach us with menu.

We went back to sun moon for dinner and beer. Bought a durian from the counter. IT was good!

Next day we enjoyed couple massage at the spa. Room had a view of the sea. Massage was good and we enjoyed a discount having booked the day before. Instead of SGD 80 we paid $72.

We had breakfast buffet at the Asiana then walked about the resort and transport picked us up promptly at 1130. Nothing to shout about for Breakfast, only eggs cooking counter was something which met the expectations.

IT was another hour and 15 minutes drive back to BBT.

Room Tip: Buy beer and drinking water from the BBT terminal. Costs less than the resort. Singapore currency...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank funnyloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

You can read the full review here http://pepperminter.blogspot.sg/2012/12/bintan-agro-resort-spa-with-bonvo-travel.html

Basically the entire place has only 1 spa, 1 sea sports and 1 cafe.

It's a good place to really relax from hectic lifestyle but not a fantastic view from the beach. It's quiet and quite isolated. Getting to the town would be a waste of time so basically we just slacked in the resort watching TV etc.

Don't expect too much and this trip would be fine.

Room Tip: Pool view would be good.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepperminter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We reached at 8pm by ferry and reached the hotel at 10 15.no warm welcome.rushed to d hotel which closes at 10 30 and were reluctantly given small portions of food.went to sleep practically empty stomach.they dont provide more than two bottles of water.4 power cuts in two days.while returning they missed out on my roomates names for the bus back to the ferry terminal. Never going back there.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie1988traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The trip went sour because of the management:
- No welcome drink was provided
-Restaurants close at 10:30, so they expect us to eat by then. Otherwise they expect us to go hungry
-They do not provide drinking water if the stay is beyond 2 days. They flatly refused me water when I asked. They stated that complimentary water service was over and that I had to buy water to drink after the second day
-They refused to serve us dessert at the restaurant after 10:30 pm...even though we sat to have dinner well before 10 pm
-Power went out 3-4 times during our stay
-On the date of departure,they messed up our complimentary bus service to the ferry terminal. We went as a group of 5 people and booked two rooms. But they arranged transport for only one of us. On top of that,they showed us a very bad attitude and were very rude. Only after a long verbal battle did they provide us a separate transport.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank testmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

It was nice weekend to stay ay Bintan Agro Resort, the beach such a lovely, my room view it just like what i wanted. Restaurant was cheap with nice taste. I will come again one day to play beach sport :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niaroctfirsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during my partner's birthday and it was indeed memorable. I would like to give credits to the staffs at Sun Moon Restaurant on duty on June 3, 2013 for the arrangement they've done that made my boyfriend's bday memorable. There was no cake available but good enough that they have suggested to arrange heart-shape pancakes as alternative. My bf was really touched and surprised. But everything went downhill after that.

PROS:
-staffs at SunMoon restaurant were amazing and reliable
-rooms have separate veranda which is very spacious, good for family or friends
-room are spacious though old and tv are outdated

CONS:
-language barrier with housekeeping staff, we were at the other restaurant when the rain poured. I phoned housekeeping from there if they can arrange to send a complimentary water at the restaurant. And the answer was YES. We waited for 30mins. No water arrived. We decided to just ran to our room though it was still a heavy rain. I phoned housekeeping again to complain yet they seemed not to understand my point that they should'nt atleast said yes if they cant deliver it so atleast we couldnt have waited. Or the staff whom i've asked if we can take the water from there and housekeeping can just change when the rain stopped made an effort to just approve our request rather than an urgent decline of service. Disappointing!
-room was old
-toilet was crampy and small
-beach was TOO DIRTY
-breaskfast spread wasn't really satisfactory.
-prices are affordable but a lil pricey compared to other resorts in the area

Overall, I can say that it's just for a good one time visit. Wouldnt dare to come back as it's too far and nothing much to do in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
592 reviews
25.4 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
24.2 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 36 in Bintan Island
363 reviews
24.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,611 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Agro Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora km. 36 | Teluk Bakau, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range: £51 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Agro Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the new plane of paradise at Bintan Agro Beach Resort.Located in the south-eastern coast of Bintan Island, come revel in the realm of sparkling beaches and picturesque shorelines that will help set your mood for the perfect getaway. Home to a spread of scenic floras, crystal white sands and clear turquoise waters, our resorts nestle along the beachfront-with a cosy touch of perennial decor, friendly services and warm hospitality that will ensure the ideal retreat you deserve. Seafood lovers can also replete with delectable savouries in alfresco dining style that sits above the calm, glistening waters-while you indulge in the panoramic view of a breathtaking seascape.And for those who wish to escape the hordes will consider their time well spent here. With our first-ever ocean side spa on the island, imagine retreating into a calm journey that will soothe your body and mind for the many adventures to come.Appealingly casual and laidback, we have an atmosphere that makes for the perfect vacation. Only at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, experience the perfect holiday destination that will leave you wanting for more.LocationThe island of Bintan is about 40 Km from Singapore. The travel time to Tanjung Pinang is about 1 hour 45 minutes by Sindo Ferry / Wavemaster Ferry and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is situated on the East coast of Bintan and is 45 minutes away from Sri Bintan Pura Ferry Terminal. The travel time to Bintan Resort is about 55 minutes by Bintan Resort Ferries (BRF)and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bintan Agro Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Agro Beach Hotel Bintan
Bintan Agro Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing