We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bintan Agro Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Bintan Island
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The ferry from Singapore was at 9AM from the Tanah Merah Ferry terminal. It reached Bintan ferry terminal at 9am(local time) and there was a pick up from Agro beach resort. We had chosen an itenary which included a city tour before heading to the resort. The main town of Bintan is around 1-1.5 hours away from the ferry terminal. The roads are winding with greenery all around. The almost zero traffic on the road was also a plus!!!

Our first stop was the Buddha temple which was supposed to be the biggest on the island. The huge golden buddha is awe inspiring along with various other statues on the side. The stone work all around the temple is magnificient.

From there we headed out for lunch which as a typical Indonesian fare with lots of seafood and chicken. There was a dish of boiled shellfish, where the meat had to be pulled out of the shell. It was supposed to a local delicacy.The next stop was the Ramayana Mall where we indulged in a little bit of shopping.

We then headed out to the resort which was again another 1 hour journey.
The check-in was fairly simple and easy and we were taken in a kind of tuk-tuk to our room. The room was an individual unit made of wood and facing the sea.
It was really beautiful and it felt like you had the entire sea to yourself!! The room was neat and so was the bathroom. There was no earthing in the room and I got a feeble shock when trying to charge my phone.

The main attractions at the resort are the water games. After resting for a while we headed out to try these games. A cloudy sky and timely drizzle added to our fun. At night we had a moonlight dinner(at the Sun Moon Restaurant) in the open by the sea, though the food was nothing great to speak off.

The next day, the low tide in the morning was almost a shock. The entire seabed was visible for a considerable distance. But the sea regained its composure within an hour or two. We had breakfast with decent varities . There is a mini zoo(which is quite sad) and gift shop at the resort. The collection of local indonesian artifacts at the gift shop is good and we ended up buying some of them. The day was mainly spent roaming around the resort and relaxing. After a heavy lunch,at another restaurant within the resort which was really good, we spent some time relaxing by the sea. The return trip to the ferry terminal of an hour was again spent looking at the greenery and long winding roads ahead.

On the whole the trip was fun. It is true that there is nothing much to do in Bintan other than relaxing within the resort. The main towns are all quite far from the resorts. Its also good to carry some Indonesian Rupiah as eventhough they accept the Singapore dollar the conversion rate works out to be a disadvantage for us.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKL2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2010

me and 6 of my friends were in this resort for the last weekend of July 2010. the place was ok, very cozy, even the rooms we stayed in are awesome, can't complain. the reception were equally nice, food as expected is typically spicy indonesian. overall it was ok. but the bad thing is that, we tried the sea sports package that makes u ride a minimum of 4 sea sports. from the very first sea sports which in our case was the banana boat, up until the 4th one, we felt like we were literally going to die in the middle of the ocean. it was more frightening than exciting and fun, which we were expecting for a weekend getaway. and the worst thing is that, the sea sports operators that run the boats are not even english speakers but regardless, from the expressions on each of our faces, even the ignorant of persons can tell WE WANT THE STUPID THING TO STOP ALREADY COZ WE DON'T WANNA DIE IN THAT OCEAN!

i hope the management somehow would be able to read this and do something about it before it gets worst. you can stay in the hotel and enjoy the scenery but be very careful in choosing the sea sport u want to go for an adventure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesTamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Quite a nice place to stay at in Bintan away from the usual crowds at the other side of Bintan where all the popular resorts like Bintan Lagoon Resorts/Nirwana etc are. There are only a few families/groups of people there when my family was there so it was really peaceful and quiet. Staff were very friendly, everyone smiled and greeted you be it the front desk/room services pple/even the sweeper etc. No problems like power tripping though the shower temperature fluctuated between boiling hot and freezing cold quite badly. Beach was not the clear blue kind but you can take the boat out to White Sands beach or Mapur Island for snorkeling or just for a swim. Sun Moon restaurant which served seafood and chinese cuisine was really good and cheap. We stayed at the honeymoon suite which faces the sea so the view was really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themorningmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Resort for actually 10 nights - I guess this was very unusual for Agro Beach and other Bintan Resorts. At first we wanted to stay at Yasin Bungalows but when we arrived we decided that the backpacking days were definatly over. It was no problem to move to Agro Beach Resort cause its a sister resort. Everybody was absolutly lovely. We enjoyed our stay so much. Agro Beach resort has not really a beautiful beach but as it is no problem to get transfers to Cabana Beach Resort or go on snorkeling tours to Marpur Island or use the pool we had enough possibiliies to enjoy a swim. The food is good. We loved the Fried Rice and Thuna Sandwiches as well as the Thai Fish Filet. The staff is absolutly loveable ;). The only disappointment was the *Fish restaurant* We didn't go there a second time. The service was lousy. At Agro Beach Resort you can enjoy a lot of water fun activities. Karaoke in the evening had many fans ;)
it seems also to be a good place for kitesurfing!
We absolutly recommend this place because you get a lot for a cool price ;))

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatWitch64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I went for a short getaway to destress over the weekend at Bintan Agro Beach Resort. This resort is good for those who are into water-sports and the like, as well as those who wanna enjoy the sun, the sea and the sand... Everything was still good, until I ventured to the mini-zoo and saw how badly managed the animals were! For an animal lover like me, it destroyed my mood. While this resort is not a bad place, I would urge that the management give the most basic necessity to the animals, which is clean drinking water. Would it reflect well on the management when tourists come and saw the animals, caged and dead? If the mini-zoo is no longer an attraction, then let the animals go! During my stay there, the only diet for the animals were papaya skin! I would hope to go back to Agro Beach Resort one day too, for the tranquility and the beautiful views of the sea. All said, I really hope the management can do something about it. For those who are staying at the resort, do check it out, and hopefully, things will change for the better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer_rikard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Trikora Beach is not for swimming!
Better get a package rate don't get the regular rate you'll feel robbed. We got a package rate of SGD 125/person inclusive of Ferry from SG-Bintan-SG, Land transfer Terminal-Hotel-Terminal, 1N stay.
SPA - Footreflex skills is average (not bad) but the linens are smelly and there's beach flies!
Room - Spacious and clean. But pillows are to thick and hard. We ended up sleeping w/o pillows
Food - Love IT! Others may feel it expensive but everything here is singapore rate :D
Pool - I don't think they clean it regularly.
Staff - Friendly and accommodating. Treat them nice to if you want to be treated the same.
Don't expect too much. What you see in their website is not what you exactly get. It's disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spytime2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

I was staying in the Agro Blue Ocean "Honeymoon Sutie". The room is cosy and it is on top of the sea with a great sea view. The place is quiet due to not much people around, the white sandy beach with calm sea water is great, they do have alot of fun sea sport there. The food wasn't that great but if you are those that is not so picky on food than it will be still not so bad. There have a pool just beside the pool, which means that it is facing the sea too. The sea water is very clear and it is very shallow, my friend walk about 100meter out yet it is still only at his waist level. Room service menu is limited but food in the room not really expensive. The staff are friendly and helpful, fast check in and fast check out too. But the pick up veh is very super hot, think the air-con is not working. To me Honeymoon suite will be much of a better choice then Jacuzzi Suite, it really worth the value!!! I wouldn't mind going again... but from ferry to the hotel is an hour plus drive... I didn't face any power trip but the water for shower is at times cold and at times hot, very difficult to get a right temp.. but all these are just small problem, overall I still it is a good place for relaxation...

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckybig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Bintan Island
629 reviews
24.2 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,701 reviews
24.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#1 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
22 mi away
Grand Lagoi Hotel by Nirwana Gardens
25.5 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Agro Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora km. 36 | Teluk Bakau, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#11 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range: £52 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Agro Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the new plane of paradise at Bintan Agro Beach Resort.Located in the south-eastern coast of Bintan Island, come revel in the realm of sparkling beaches and picturesque shorelines that will help set your mood for the perfect getaway. Home to a spread of scenic floras, crystal white sands and clear turquoise waters, our resorts nestle along the beachfront-with a cosy touch of perennial decor, friendly services and warm hospitality that will ensure the ideal retreat you deserve. Seafood lovers can also replete with delectable savouries in alfresco dining style that sits above the calm, glistening waters-while you indulge in the panoramic view of a breathtaking seascape.And for those who wish to escape the hordes will consider their time well spent here. With our first-ever ocean side spa on the island, imagine retreating into a calm journey that will soothe your body and mind for the many adventures to come.Appealingly casual and laidback, we have an atmosphere that makes for the perfect vacation. Only at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, experience the perfect holiday destination that will leave you wanting for more.LocationThe island of Bintan is about 40 Km from Singapore. The travel time to Tanjung Pinang is about 1 hour 45 minutes by Sindo Ferry / Wavemaster Ferry and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is situated on the East coast of Bintan and is 45 minutes away from Sri Bintan Pura Ferry Terminal. The travel time to Bintan Resort is about 55 minutes by Bintan Resort Ferries (BRF)and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bintan Agro Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Agro Beach Hotel Bintan
Bintan Agro Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing