We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel for a short trip”
Review of M-Regency Makassar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
M-Regency Makassar
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Makassar
Reviewed 29 December 2013

When I checked in to this hotel (formerly known as Mercure hotel), there was a demo held by hotel employees for two days. From time to time the lights off for a few seconds which was quite disturbing. The hotel claimed that electricity cut off was a regular disruption by the state electricity company. The rooms are quite comfortable and clean, the service was friendly, though not a lot of staff available The restaurant manager was responsive, as well as the front office. The hotel's location is also strategic enough and only a few dozen meters from the beach Losari. I felt quite secured staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElShintaPrimadona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales M, Owner at M-Regency Makassar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

First of all, we would like to express a great gratitude for taking the time to review our hotel. as a mid scale hotel, we strive to achieve the highest standards of service. and we have been doing so far the past eight years in service.

two points of the review worth being isolated for further investigation. we regret to inform that the two days of demo by employees have never taken place.

the second is the power interruption by the state electricity company was also in question. our hotel has 2 units of fully functional generating sets with the capacity of 800 kva, which cover 145% of the hotel's capacity. therefore well equipped to deal with any external power interruptions in real time.

furthermore, the city of Makassar where the hotel is located does not experience any shortage of electricity for the past 2 years.

therefore, the occurrence of electricity interruption as claimed is particularly strange in nature.

however, we welcome the opportunity for further feedback.

With Kind Regards,
Owner M-Regency Hotel Makassar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

When I called the hotel to book, the front desk lady said that all rooms have sea view. But unfortunately I got superior room facing to the street with generator-like buzzing sound out from the AC box. When the next day I complained, the management offered me neither a smoking room nor a room without any window. Both are worst choies. As the management was not able to compensate by grading-up the room, so then I had to continue to stay in the irritating buzzing and rather run down room with old furniture and stained carpet which refrigerator was locked. I did not ony complain about the room, but also for he service. No tissue paper other than toilet paper in the room, and I also had to call house keeping to ask for soap.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sulasmiyati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales M, Owner at M-Regency Makassar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Sirs/Madam

we would like to take the opportunity to apologize for number of short comings experienced while staying at our hotel.

the negative level of service encountered was definitely in contrary with your expectation. therefore, allow us to express our deep and sincere apology.

the fact is half of the hotel rooms have sea views. unfortunately, this has not been communicated properly. the exterior unit of the air conditioning in question has been repaired. as for the choice of smoking rooms, we have only limited number of rooms available. therefore unable to provide 100% of the time.

at the time of your stay, the hotel experienced a very high occupancy and some rooms were being renovated. a mistake was made for offering the room scheduled for maintenance.

i would like to ensure you this will never happen again. tour feedback has been a valuable lesson for our team. again thank you very much for your valuable reviews and wish to have you choose to stay at our hotel to next your visit Makassar.

With kind regards,
Owner M-Regency Hotel Makassar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, great location (5-10 minute walk to Losari Beach). Clean. Spacious room with a bath-tub. Various breakfast. They provide free saraba (Makassar traditional drink) in the afternoon, more tasty than the one you can buy on the street. Unfortunately, the sound of the outdoor air condition (right in front of our bedroom window) was very loud. Apart from it, we enjoy our staying in this hotel. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veralie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is not an Accor Mercure Hotel anymore, though in August 2013 it is still shown as such on some websites.
The lobby, bar and restaurant is of good standard and the inclusive breakfast was very good.
For some odd reason the main enterence is chained up and you enetr from a lift in the car park?
The rooms are a good size and clean, but if you want to be picky things like the carpet are a little worn.This is free wi fi in every room (not shown as standard on some websites)
The location is very good and about a three minute walk to the more pleasant waterfront area of the town.

Room Tip: Some rooms face into the city and others towards the sea (Though I havent actually seen if you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essexlol-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Located at daeng tompo road... You can walk to losari beach about 7minutes...hotel is clean..but the location on small road not in main road...many taxi outside hotel if you want to go anywhere... Breakfast is average.. Room is medium size.. The price is arround 400-500k.. Not bad for this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
11
Reviewed 24 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2013

First thing I encountered a I entered the room is that they provide no hairdryer. It is certainly a pain in the neck since you have to borrow it from the housekeeping and on one condition that the dryer is not borrowed by other occupant.
Now, I'm staying n non smoking floor but it smells ashtray as soon as I walked in the room. Well maybe thats just my nose, though.
Air cond takes a long while before it cools the room. Makassar is very hot during the day so it will be great to have it working the other way around. If you put it on maximum fan speed, you're gonna hear a loud buzzing sound.
My room was on the odd number side of the building and at night youre gonna hear dogs barking from houses in the neighborhood. They said they have hotel security guard to hush the dogs everytime they start to bark. Nonsense. They either need to rebuild this hotel with noise proof wall or get rid of the dogs.
I ask to relocate. They relocated me to the other side of the building. Barking noise is gone now. Soon as I thought I could rest for the night, I found: greyish brushed stain on the yellowing sheet, sticky sugar spill on the night stand AND the desk, and no nightstand lamp. This room also has no mini bar mirror (which comes in handy as replacement for vanity).
Asked for housekeeping to come over via front desk, no news till another 30 mins where I went downstairs myself.

Room: old, spacious but tired and gloomy, old school TV with no CNN (!!!), dirty lampshade, no facial tissue on the working desk, rug looking dusty.
Bathroom: old, towels dont look fresh, no hairdryer, no standard Accor amenities.
Wifi: in and out. Works well when it's on though


All in all, except for its great location I dont think I will ever recommend this hotel to anyone. I remember my previous stay was a lot better but it just goes downhill from there. It is a terrible decision to just renovate the deluxe room and leave superior rooms shabby like this. They need to cut down prices if they dont step up their game. I love how other Accor chain around the world manage to fulfill my every need in my every other stay but this one just a major failure and I am actually upset. One customer is waving goodbye.

I'm writing as I stay. Rant over.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank msranabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makassar hotels
0.9 mi away
Pesonna Hotel Makassar
Pesonna Hotel Makassar
#1 of 103 in Makassar
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
0.2 mi away
favehotel Daeng Tompo
favehotel Daeng Tompo
#18 of 103 in Makassar
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Makassar City Center
Ibis Makassar City Center
#15 of 103 in Makassar
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aryaduta Makassar
Aryaduta Makassar
#12 of 103 in Makassar
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Plaza Hotel
Quality Plaza Hotel
#6 of 103 in Makassar
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M-Regency Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M-Regency Makassar

Address: Jl. Daeng Tompo 8, Makassar 90112, Indonesia (Formerly Royal Regency Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range: £15 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — M-Regency Makassar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M-Regency Hotel is a Victorian-style hotel located a 5-minute walk from Losari Beach. Offering rooms with free Wi-Fi, the hotel has a fitness centre and its own restaurant.Just a 2-minute stroll from M-Regency Hotel is Sumba Opu souvenir shopping centre. GTC Mall and Trans Studio Theme Park is a 10-minute car ride away. It takes 45-minutes to drive from the Sultan Hasanuddin International Airport.Air-conditioned and fully carpeted, each room is equipped with a flat-screen TV showing satellite channels, tea/coffee maker and minibar. An en suite bathroom includes a toilet and bathtub with shower. Free bottled water is provided.Guests enjoy free access to the hotel’s fitness centre and sauna. Massage services are available at an extra cost. The 24-hour front desk can arrange tours and provides ticketing services.M-Regency Hotel’s restaurant serves local Indonesian, Western and Chinese dishes. It offers a breakfast buffet and an à la carte menu for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your M-Regency Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing