We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EVERYTHING IS SUPERB!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar
Ranked #79 of 102 Hotels in Makassar
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING IS SUPERB!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

It's a great hotel that you'll find in Makassar. The best hotel i have ever stayed at in more than 25 years - i think. I had great welcoming & comfortable experience during my stay for business. The food is great (please remind this: their food are really great, good taste!).

The staff was beyond helpful, very nice & super friendly. The rooms are very comfortable. Try to get a room on the top floors for a nice view! Everything is superb!

The only negative is for the business room - meeting room. It was very noisy, we can hear everybody talk outside and so much disturbing sounds, and they did not prepare enough for earth leakage circuit breaker (ELCB). We asked the staff first about that thing, then they will prepare for our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    216
    102
    15
    15
See reviews for
131
38
45
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogor
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Long check in process, blur standard on company check-in. I was rejected at first because of the misunderstanding between the receptionist and the company that booked my room. I was finally able to check in after paid Rp 1,000,000 (which I should not because everything was already paid). Terrible first impression.

On the following day, they clarified the issue and said that it was their mistake.

Breakfast menu was nice but they allow people to SMOKE in the breakfast hall. Very disturbing.

Room is not healthy, particularly Room 509.

Poor location for backpacker like me, no walking distance food center or mall (there is Ramayana with Pizza Hut and also KFC, but its not safe to walk on the night - I tried it myself and the locals on the Pettarani street are not very friendly).

Despite the very cheap price they offered (Rp 1,400,000 for 3 rooms on long weekend per night) I thought Clarion would have a better service than its budget group, Celino. I won't come back. I still prefer Celino for its location and service.

Room Tip: superior and deluxe with balcony are pretty much the same. esp when you got balcony facing the outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliraDwipayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed in the suite for 2 days during our honeymoon in Dec 2009. Yes it is quite an outdated review.
Service is great. Room is very clean. Everyday the cleaner will change the sheets and clean the room.
Value: maybe it is better if it is a bit cheaper :P
Location is quite near to Diamond Mall at Panakukang Mas, but it is not walking distance, you must take a taxi.
Restaurant is very good. I forget what foods were there during buffet breakfast but I got the impression that the foods really stimulated my appetite :P

The thing I didn't like is that: after midnight, I can smell cigarettes smoke from the aircon at the living room part of the suite. Seems the aircon is connected to outside/next room of which there are ppl smoking there.

In the end, I didn't manage to try the bathtub coz we were spending out time almost outside except at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fauzimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

when I got there at three in the morning. I had booked a superior room, but they do not prepare all superior rooms and superior rooms are already sold out. and finally they upgrade my room becomes a junior suite

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank snrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The staff here really are quite lovely, and I only wish I could speak Bahasa Indonesia as English is not to be expected. Nevertheless, the staff tried hard. The internet here is really where this falls short. I was at a conference at the nearby Millenium had steady and strong internet. Almost every night the internet failed, and while the IT staff was kind and tried, the excuses for the internet were a bit much. I hope that the management considers upgrading its ISP package for business users. The food also leaves much to the imagination and I had to order Pizza hut delivery several nights, but having fresh coconut and an excellent ladies-only pool and hot tub certainly makes up for it! If they just updated the carpet and put some fresh pain they'd have a great shot at being one of the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makassar, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here 4 nights. Hotel was typical big style business hotel, nothing fancy. Room was nice and big and everything worked fine, shower was nice and hot. It could use some new paint, but not a big deal. After playing around w/ the TV found out that BBC, CNN and Aljazzera were available - which was nice. Food in hotel was so so. Breakfast was plentiful. They need to work on their warmers for their trays though -the food is cool. I ended up w/ Montezuma revenge in Makassar - no saying where it came from, but their warming trays definitely do not meet public health standards for keeping food at the right temperature (e.g. the hash browns were dried out and cold as were the omelets). Coffee was not so good either. A big downside of this hotel is the public spaces are all smoking areas - the "cafe" on the first floor has no smoke free area - yuck! Internet was so-so. One day had real issues - but they sent guys up to my room to work on it, so responsive. The other downside is the price quoted to me on walk in w/ a special of 3 nights @ 1.3 IDR, plus another night @ 600,000 IDR for one additional night was not honored. The night before I checked out they a) thought I was checking out that night and came to my room and then b) charged me 675,000 (after they started w/ saying it would be 900,000) for the extra night. No big deal, but they should have honored the price quoted at check-in that my Indonesian colleague was there to witness and was laid out on my check-in payment paperwork. A bit of "bate and switch". Asked for a taxi to the mall, and they provided a house taxi - cost 30,000, when a regular taxi was 15,000, again no big deal - but if you want to save $, ask for a local taxi. I'd stay here again w/ the special rate, but probably wouldn't pay full price. Overall a good place, good location.

Room Tip: Avoid the smoking area in restaurants and public places and ask them to create smoke free areas in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at the Clarion Hotel Makassar last October and that was my 2nd visit. My 1st visit was okay and i had no complaint. This time, they gave me the room in a different section of the building and had to take the elevator near the end of the hallway. The room was clean but i found it much smaller than the one I stayed before.
When I checked out, i politely asked for the credit card stub that they did for the guarantee which i needed for proof just in case i had problems with the issuer bank. Somehow, the lady who assisted me was suddenly tore the credit card stub and with no reason gave me the torn and crumpled paper. I was stunned and asked her why she did that.
She said again and again that they just had the card for deposit. I repeatedly told her that I understood and still needed the stub to be returned to me. (I have travelled and stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world and also had terrible experience with hotels deposits with credit card issuing bank afterwards).
She then was staring at me without saying any word and left me.
I wonder why she had to do that and asked her colleague who was standing next to her and seen all of the drama while assisting other customer. I even asked her colleague if I did say anything offended.

This is supposed to be the best hotel in Makassar or at least I was told. But I think i won't stay here anymore.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makassar hotels
2.8 mi away
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
2.3 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#4 of 102 in Makassar
342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melia Makassar
Melia Makassar
#1 of 102 in Makassar
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Makassar
2.4 mi away
Novotel Makassar Grand Shayla
2.3 mi away
Aryaduta Makassar
Aryaduta Makassar
#12 of 102 in Makassar
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar

Property: Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar
Address: Jl. AP Pettarani no. 3, Makassar 90232, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Makassar
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makassar
#24 Spa Hotel in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar is a restful sanctuary within the hustling and bustling capital of South Sulawesi , location in the heart of Makassar thriving business district offering 585 accomodation with exquisite furnishing and unsurpassed hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Convention Makassar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing