We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most satisfying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Makassar Golden
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Makassar
Bonaire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most satisfying”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We reached the capitol of sulawesi selatan and had a hut on our own.The nasi rawon was very spicy and a great aphrodisiac.I had a morning swim in the deep pool we all enjoyed the stay my son loved that we were provided snacks to his liking readily in the hotel room..My mum was happy for the king bed.I loved the generous breakfast.

Room Tip: I love the rooms near the pool it spacious and scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zarina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    17
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
8
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
1,073 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I spent two nights at this hotel at the end of October 2012.

It is a small to medium sized hotel, with a terrace overlooking the harbour where meals are served.

Breakfast consisted of a selection of three cereals, juice, teas and coffees and eggs made how you want them (I opted for cheese, ham and mushroom omlette - nice!). Other options were available which may appeal more to locals (food in the West we may more associate with evening meals).

Evening meals were selected off the menu which had a relatively small choice. I had previously stayed at a remote forest location with a family and had much better food there than here. I can only describe the food as OK,

The rooms were clean and spacious and wifi was available in rooms, as well as the hotel lobby and terrace. This worked very well except for a period between midnight and six one night where the wifi in my room wouldn't work.

The hotel is situated by the harbour and within easy walking distance of bustling Makassar centre. My room faced the town and was quiet (I didn't hear a thing).

The beds were comfortable with a decent pillow.

The main disappointment was that I couldn't ring the UK from the hotel. Apparently this used to be an option but no longer.

I paid about $45 per night for the room with breakfast. Overall I would rate this hotel 3.5 stars but with the limitation of a five star rating three stars would be harsh and four stars generous.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeedeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

i think this is the only hotel in makassar wich located just on the seaside (correct me if i'm wrong). this hotel is an old hotel located. room is spacy and service is good. even the hotel staff allow me to go for fishing on the back of this hotel wich directly facing the sea. room is ok, although need renovation due to the old fashioned decoration on it. breakfast was superb, since the location is on the top floor and directly facing the sea. overall it's ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gondel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The hotel is located right on the harbor. Our room was well-appointed and very clean. The staff was all very friendly. There is an outdoor pool and Business Center. Breakfast is included in the price and served on a terrace overlooking the harbor, a lot of variety to choose from. Excellent coffee, maybe the best we had in Sulawesi. Incredible sunset views from the terrace in the evening. We paid $47/night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyouandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is one of the oldest hotel in Makassar.
For years it has been the top rank hotel in town, hosting most of official events, and politician, actors, and famous people stayed here.

The building itself is not big. A small to medium size hotel.

The hotel seems have a hard time adjusting to a new age and competition.
Talking about location, this hotel actually is unmatched by the others. It is at the center of city attraction, perhaps it is the hotel with the closest proximity to the sea.

A tiny part of this hotel is on the sea, the sea is actually beautiful, but since the beach itself is somehow underdeveloped (and a bit dirty), not much you can do.

Food. Whoa... you better go out and find something else.
Fortunately, it is easy to find food/resto nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lsaml K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed for a week for a business trip. I had a room 23 which one side to the pool and the other to the sea. We could see trans studio away and just a little walk to losari and 'kawasan makanan khas makassar'. Room is great, location is worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neno85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
1,424 reviews
346 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,239 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

The hotel is located on Pantai Losari, one of the most famous places in Makassar.

This location is also the hotels biggest asset. It is built out over the sea, so the more expensive rooms have great ocean views and the hotel restaurant, the Angin Mamiri terrace is a offers uninterrupted views straight out into the Indian Ocean. The saturday night BBQ buffet here is delicious and also great value.

The hotel rooms are fairly standard for an Indonesian hotel in this price range. They are well appointed and very clean. There is only a couple of English language television stations however. Guests should also note that standard rooms don't have any windows. Also a number of the deluxe rooms look out onto the busy road in front of the hotel, and this gets noisy.

The hotel's service is its weakest point. At check-in we had to argue to be given a room matching the specifications of the one had booked, and later when we ordered ice cubes from room service, nothing arrived for more than 30 minutes. When we called a second time, they said they were busy, but would do it right away. Being told that staff are busy in a relatively expensive hotel is hardly a satisfying service experience.

Overall, I'd recommend a stay at this hotel. With a recommendation to avoid the standard rooms and be ready for some less than perfect interactions with staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makassar hotels
1.1 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#1 of 100 in Makassar
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
M-Regency Makassar
M-Regency Makassar
#14 of 100 in Makassar
230 reviews
3.9 mi away
MaxOneHotels at Resort Delia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whiz Prime Hotel Hasanuddin Makassar
0.4 mi away
Quality Plaza Hotel
Quality Plaza Hotel
#8 of 100 in Makassar
124 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dalton Hotel & Convention Makassar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Makassar Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Makassar Golden

Property: Hotel Makassar Golden
Address: Jln. Pasar Ikan no. 52, Makassar 90111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Makassar Golden 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Makassar Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing