We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Sea View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Makassar Golden
Ranked #64 of 99 Hotels in Makassar
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What Sea View”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Although in a prime location on the sea front, it is hard to recommend this hotel. I had reserved a "De Luxe Sea View Room". Bizarrrely despite being next to the sea there are few rooms facing the sea and most if not all suffer as did mine form having the view totally obscured by 4 dense palm trees - so no view at all, apart from down onto a bashed up plywood roof from the car park to the bar terrace.

The reception area was alright - all marble and smoked glass in a sort of 1980s style. And staff were very helpful. The lift was worn and had been graffitied. The 3rd floor landing was not air conditioned, was very warm and damp and smelt a bit mildewy. The bedroom was OK in truth, part from the non view. But it felt very worn, the head board on the bed showing particular signs of wear. The plumbing in the bathroom felt worn out and was noisy. Promised WiFI did not work.

I used the swimming pool which was a decent size and layout, but the area is dangerously underlit after dark. The changing areas are of inadequate size and the metal fittings substantially eaten away by rust and the wood just warped, split, broken and decayed to give quite a derelict feel. The pool water was very cloudy so that the bottom (3m) could not be seen.

The breakfast room is very large and had an impressive array of tasty food options for breakfast and decent coffee. But the room decor and fittings again are beyond decrepit and heading way towards derelict. Pillar cladding dirty, warn and split. WIndow frames unbelievably warped and spilt. Ceiling also in a state.

CLearly the climate takes its toll here and that is understood, but you can only let it go so far, and this is way beyond that. It was built in 1984 and refurbished 13 years later in 1997. We are now a further 17 years on without refurbishment. The extra 4 years are clearly way too much. I would have thought a 10 year refurb and recreation cycle would be about right.

I can cope with cheap and basic hotels, but object to dereliction at five star prices.

Room Tip: Hard to know. In theory I had a better room so goodness knows what the less good rooms were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaitero61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    17
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
14
8
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights but should have had the sense to move elsewhere after viewing our room. The 'deluxe' room was absolutely filthy, paint peeling from the walls, blue/green mold everywhere, air conditioner not working and a bar fridge (un-stocked) that you could grow mushrooms in it was so filthy and unclean!

This was NOT a four star hotel and hadn't been for the past 20 years. All of the photos on the web site were taken when the hotel was built 35 years ago! It was so bad it could not be rated honestly by the 'star' method. Apparently they have supposedly 'renovated' the deluxe rooms but we never saw them. We were moved to a 'cottage' with a slightly better outlook and possibly a poor 1/2 a star (being generous) rating at best, but were charged for the move!

Breakfast was strictly non-European; sweets, soups, rice and more rice. There were NO cereals as suggested by another reviewer, with the actual restaurant in need of some major TLC. When it rained they closed the restaurant, rather than get the roof repaired!

I cannot believe the comments from others on Trip Adviser. Can only conclude they were staying at a different hotel or management have 'pretended' to be guests to leave comments?

The swimming pool was big and a pleasant escape from the accommodations, though the 'pool attendant' neither spoke to us nor did he assist us with pool towels and requested drinks. He sat in his box and stared right through us as if we were not there. Best described as 'ignorant and lazy'.

The only plus, aside from the above, was the friendly staff but they could not hope to save this hotel from being the worst in Indonesia.

Be warned that the other 'positive' comments here should be viewed with extreme caution, do not book here wearing blinkers, because what you see is most definitely not what you will get.

Room Tip: Cottages are best, but put in a proviso that you want to 'view' the room prior to confirming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Makassar hotels

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The hotel is located at the city centre, sea view and closed to souvenir shop. Just few minute walk to have a local food, you can walk around the sea side during morning & evening and easy to find local food from hawkers. The room is clean, but the rate is a quite high compare with other hotel around.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazz_Malaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We reached the capitol of sulawesi selatan and had a hut on our own.The nasi rawon was very spicy and a great aphrodisiac.I had a morning swim in the deep pool we all enjoyed the stay my son loved that we were provided snacks to his liking readily in the hotel room..My mum was happy for the king bed.I loved the generous breakfast.

Room Tip: I love the rooms near the pool it spacious and scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zarina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
1,071 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I spent two nights at this hotel at the end of October 2012.

It is a small to medium sized hotel, with a terrace overlooking the harbour where meals are served.

Breakfast consisted of a selection of three cereals, juice, teas and coffees and eggs made how you want them (I opted for cheese, ham and mushroom omlette - nice!). Other options were available which may appeal more to locals (food in the West we may more associate with evening meals).

Evening meals were selected off the menu which had a relatively small choice. I had previously stayed at a remote forest location with a family and had much better food there than here. I can only describe the food as OK,

The rooms were clean and spacious and wifi was available in rooms, as well as the hotel lobby and terrace. This worked very well except for a period between midnight and six one night where the wifi in my room wouldn't work.

The hotel is situated by the harbour and within easy walking distance of bustling Makassar centre. My room faced the town and was quiet (I didn't hear a thing).

The beds were comfortable with a decent pillow.

The main disappointment was that I couldn't ring the UK from the hotel. Apparently this used to be an option but no longer.

I paid about $45 per night for the room with breakfast. Overall I would rate this hotel 3.5 stars but with the limitation of a five star rating three stars would be harsh and four stars generous.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeedeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

i think this is the only hotel in makassar wich located just on the seaside (correct me if i'm wrong). this hotel is an old hotel located. room is spacy and service is good. even the hotel staff allow me to go for fishing on the back of this hotel wich directly facing the sea. room is ok, although need renovation due to the old fashioned decoration on it. breakfast was superb, since the location is on the top floor and directly facing the sea. overall it's ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gondel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The hotel is located right on the harbor. Our room was well-appointed and very clean. The staff was all very friendly. There is an outdoor pool and Business Center. Breakfast is included in the price and served on a terrace overlooking the harbor, a lot of variety to choose from. Excellent coffee, maybe the best we had in Sulawesi. Incredible sunset views from the terrace in the evening. We paid $47/night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyouandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makassar hotels
3.9 mi away
MaxOneHotels at Resort Delia
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Makassar Beach
1.1 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#2 of 99 in Makassar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Expressia Hotel Makassar
Expressia Hotel Makassar
#22 of 99 in Makassar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Makassar
Melia Makassar
#1 of 99 in Makassar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horison Ultima Makassar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Makassar Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Makassar Golden

Property: Hotel Makassar Golden
Address: Jln. Pasar Ikan no. 52, Makassar 90111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 99 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Makassar Golden 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Makassar Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing