We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed about the club lounge”
Review of Aryaduta Makassar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aryaduta Makassar
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Makassar
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This is my second time stay. Same as last time, I like the location, especially on the Sunday morning there's a lot activities in front of the seafront square. There's a few complaints thou. The food of at club lounge was not keeping the standard as my last visit, the cold items were dry. The first night there's no white wine available and the 2nd night only Balinese white wine were served at the cocktail hours. When I requested other white wines than Balinese wine, the staff asked me do you want 1 glass? The other thing is I was put into a smoking room while requested a non smoking room. I think I may want to try other hotels next time just to compare my options, though I still feel the location with the view is definitely a plus to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMks, General Manager at Aryaduta Makassar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear M C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor regarding Hotel Aryaduta Makassar. I am very happy to read that you love the hotel's location, especially the market in front of the hotel on Sundays.

Regarding your comments about the quality of the food in the executive lounge, I have discussed the issues with the executive Chef, to ensure we offer the best quality snacks during the cocktail hours. During the cocktail hours we offer white wine complimentary. The wines that we serve are all produced in Bali, though there are different grapes used to produce them. I personally would recommend the Chardonnay wine. I have discussed the matters with staff in order to ensure we offer the correct wines at all times.

Lastly regarding the smoking room, we have a limited availability of non smoking rooms, especially in the Club Rooms, however, if you would be so kind to forward me an email the next time you visit Makassar, I will ensure that you get the room you requested. Please send the email to gm-mks@aryaduta.com

Thank you once again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you the next time you visit Makassar!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a great setting being part of a waterfront development. Great location, great amenities, very comfortable rooms, very clean, good food (I LOVE the Coto Makassar served here!) For those carrying more brass, this is the perfect place for you.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Prananda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMks, General Manager at Aryaduta Makassar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Pranada,

Many thanks for your review about Hotel Aryaduta Makassar! It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and you loved the local speciality, coto Makassar!

We look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel!

Best regards,

Jerome van Helden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is located exactly in front of Losari Beach, so for those who wanted to spend evening at the beach it will be the good location. Also there are plenty of good restaurant surrounding the area.

Room Tip: Choose sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senjamerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMks, General Manager at Aryaduta Makassar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Senjamerah,

Thank you for your review about the hotel. As you mention, the hotel is ideally situated at the waterfront of Makassar, Losari. Furthermore due to the location, there are many great restaurants to be explored in the surrounding area.

Thank you once again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a best view rooms (sea view), but the building was old and need renovation example room facilities. At night hot water for bathup not maximum hot, just "so..so". You can use all facilities in the hotel like pool, spa and fitness

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Parlindungan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMks, General Manager at Aryaduta Makassar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Parlindungan M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.com about Hotel Aryaduta Makassar! As you point out we have absolutely the rooms with the best view! Especially during sunset the view is spectacular from the hotel. Regarding the other point you have mentioned, we have investigated the situation and have resolved the hot water problem.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your visit next time to Makassar!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Staying here for 2 nights for business trip, as this is not my leisure time, i didn't spent time to use all the hotel amenities. I believe they had swimming pool, but located rite next to the lounge, so everyone will look at you. The hotel itself is old, and the interior is rundown. Bathroom is ok, but the bathtub doesnt seems like being maintain enough. there's a crack on the bottom and they just plaster it. don't want to use it anyway.
Cleanness is a must, this hotel room is clean enough for me.

If you choose this for business hotel, yes it's a great old hotel with great location, and SUPERB View to Losari beach.... if you unlucky get the room facing the city... no way this hotel is great enough, i will prefer newer hotel around.

Breakfast is good enough for me.

if they do renovation this hotel will be one of the best.... because of the location it self.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazy_Dharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMks, General Manager at Aryaduta Makassar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Crazy_Dharma,

Warm greetings from Hotel Aryaduta Makassar! Thank you for your review about the hotel. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and loved the fabulous view overlooking Losari beach. As you mention, cleanliness is very important and this is what we really aim to do, provide a well maintained and clean hotel.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you next time you visit Makassar!

Best regards,

Jerome van Helden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If you want/have to stay at this hotel then book yourself into the best room available. We booked two Deluxe rooms which had wet carpets (leaking AC), scum in the bath/shower, stains on the sheets and smelled like mold. We did not even consider using the pool as each day the water seem to get murkier!? On a more positive note, staff are polite, professional and attentive - very hospitable.

Room Tip: Best of the best rooms on the highest floor. Avoid the sea view on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizztravellettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMks, General Manager at Aryaduta Makassar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear mizztravellettee,

Thank you for writing a review about the hotel. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our service at the hotel. I must apologise for the leaking a/c, we have since repaired the issues and done a deep cleaning of the bathrooms to ensure they meet the highest standards.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you again at the hotel!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is quite old but good. The rooms are large, the bathroom is OK and the lights in the room is perfect (not too dark). Breakfast selection is OK. The traditional musician in the lobby is a nice touch. That was the first time I saw the musical instrument and saw a person play it.
The hotel is located facing the sea (Losari beach). Plenty of places to take pictures.
Staff are great! I have a half day seminar there and everything went perfect.

Room Tip: Sea view is best. But do check if they have large group staying there. It takes a long time to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icamarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMks, General Manager at Aryaduta Makassar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear icamarica,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on tripadvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our traditional music in the lobby. Furthermore it is delightful that you enjoyed our service so much. We really aim to give the best service possible, and getting positive feedback confirms our beliefs.

Thank you once again for the review, and we look forward to welcoming you at the hotel the next time you visit Makassar!

Best regards,

Jerome van Helden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makassar hotels
0.6 mi away
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
0.6 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#6 of 104 in Makassar
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Makassar
Swiss-Belhotel Makassar
#10 of 104 in Makassar
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Makassar
Melia Makassar
#2 of 104 in Makassar
385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gammara Hotel
Gammara Hotel
#16 of 104 in Makassar
111 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aryaduta Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aryaduta Makassar

Address: Jl. Somba Opu no. 297, Makassar 90111, Indonesia (Formerly Imperial Aryaduta Hotel Makassar)
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range: £41 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aryaduta Makassar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of comfort set amidst scenic shores of Losari Beach Boulevard and a lively city center, Aryaduta Makassar emphasizes Indonesian charm and warm hospitality. Its 224 rooms and suites showcase the city's stunning ocean and city views, making your travel to Makassar truly exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aryaduta Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing