We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again...”
Review of Colonial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial Hotel
Ranked #50 of 102 Hotels in Makassar
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Never stay in this hotel, better to sleep on the beach! It is just not run by professionnals. It is not clean. The rooms are smelling awfull and are damp. The linen is not clean. Towels used to be white (we suspect). Location is 35mn from airport and 15mn from city center in the middle of nowhere. We tried the restaurant, and didn't find the food very good.

Room Tip: If yo have no choice but to stay at Colonial Hotel, please choose 108 / 208 / 308 .... / 808. There...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Colonial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Came here because of the so-called colonial concept & didn't mind about the distance cause the city is not that big anyway.

Check-in was slow. I went to the cafe and it took about 5-10 minutes for the waiter to show up with the menu. I order a spirit and waited for 15 minutes for the waiter to come back just to tell me that they don't serve alcohol because the fasting month is near (it was June & fasting month was a month away!!).
Anyways, I tried not to make it a big deal and ordered an iced cappuccino, again, waited for 15 minutes for the guy to come back just to tell me that their coffee machine is currently broken (which they could tell me before & save 45 minutes of my time)

I went to the room, it was . . . just plain & couldn't find any reason why the hotel is named colonial (???) I guess for them name means nothing.

I was very tired and needed some rest so I put in the key card to turn the power on, and nothing happened. I tried several times and still nothing happened.

I called the reception, 5 minutes later a guy came in and try the same thing with my key card (which of course nothing happened, same as before). Took him 5 minutes to finally decide to call the engineering guy which showed up 10 minutes later. They both tried to fix the key card for like half an hour with no luck, until . . . I just had enough.

I complained to the reception guy & he brilliantly took the initiatives to move me to another room. Unfortunately the only available room is the twin bed. I kindly refuse & told him I want the same room that they promised & I have paid for. Honestly, I would've taken the room if they offered me an hour ago, but the services were just so poor I couldn't stand any of it.

I quickly checked out & they kindly return my money (which was the only right thing they did so far).

Whoever own & run this hotel REALLY needs to learn about hotel & need to know that hotel is not just a chunk of concrete with beds.
#1 Brand is deceiving, there's no such colonial touch in the hotel aside from the lobby
#2 Hardware is poor
#3 Service is poor

Room Tip: good room is no room, move away
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank therandomadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

First of all, I really like the atmosphere, it's like entering another dimension, back to the colonial period. ^_^
The room is clean, the service is great, no problem with the menu. But the location is too far from the downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Last week I stayed on the 10th floor of this hotel for 3 days 2 nights.
The hotel is new, but they made an old atmosphere inside the hotel.
It's kinda creepy if you stay alone actually.
I had to turn on the TV all night long (MTV channel) during my sleeping hours.

The breakfast was very poor. I guess if you guys want to upgrade the hotel rating, pls start with upgrading your breakfast.

Room Tip: Please choose the upper floor rooms so you can have a bit of seaview from the window,,,
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loempia_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Upik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamar yang mengarah pemandangan Pantai sangat indah
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedeiboy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makassar hotels
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Makassar Sam Ratulangi
2.2 mi away
M-Regency Makassar
M-Regency Makassar
#15 of 102 in Makassar
240 reviews
2.1 mi away
favehotel Daeng Tompo
favehotel Daeng Tompo
#16 of 102 in Makassar
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Cendrawasih
Hotel Grand Cendrawasih
#60 of 102 in Makassar
6 reviews
2.5 mi away
Same Hotel
Same Hotel
#30 of 102 in Makassar
37 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#11 of 102 in Makassar
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Hotel

Address: Jln. Tanjung Bunga, Makassar 90134, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 102 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range: £18 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing