We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adell azura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
favehotel Daeng Tompo
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Makassar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adell azura”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

At the first time me & my friends came to Sulawesi island, we stayed at this hotel. Overall it was a pleasureable stay with a reasonable price, you will get things more than what a budget hotel usually has to offer. But i think the room wall was too thin so we still could heard sound from outside but it wasn't a big deal since the staff was really helpful. We planned to go Toraja but we didn't have any idea how to get there or to the others tourism spots in the city, we only had a map but it won't be helped that much,right? But Miss Adell was cool! She spoke English fluently, explained to us about the city & helped us to book a bus to Toraja so everything turned out easy. It seemed like we had our personal guide for free Thanks so much! I definitely recommend this hotel for foreign traveler!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    137
    56
    2
    6
See reviews for
40
59
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
166 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights on a business trip at this hotel. Location is central in the town of Makassar. Approx 30 mins from the airport with mild traffic. Ensure you pre-booked your airport transfer. To hail a taxi at the airport is a wee bit troublesome as you need to really hassle your way on the charges.

The hotel lobby is stark and don't be fooled by the wonderful photos you see on their website. Poor lighting condition and check-in was slow and we are the only ones at the counter. The hotel lobby is stuffy and warm and shares with the restaurant/cafe thus the food smell that lingers on your clothes would be expected.

The swim pool is indoor just at the rear of the lobby and small. Don't expect to do laps but if you want to chill, a good place but be warned - seem to be a place for smokers so the air is staled of cigarettes

The elevator is really slow. Does not help when we are there, only one was functional. So the morning peak hours, if you are staying on the lower floors, forget about waiting for the elevators cos it is full. Might as well walk down.

Breakfast was a typical Indonesian styled buffet. If you are into American or Continental breakfast, forget about having breakfast here. The servings daily does not change daily so expect the same if you stay for two nights. Their ala carte menu is not worth consuming. My recommendation is to eat elsewhere.

Staff attention and service is really poor. Could be the month of Ramadhan but it is no excuse. Oh, they charged for a bucket of ice. Really?

The rooms are comfortable though. However, they could improved on the following - aircon system is not cold even after the maintenance guy came to fix it, the shower stall does not have a door, so water spills over to the dry area, they charged for everything you used (I used the toothbrush and they charged me cos I threw it away after my stay). Small view window that does not allow natural light to come into the room. The two pink throw cushions on the bed needs to be wash cos it was stained and soiled.

Do not take rooms that fronts the elevator lobby. The noise level of other guests communicating and the luggage being pulled is really loud. The corridor is not carpet and the sounds magnified. The room walls are thin too so be cautious when you speak or if you are a couple.

Overall, if these areas could be improved, I am sure it will be a good hotel for a short stay. Oh, upon checkout, they asked you to wait while they check the room for missing items. This is silly!

Room Tip: Do not take rooms that sits near the elevator area. Too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our family stayed for 5 nights in this hotel. We booked 2 rooms but unfortunately, they didn't have a connecting one. The hotel is located within walking distance to the beach. However, don't expect walking in the white sandy beach with glittering pebbles around. The beach is deep but you can enjoy the breeze at night sitting at one of the open air stalls selling "Pisang Epe" (Makassar traditional grilled banana) along the beach. The check in and check out was simple but sometimes, it seemed that the front desk was lack of person. The room size was ok but was not clean enough. I even found ants crawling around. The hotel has swimming pool, small and not too deep (around 1,2m ?). There are many sea food and local food restaurant around. Circle K mini mart is a 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globaltrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel has alot going for it. The best thing is the friendly, helpful staff.(In respect to other people's complaints I noticed that this hotel was usually nearly full so the reception staff were often working very hard. In such conditions it's easy to make a small mistake) I found their English easy to understand.The rooms are nice, the pool fine and their breakfasts great. It's in a superb location right near Lei Lei restaurant and many other wonderful eating places as well as being near the waterfront where you can enjoy a nice stroll in the evening. For a hotel with a pool this hotel can't be beaten in the proce stakes.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderfulworld159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights in this hotel for business trip on April. I must say this is a good place to stay if you want to gain weight. Its location in makassar culinary area. You can find a lot of famous restaurant in just few steps from this hotel. The hotel has very clean and vast room. But,too bad their receptionist wasn't friendly. She said I have to wait because the room wasn't ready. Although I have arrived at this hotel at 2.30 pm. After awhile, I told her shouldn't check in at 2.00 pm? Then she started to serve me in unfriendly manner. She better learn from their cleaning service staff. They were friendly

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siriu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The room was clean & mine had great views over th harbour. Need to have phrase book or ph app if English speaker as staff not speak English - the two I met could speak phrases but can't comprehend anything. But very friendly and they wanted to assist

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Right now i'm sitting on favehotel makassar, and being told that my booking is for tommorow while yesterday i remember it clearly on the phone that i want to book for TOMORROW, when i said i need to be picked up from airport the guy on the end of the line said it'll cost 200.000 rupiah so i cancel the pick up... How can it be missunderstood by this impolite guy... (His tone is not polite for sure from what i heard on phone) i think tomorrow (besok) and the day after tomorrow (Lusa) is clearly different...
And the worst still now they asked me if i want to order a room for 3 person with its more expensive price... No i won't spent more cent for this dissappointment... Its better that i paid for a more expensive hotel than having this dissappintment...
Thank you favehotel ASTON, surely no more aston for the rest of mylife, this will be the last aston i'll be booking, or stay at...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloysius D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makassar hotels
0.6 mi away
Melia Makassar
Melia Makassar
#2 of 99 in Makassar
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pesonna Hotel Makassar
Pesonna Hotel Makassar
#3 of 99 in Makassar
236 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Plaza Hotel
Quality Plaza Hotel
#7 of 99 in Makassar
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aryaduta Makassar
Aryaduta Makassar
#11 of 99 in Makassar
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to favehotel Daeng Tompo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about favehotel Daeng Tompo

Property: favehotel Daeng Tompo
Address: Jln. Daeng Tompo, Makassar 90112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — favehotel Daeng Tompo 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Favehotel Daeng Tompo Makassar area near Losari beach got its first trendy budget hotel. Dashing guestrooms that work well and are fun and fresh, a friendly and hip environment at a price point that leaves money in your pockets, uncompromising standards for cleanliness and safety and all of these with the action of downtown Makassar right at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your favehotel Daeng Tompo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing