We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strategic Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Planet Makassar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Planet Makassar
Ranked #13 of 99 Hotels in Makassar
Certificate of Excellence
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Strategic Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for 5D/4N
(+) Located in the middle of city, close to everywhere
(+) Comfy bed and pillow
(+) Near with all fast food resto like KFC and Pizza Hut
(+) Rate was affordable, be sure to booked in their website coz some booking online only accommodate for room, you must pay extra for Air Con, TV, etc
(-) House Keeping didn't change the sheet every day
(-) No phone in the room, so it's not convenient if you need something

Overall, it was nice stay and make sure don't bring a lot of your stuff here since the room really small compare than other budget hotel. No comment for food coz you can find Kopitiam Oey in Bali, why eat in the hotel if you can explore lot of delicious food in Makassar :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei_MarceLLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuneHotelMakassar, Manager at Red Planet Makassar, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we notice your comment about bed sheet changed didn't meet your expectation.
I would like to say that it was a pleasure to serve you at Tune Hotel Makassar and we hope to see you again soon where you can witness the improvements we have made.

Warm Regards,
Inda - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    50
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
24
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

As other reviewer has said, this hotel is simple budget hotel costing about $20. For that price, I think I got what I deserved. Yes, there is no breakfast but you can order one at Oey Kopitiam, one of the franchise that I love.
The location is superb. There are KFC, Pizza Hut, dan Ratu Indah Mall nearby. If you need to go to Losari you could take Taxi for a cheap price.
The wifi is blazingly fast. The only downside is that we have to pay of we want to check in early or check out late. Oh, and there was no phone in the room

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank didanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuneHotelMakassar, Manager at Red Planet Makassar, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Makassar.

We were delighted to read that you enjoy your stay in our hotel. And your invaluable comments are very important to us.

We would like to say that it was a pleasure to serve you at Tune Hotel Makassar and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Inda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is my first time staying at Tune Hotel and I am sadly not impressed. The good things with this hotel is location, its new and clean and its affordable.

Though, the room is really tiny even by comparing to other budget hotels with modern simple design. If I had a full size suitcase I think I would have to open it up in the hallway of the hotel.
But the thing that really ticked me off was the breakfast. I like my warm hotel breakfast that you usually get, though here despite the food being kept in heating trays, these were not turned on so the fried rice, the fried noodles were all served cold. There was no drink options for juice, even the cheap tasting juice you get at other affordable hotels was not here. In addition, I love my self a freshly made omelette that you can get in these other budget hotels. Not in Tune.

However, I would recommend Fave hotel above Tune Hotel or even better Neo Hotel that is my new favorite budget hotel in Indonesia. Neo don't have a location yet in Makassar but I believe one will open this year. If your super strapped for cash, sure go for Tune.. but if you got a few dollars extra go for something better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suexmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuneHotelMakassar, Manager at Red Planet Makassar, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear Suexmex,
We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. I truly regret that you consider our room to be too small and we note your dissatisfaction with our service and facilities in breakfast. We have been improve recently our breakfast quality service with additional menu and choices in buffet to keep our quality standard.
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Best Regards,
Inda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Pillows were horribly smelly. (used used used pillow kind of smell, mind the repetition). Had 2 pillows, changed, only to find similar ones with deodorizer sprayed on them with hope that the smell can pass undetected. -FAIL-

1 of 2 elevators under repair. Took a while to go in/out hotel.

Considering this is a two months old hotel, it was disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dominggus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuneHotelMakassar, General Manager at Red Planet Makassar, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
May I begin by thanking you for your review on Trip Advisor.
It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain the quality of our service.

Please accept my humble apologies for the inconvenient caused of repaired elevator during your stay in our hotel. Our maintenance staff has attended to the problem regarding the elevator.

I have introduced measures to ensure this does not happen again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Tune Hotel Makassar.

Kind Regards,
Inda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makassar hotels
0.6 mi away
Pesonna Hotel Makassar
Pesonna Hotel Makassar
#5 of 99 in Makassar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.8 mi away
Whiz Prime Hotel Hasanuddin Makassar
8.4 mi away
Dalton Hotel & Convention Makassar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
favehotel Daeng Tompo
favehotel Daeng Tompo
#11 of 99 in Makassar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.4 mi away
favehotel Panakkukang
favehotel Panakkukang
#2 of 6 in Panakkukang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.0 mi away
LA'RIZ Wthree Hotel Lagaligo Makassar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Makassar

Property: Red Planet Makassar
Address: Jl. Dr Ratulangi 136A, Makassar 90125, Indonesia (Formerly Tune Hotel Makassar)
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 99 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Planet Makassar 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Makassar provides the city with a leading value accommodation solution featuring a refreshing sense of fun, style and professionalism. The port city is located on Sulawesi Island, with the 144-room Red Planet Makassar 1.2km from the city centre. Nearby attractions include Losari Beach, Fort Rotterdam and Kayangan Island. The facilities include a restaurant, disabled facilities and 24-hour room service. After a day sightseeing or business, its great to turn on a power shower that is as advertised. Red Planet Makassar has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi (up to three devices), soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Red Planet Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing