We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bahowo Lodge and Bahowo Village - a special place”
Review of Bahowo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahowo Lodge
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Manado
Mannheim
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bahowo Lodge and Bahowo Village – a special place”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Situated on the mainland of north Sulawesi 15 km away from the capital Manado (because of the partly narrow roads and the traffic in the city a car needs around 30-45 min. to the town center) facing the islands of the Bunaken National Park the Bahowo Lodge is located directly in the small village Bahowo. The lodge is a two storey buliding with many balconies and teracces,where you can sit and relax, a very nice garden with a swimmingpool and sunloungers. Our room was big, tastefully furnished with AC and a bathroom with a hot shower. The whole house has a little bit of a colonial style. We and another couple where the only guests at this time and we enjoyed our privacy very much (i think there are 7 guest rooms in total). On hightide the ocean reaches the walls at the front of the premises but there is no beach and because of the mangroves there is only seaview from the upper balconies.The food was very good, always served very nicely outside. One day we asked for some seafood and in the evenning the cook, Sultje, provide us a delicious dinner with many different kinds of seafood including lobster. We also loved the dabu-dabu , a very spicy chilli paste.There is a dive center 5 min away which we did´t use but we heard only good things about it from the other guests who were using it daily. Besides that you can play with the three friendly golden retriewers , walk through the village and the nearby countryside (nice views to Mandado Tua Island and Bunaken) or go on a day trip, e.g. to the Minahasa Highlands.
All in all very pleasant but, what makes it so special are the people. At first Paula and Phil, the owners who moved from britain in 2003 to built the lodge and to live with the village people. They make us feel at home from the beginning and we spend many hours with them talking about quite everything. And there are the nice, always smiling people from the village, the children you can visit in the school, meet at the streets or in the lodge, Raymond the driver and tour guide who told us many things about his life and this part of indonesia and and so many others.
For us it was a very special expierence and we are looking forward to our next stay in the near future.
Paula and Phil wrote a very entertainig book „Bahowo lodge - an Indonesian Affaire“ with many interesting and entertaining stories how they found this wonderful place, about their life in a foreign country, the annoying bureaucracy in indonesia and of course about the people in the village and their culture, all combined with a lot of general information about North Sulawesi.
So, there is only one advise: read the book and go there!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DieMannheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
17
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I stayed here on my own for good on two weeks in September of 2011. I would recommend this place to any type of traveler; be it someone traveling alone, a honeymoon couple and or anyone in-between. Paula and Phil, the proprietors, will go out of their way to make you feel at home. Words that come to mind when remembering my stay here are; genuine people, delicious home-style cooking, stimulating dinner conversation, friendly and efficient staff, and a homey, heartwarming atmosphere. Would I go back to the same place again? In a flash. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petehb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velsen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We spend more than 10 nights at the lodge and enjoyed every minute of it. Phil and Paula are perfect hosts to make you feel comfortable and so nice to chat with. Good spacious rooms and so much other places for the guests to sit or rest. Dinner at various places near the house or the garden. And the swimming pool was good to cool down if the temperature got too hot. Very good also for divers as alternate for the bigger hotels. Free ride to and from the dive base Thalassa. And not to forget the small Bahowo village with wonderful nice people and everybody always wanted to say hi. Esp. the children are a must see and visit their school. The book Phil wrote about their settlement in the village and starting up the lodge is worthwhile reading every page. When after the live aboard we stayed at a big hotel, but returned for a BBQ to the lodge and it felt a bit like “coming home”. Special thanks to the excellent cooks for cooking us such delicious meals, only eating the big crab was a challenge! Absolutely recommended for a stay near Manado or Bunaken.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cees B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My wife and I are regular visitors to Bahowo Lodge and think of it more as visiting friends rather than booking in to a hotel.
With staff who know your name and the integration you experience with the local village it really is a unique experience to stay here. Throw in the two most laid back and flexible hosts you have ever met and the promise of Bunaken Marine Park ten minutes away by boat and there is nowhere in Manado that compares
We have been visiting Bahowo on and off now for two years and expect to return many times in the future

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My friends and I stayed for 4 nights at Bahowo Lodge, Sulawesi Manado, Indonesia. It was the most memorable experienced you've ever had. The lodge owners Phil and wife Paula were the excellent hosts. You'll also feel at home when you stayed at the lodge. You always get a personal touch and attention. They prepared your breakfast and dinners. The food here is excellent with fresh catch from sea everyday. This place is fantastic if you want to enjoy diving Bunaken Marine Park. Just say no more, you must stay there to find out yourself.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed at Bahowo Lodge for three nights, and loved it! Phil and Paula are wonderful hosts (and great dinnertime conversationalists), who went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. The food was delicious, with authentic Indonesian specialities and tropical fruits expertly prepared by local cooks, and we were even treated to a Western-style breakfast of cheese omelettes, jam and toast every morning. The rooms are comfortable, and there are lots of amenities including a TV/DVD player, full movie library, and excellent collection of books which we enjoyed, as well as an outdoor swimming pool with lounge chairs. The lodge was perfect as a base for visiting Tangkoko park. If I'm ever back in Sulawesi, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AquaBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed at Bahowo Lodge for three nights and loved it! The food is delicious and plentiful, the a/c works great, and the village is just fantastic. I also really enjoyed spending time chatting with Phil and Paula (the fabulous owners). They will do ANYTHING and EVERYTHING to make your stay comfortable and fun. Nothing but great memories from this place!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilopoda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manado
0.4 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.4 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 46 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
7.6 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
4.0 mi away
Cocotinos Manado
Cocotinos Manado
#1 of 2 in Wori
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
3.9 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahowo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahowo Lodge

Property: Bahowo Lodge
Address: Bahowo Village | Bunaken Park, Manado, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahowo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bahowo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahowo Hotel Bunaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing