We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Bahowo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahowo Lodge
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Manado
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed at Bohowo as the first stop on our honeymoon. We were made to feel at home straight away by the English owners and had a comfortable room which helped with the jet-lag.

The food was excellent, their knowledge of the area and the country extensive and their stories fascinating! Pool was also great in the heat of the day.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank SPAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2010

Stayed at Bahowo for about a week in April and loved it! Phil and Paula are fantastic hosts, and ready to help you everything from picking up new toothbrushes to mailing your postcards. Always available for a chat, full of good advice on the area and places to go visit. And the food was just out of this world. Fresh baked bread every morning, fresh fish, vegetables and peanut sauce at night. A wall full of movies for rainy evenings. Immaculate rooms with a/c. Couldn't ask for more - truly hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregZeppelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

This was our second visit to Bahowo Lodge, didn't think it could get any better but it has. Phil and Paula are the best hosts ever nothing is too much trouble for them or their fantastic staff,
Can't wait to go back again!!!!!!!
Tony and jules

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TILLYCANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a wonderful week at Bahowo - not being scuba divers we were there to relax and see a few things as well as try diving out for the first time. Everything about our stay here was amazing from start to finish. I could write an entire essay about the food which was simply delicious. We had a great evening making gnocchi with some other guests much to the amusement of the cook. We loved the snorkelling, introduction to diving and the trips to the islands and the mountains with the lodge staff who were a great bunch. The fact that the owners clearly care deeply about the community and have put back a lot into the local village made the stay even better. One of my favourite parts was walking around with village with Paula and meeting all the local kids. Just something you wouldn't get to do in other places. When you go make sure to ask the owners about the local magic and all their various stories about Indonesia and setting up a business - highly entertaining. All in all a wonderful stay and we were sad to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finners86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We loved staying at the Bahowo Lodge. Phil and Paula were great hosts. The food was wonderful, especially the seafood dinners at night. Cold packed lunches could be a bit repetitive, but the barbeque lunch on the beach was amazing. The rooms were comfortable, apart from the fact that sometimes the water ran out or the power failed. However, the power didn't fail during sleeping times, so that was good. Sheets were freshly changed and the towels were plentiful and very clean. The view from the rooms and the balconies were gorgeous. The house pets are friendly and adorable. It was great meeting people from all over the world, sharing our diving and snorkeling experiences over a beer in the evening. The hosts were kind enough to run us back and forth to the dive center nearby upon request and lend us snorkeling gear. The rates charged for some of the offshore trips seemed a bit high, but perhaps that's because we're used to Indian prices. On the whole, we would definitely return to Bahowo.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

It's fairly remote but, nice to stay in a local village with lots of friendly neighbors. The owners are excellent hosts - ready to help with any request. We booked a boat for a day out to Bunaken - which was only about 20 minutes away. The food was fresh and local - enjoyed by the whole family.

Our main regret was that our visit was cut short by our delayed air flight into Manado.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Paula and Phil make you feel right at home. They bought a generator while we were there so there will be no problem with electricity from now on. The homemade bread and pancakes make breakfast memorable. A gin and tonic is always available. The family style meals featured fresh fish every night. I got the flu while there and was treated with soup and sprite in my room delivered by their staff. She even checked my temperature. I would not have felt so taken care of in the nearby big resort. Phil gets you to your dive on time. Their tours they offer of the area are superb. The work they are doing in the local village (supporting the school and having a clinic built) is admirable. This is GREAT place. Liking dogs is a must as they two that roam the property chasing off the local pigs wandering into the property.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATGMINN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manado
0.9 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
146 reviews
7.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
0.8 mi away
The 4 Fish
The 4 Fish
#4 of 8 in Bunaken Island
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cocotinos Manado
Cocotinos Manado
#1 of 2 in Wori
330 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mapia Resort
Mapia Resort
#8 of 45 in Manado
103 reviews
3.6 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahowo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahowo Lodge

Address: Bahowo Village | Bunaken Park, Manado, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Manado
Price Range: £68 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahowo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bahowo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahowo Hotel Bunaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing