We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Only Place to Stay”
Review of Bahowo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahowo Lodge
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Manado
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Only Place to Stay”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Going to Bunaken/Manado? Bahowo Lodge is the only place to stay for great company, service and the food - which is fantastic! I've stayed with Phil and Paula 3 times now and plan to get back there asap.

Rob Williams. UK

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
17
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Staying at the Bahowo Lodge doesn't feel like staying at a hotel: it feels like going away to stay with very good friends who are particularly solicitous about making sure that you are comfortable in every way. The owners simply dealt with every request instantly, and anticipated a bunch of requests before we made them.

The atmosphere was wonderfully sociable, with every evening turning into a dinner party with friends as we sat together at one table. Helped by the home-cooked food, which was excellent.

Location is in a small village, a 5-10 minute drive away from the Thalassa dive centre: Phil and Paula are firmly welded into the community. Ethically minded travellers will appreciate the story: they put a huge amount into the well-being of the village, and the way they and the locals treat each other all adds to the experience.

Rooms are lovely, particularly the suite that slept us and two teenagers which had masses of space. But this is a home rather than a five star hotel, and if that's what you're looking for, don't come here - for example, the electricity and plumbing can be a little erratic. But that's a tiny price to pay, in our view.

Oh, and you have to like golden retrievers.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xgretsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Just returned from my seventh visit to Bahowo Lodge. I feel relaxed and refreshed. My husband has enjoyed two weeks of diving and I've enjoyed the peace and quiet of the Lodge plus visits to Manado for eating out, shopping and a fish pedicure! Phil and Paula make you feel so welcome that it's like going home every time we go back. And there's always something new to do or to visit. The masssages on offer at the Lodge are fabulous and an added bonus. The food is as excellent as ever and it's great fun to get to know the people in the village - their English is better than my Indonesian! It's also good to be involved in the social projects for the village, instigated by Phil and Paula - the rebuilding of the school, the building of a clinic and a local bus service. The only way you'll really know the benefits of staying at Bahowo is to go there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanmb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed at Bohowo as the first stop on our honeymoon. We were made to feel at home straight away by the English owners and had a comfortable room which helped with the jet-lag.

The food was excellent, their knowledge of the area and the country extensive and their stories fascinating! Pool was also great in the heat of the day.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SPAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Stayed at Bahowo for about a week in April and loved it! Phil and Paula are fantastic hosts, and ready to help you everything from picking up new toothbrushes to mailing your postcards. Always available for a chat, full of good advice on the area and places to go visit. And the food was just out of this world. Fresh baked bread every morning, fresh fish, vegetables and peanut sauce at night. A wall full of movies for rainy evenings. Immaculate rooms with a/c. Couldn't ask for more - truly hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregZeppelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kESWICK CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

This was our second visit to Bahowo Lodge, didn't think it could get any better but it has. Phil and Paula are the best hosts ever nothing is too much trouble for them or their fantastic staff,
Can't wait to go back again!!!!!!!
Tony and jules

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TILLYCANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a wonderful week at Bahowo - not being scuba divers we were there to relax and see a few things as well as try diving out for the first time. Everything about our stay here was amazing from start to finish. I could write an entire essay about the food which was simply delicious. We had a great evening making gnocchi with some other guests much to the amusement of the cook. We loved the snorkelling, introduction to diving and the trips to the islands and the mountains with the lodge staff who were a great bunch. The fact that the owners clearly care deeply about the community and have put back a lot into the local village made the stay even better. One of my favourite parts was walking around with village with Paula and meeting all the local kids. Just something you wouldn't get to do in other places. When you go make sure to ask the owners about the local magic and all their various stories about Indonesia and setting up a business - highly entertaining. All in all a wonderful stay and we were sad to leave!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finners86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manado
0.4 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.4 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 46 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
7.6 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
4.0 mi away
Cocotinos Manado
Cocotinos Manado
#1 of 2 in Wori
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
3.9 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahowo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahowo Lodge

Property: Bahowo Lodge
Address: Bahowo Village | Bunaken Park, Manado, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahowo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bahowo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahowo Hotel Bunaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing