We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eight years of geat experiences, comfort and food”
Review of Lumbalumba Diving

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manado
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lumbalumba Diving
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I first stayed at Lumbalumba eight years ago. I have returned every year since. Roel and Juud and the staff at the resort and on the boat have made for a pleasent experience every year. The food is consistently great. I see constant improvements being made on the facility (Infinity pool, lounge, resturant and flowers) and i always seem to find something new and exciting in the water. The boat is roomy and easy to get on and off of (great for me). The quides are patient and experienced. They dive at your speed and experience level. You get individual attention. You are spread out on the reef so you can see, relax and enjoy the view. They respect the reef and the life that abounds there. Occasionally there are barbeques on the boat if the guests agree. (this is an extra expense, but worth it to enjoy real Indonesian flavor) These folks are definately interested in providing you with a great experience, at the resort and in the water. Give them a try.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Butch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

I spent a lot of time researching a good dive resort at Manado, we weren't disappointed.
Lumbalumba Dive is the perfect boutique dive resort. It is small and intimate, only around 10 guests. The staff are all very long term employees which reflects on the wonderful, caring atmosphere stemming from the resident owners Juud and Roel.
The resort has great rooms, pool, landscaping and dining area. As there was my wife and I and two grown children we had the family bungalow with three adjoining rooms, each with own bathroom. Great view over the sea and pool.
The diving at Bunaken and closer coast dives were brilliant- warm, clear and huge array of sea life.
We have over 1000 underwater photos from the week diving.
The dive boat is wonderful- spacious, comfortable, well appointed and a dream to enter and exit water.
The dining is also fantastic, food is mostly buffet style with excellent range and enjoyed at communal table along with other guests and Juud and Roel. I guess you could dine at private table, but why would anyone want to.
Can't speak highly enough of each and every member of staff. They treated us more as friends than hotel guests, we all enjoyed their company, on the boat, in the resort and on two land based tours.
If you like small, happy, quality resorts this is the place.
We combined this stay up with 5 days at Kungkungan Bay Resort at Lembeh to see both wall diving at Bunaken and macro dives at Lembeh which was a great combination, but we were also amazed at the macro side of Lumbalumba.

We will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nzdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

very beautiful garden with pool and view over the ocean.
awesome food and very nice, helpful staff!
individual dive trips with an own boat just next to the hotel.
very recommendable and very fair prices

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ravenheart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Dutch owner-managers Roel and Juud deserve their number 1 ranking on this site. The hotel is clean and modern while retaining an Indonesian "feel". The impressive, sloping tropical gardens are beautifully maintained with a lovely view out to the islands of Bunaken and the volcano Manado Tua. Roel and Juud have a well-trained, friendly staff who are very helpful. The diving is world-class. The only drawback (compared with staying on the island) is the 75 minutes travel time to the dive sites (each way),but that is more than compensated for on return by some of the best food we've tasted in Indonesia. And for the price...what incredible value!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rusty_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We returned to Lumba Lumba in May and had an amazing time. The beautiful gardens and lovely pool are the perfect place to relax. Roel, Juud and the rest of the team are extremely friendly and attentive hosts. The food remains delicious with a great selection of fresh ingredients prepared with care. The diving was fantastic with a welcoming crew who work really well together and so much to see from nudibranch to enormous turtles, sharks, eagle rays and dolphins. Unfortunately we missed the dugong but there is always next time. Many thanks

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We were at Lumbalumba not so much for diving but as a basis to explore the culture of North Sulawesi. It is a great place to relax, to start your tours and also for snorkelling. The cottages are super as is the pool and the food.
Prices are very fair.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank traveljoe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We are going back this year, and that is saying something for us, as it is a rare thing. A beautiful setting, nice accommodations, well organised diving, interesting and plentiful food, personal service all true; but the essence of this place are the staff and owners who consistently hit the right notes in their care of the guests and each other. We particularly enjoyed a dip in the infinity pool accompanied by freshly blended margaritas and hot chips after the days dive trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaLaTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manado hotels
12.2 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
146 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
9.3 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
#10 of 45 in Manado
358 reviews
15.3 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
181 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mapia Resort
Mapia Resort
#8 of 45 in Manado
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumbalumba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbalumba Diving

Address: PO Box 1721 | Sulawesi, Manado 95017, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Manado
Price Range: £85 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lumbalumba Diving" is an informal, small and comfortable dive resort in Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia. With no more than 6 luxurious chalets, (9 rooms), we offer a familiar and flexible atmosphere with the personalized attention you are looking for. "Lumbalumba Diving" is a complete dive resort with own accommodation, excellent cuisine, bar, tropical pool, limited spa facilities, dive center, Private jetty and spacious dive catamaran. Located on a 3.5 hectare, mountain slope, in a lush botanical garden and overlooking the famous Bunaken Marine Park, we also have one of the most spectacular views you can find in Manado. "For us, you are not just another tourist. For you we are not just another dive resort" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing